We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overview of the history of Phuket's Chinese community...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Thaihua Museum

Phuket Thaihua Museum
28 Krabi Road | Talad Nuea, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
+66(0)76 - 211 224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 39 attractions in Phuket Town
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good overview of the history of Phuket's Chinese community...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I remember thinking the entrance fee was a little overpriced but I can't actually remember what I paid. That aside, the museum is a good place for anyone interested in learning about the local Chinese diaspora and it won't take long to see all of the exhibits - maybe an hour at the most. Combine a visit with a visit to Old Town in general, lunch at the Kopitiam by Wilai down the street (some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten), a visit to Chinpracha House plus the old Governor's Mansion that's now the Blue Elephant (down the street) and a trek to the top of nearby Rang Hill for a view of the city. After that, you have pretty much seen Phuket Town...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Museum gives insight into early Chinese immigration to Phuket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a modern, wonderfully set up and maintained museum with interesting facts about the early Chinese migration to Phuket starting on a large scale with tin miners in the 1800's. These were followed by traders, bankers and families. Intermarriage with the local native population has produced a group of people that mostly have some Chinese ancestry. It outlines the families and their development into mine owners and wealthy businessmen within a few short years and their philanthropic contributions to Phuket's development over the years. It is set in an attractive old school building. History buffs would find it a worthwhile visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Go if raining or otherwise stuck in Phuket Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Telling the story of the Chinese contribution to Phuket, with English translations for most exhibits, the museum is well-presented, but suffers from the fact that the Chinese story isn't intrinsically very exciting. They came, they traded, they tin mined, they set up shops etc - the same as the Chinese story in a lot of other places. The staff take great pride in the museum and will be gald to see you. The museum has a free car park in front of its building. Toilets exist.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Offers an excellent crash course on the history of Phuket old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It would be a great idea to start off your little tour of Phuket town with this musuem set in an old chinese school building for a crash course on the history of Phuket town.

Learnt some really surprising facts about the history of Phuket of which I shall deign to reveal so I don't spoil the surprise for those who have yet to visit this museum.

Grab a drink or snack at the little cafe next to the museum. It's really pretty, especially the little courtyard at the back of the cafe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I had no idea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

While wandering around Phuket Town, we stumbled upon this remarkable little museum. There's a small entry fee to get into this well maintained former schoolhouse. One of the exhibit rooms was also well air-conditioned, so we may have lingered in that one a little longer. I may be giving myself away here, but aside from the movie Big Boss with Bruce Lee, I had not given much thought to the history of Chinese immigrants in Thailand. We learned about influential Chinese men and their families who helped shape Phuket as well as the lifestyle, culture, and education of local Chinese immigrants over time. It is extremely thorough in its story-telling - a beautiful place capturing thousands of beautiful memories.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Thaihua Museum also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Phuket Thaihua Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Thaihua Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phuket Thaihua Museum to your Saves list