We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day well spent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Adventures - Private Tours

Phuket Adventures - Private Tours
100/24 Moo 5, Chalaemprakiat Rama 9 Rd | Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 236 Activities in Phuket Town
3.5 of 5 stars 60 Reviews
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Phuket Adventures Co., Ltd. organizes high quality speed boat excursions to the Phi Phi Islands, Phang Nga Bay (incl. James Bond Island), the Similan Islands, Krabi, Tachai Island and many more destinations in the Andaman Sea. We own a fleet of 12 boats, ranging from 2-engine 15 seats to 3-engine 35 seat capacity. All our boats are equipped with ultra-modern 4-stroke engines because we believe that protecting and safeguarding the environment is the only way to survive.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A day well spent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were picked up from our hotel in a mini bus and left in time. We went to the Marina from where our group took a speed boat to Phang nga bay. My first time experience in a speed boat was amazing. Our day was packed with a whole lot of things which included canoing and that too in the rains. The most wonderful experience. There were lot of photo sessions in the James Bond Island. We went thru mangroves and also a Muslim village, also known as the floating village, which had its own mosque and school and also a bazaar. The entire tour was a treat to our eyes. Our tour guide, John, kept us in good spirit throughout the tour. A day well spent and went to bed thinking about the entire day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a great day with this group. This trip is a great way to do many things in one day, and see a large number of locations in tye Andaman Sea, just east of Phuket.
We left on time, motored out to James Bond island ( geologically beautiful, aside from the unfortunate marketplace on the back side of the island, but where there is demand for cheap tourist trinkets, someone will supply them ), then to the canoeing adventure (amazing to have someone canoe my wife and it along and through the cliffs rising out of the water, into secret and quiet light shafts which open up to the sky).
After that we stopped for lunch at a floating market/village ( tasty food, ceiling fans, shade, and a nice breeze... Here again, we were encouraged to spend a little cash on the tiny little shops, all selling some kind of pearl jewelry, sarongs, or other light clothing. But the merchants were not pushy/aggressive.)
The next two stops were a cave walk on an island (where we got to feed some local monkeys. The cave had a few nice stalagtites, and the monkeys were a nice plus.), and finally our boat pulled up to a beach on the east side of Naka island, where there is a thatched roof bar with some techno music. It did start to rain a bit, so the bar was a nice place to get out of the rain. After the short rain shower, we wandered into the bath-like water, and enjoyed nature's version of hydrotherapy, floating on our backs, or bobbing up and down in the shallow water.
On the beach, tourists from a couple different boats, along with some of the guides, started a game of pickup soccer. There were Russians, Brits, Indians, Thais, and middle easterners all coming together to have a little fun and excise before we had to get back on the boat to get home.

The boats and engines ran well, the staff was attentive, no issues at all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Tours are always really well organised and good value for money. We went for our honeymoon and doing tours totally made it the most amazing time we could have possibly had. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Phi Phi tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

On Sunday 10th of Feb we did a Phi Phi Island tour with this company. We had an included tour with our room price through our hotel.

We were picked up via mini bus and taken to the Marina where we waited for probably an hour and a half before anyone started trying to locate guests going on different boats to different islands it was very disorganised.

Once we were on the boat it was a VERY bumpy ride out, so bumpy that I was worried for our safety. I know other companies cancelled their tours on this day due to the seas being too rough. Not once did anyone warn us the waters were going to be rough so it was a complete surprise to us. I suspect it was probably a 2metre swell on the day we went out.

When we arrived at Phi Phi it was already very busy but we stayed for a while and had a swim, then boarded the boat and snorkelled off to the side of the Island for a while. The snorkelling was quite good. We then moved on and stopped at the bay where Jurassic Park 2 was filmed, saw the Swallow's nests, and Monkey Island. After Monkey Island we stopped for lunch on an island which was ok but i felt too off to eat (i had taken sea sickness tabkAfter lunch we stopped to see the other side of Phi Phi and then travelled home.

On the way home we said we wanted a copy of the DVD from the day which had been filmed, filled in all the appropriate forms and then docked for the day. Got our minibus back to the Hotel.
We never received our DVD after about 6 emails to the company. The last email from them said they never filmed on the day which was a load of junk as the guy had the camera out all day long, and we know someone else from our tour in a different room got a copy of the DVD on the same day and same boat.

After sailing with a different company to other islands I wouldn't by choice use Phuket Adventure again, I had no idea if sufficient life jackets were provided for all on board and the disorganisation of sorting people in the morning was also a downfall. The icing on the cake was the failure to provide the DVD.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wasted day, wasted money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My partner and I took the speed boat phang nga snorkel tour today. Being Boxing Day, the place was packed with a great number of tours. We and about 30 other were the unlucky ones.

Our guide decided to try to avoid the crowds by planning all the best stops after lunch. We had a few lame stops before lunch promptly at noon, when the boat broke down. We were stranded at the lunch stop (with nothing but lunch to recommend it) for three hours, and then were divided into smaller groups because they could not find big enough boats to recover us.

No one offered us drinks or any other amenity while we sat on the beach waiting rescue. Once the smaller boats arrived, several people were mildly injured (mostly cut feet) trying to board. My partner and I went into our own first aid kit to help our fellow passengers, the boat crew did nothing.

Once aboard these smaller ( and much slower) boats we barely stopped ( due to the late our and he now slow boats) at any other destination and made our way slowly back to a late return. No one at the pier met us to apologize or to offer any sort of compensation for our failed tour.

We have been to Phuket about a dozen times, and come regularly. There are a lot of great operators here, but this is not one, in our opinion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Adventures - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Phuket Adventures - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Adventures - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.