We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Shooting Range

Phuket Shooting Range
82/2 Patak Road, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 195 activities in Phuket Town
Type: Sports Complexes
Attraction Details
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We passed the shooting range and I wanted to give my wife the experience of shooting a fire arm, what a disappointment
The manager/ instructor could not speak English, when I told him what we want he pushed a paintball gun across the counter, after some more sign language he just took a revolver out from under the counter and pushed it over to us, it was clear to me that safety is not to high on their priority list and we decided to rather leave
The price list is quite expensive, 1800B for 10 shots

I did not feel comfortable there

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expensive but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

For those who have never handled or shot a firearm this place can be fun. Having come from a law enforcement background it holds no fascination for me but the others in the group had fun. Very expensive as 10 rounds will cost you around 1000 Baht and the rounds are reloads so you don't get the "real" experience a factory load fired off gives you. Nevertheless, everyone that had never fired a semi-auto handgun before had fun in a safe and well run range. Recommended for the experience if you have never done it before, if you have you may come away a little disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ditto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As has all the other reviews say.
Pricey per bullet Yes.
Well run and professional yes. Actually I felt like we were processed they are so slick.
If your not watching your pennies too much, I would recommend it.

The price is only a shock as it costs more to shoot 10 rounds, than have a taxi driver drive you 30 minutes and the wait 2 hrs and drive you back from an activity in Phuket.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We decided to have a look at the Phuket shooting range as we'd heard different stories so we decided to check it out for ourselves.

Firstly, It would be considered as somewhat expensive all bar one weapon is 990 baht for 10 rounds. At the current exchange rate this works out to be about $34.00 AUD. So yeah it is expensive but you get to shoot an variety of weapons which gives the experience a bit of a thrill and almost makes it worth it.

Our whole family (2 adults & 2 kids) had a go at it and to be honest we had a great time. You get to get a photo of you with your weapon and target sheet. You get to keep the target which has your percentage of accuracy which is not a bad souvenir to take back with you if you just look at it as a different type of experience especially if like us your not usually around or involved with weapons.

The range is very professionally run and you have an instructor with you the entire time you are using the weapon, this will make any person with any sort of apprehension feel at ease.

If you treat it as a different experience to have that you wouldn't be able to have back here in Australia then most should enjoy the time at the range. Even my 8 yr old daughter got to shoot a magazine full of BB pellets, she had an absolute ball and even asked if we had time could we go back so she could have another go.

It may not be for anyone but it is an attraction available to people that isn't available to us here.

Just keep an open mind!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

5 of our group spent the day here, and we did the go karts, shooting range and snake show. All very exciting, and we are bringing the rest of our group back another day

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Shooting Range also viewed

 

Been to Phuket Shooting Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Shooting Range, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phuket Shooting Range to your Saves list