We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raya Thai Cuisine

Raya Thai Cuisine
48 Dibuk Rd, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
+66 76 21 8155
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 912 Restaurants in Phuket Town
4.0 of 5 stars 181 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great value for money!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

MUST TRY the curry crab with rice noodle and the fish cake!! If you are SEA Chinese, the place and the flavor won't let you down. Very colonial old house but spacious that you could enjoy your corner. 6 of us had lunch there, very friendly staff and good service at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    61
    12
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Same food, 3x the price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Come on, it's a run-down smelly place asking for repair serving usual Thai dishes three times the price you would get in any restaurant around.

People leaving glowing comments are probably comparing it with breakfast in hotel. I seriously unable to see how anybody would rate it 5 stars. Want atmosphere - go to Natural restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omer israel
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

we found the restaurant in TA. It is worthwhile to eat there. The food is good and the prices are fair, much cheaper than the restaurants in the Hotels. The restaurant is located in old building that gives authentic feeling. The menue is typical Thai, and the food is prepared well.If you can give up the modern look and you like local food you'll enjoy the visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were planning to eat at the Blue Elephant but they were closed for lunch. We arrived at Raya to find the place packed with locals and only one European face in 2 floors of diners! We were sure that we would be in in for the definitive Thai culinary experience - WRONG!

The dishes were just average and uninspired, the meals at the restaurants in Mai Khao were all superior. Service was poor and inattentive. The location was in an old house that was in disrepair and in need of a coat of paint.

I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Barthelemy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very local and very spicy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The setting is very basic but clean. The food is very tasty and very good...the only draw back is the amount of spices used for us European :) tough we did asked for less spice...shame because we simply could not eat it. Having said that their signature dish -crab meat curry- was just delicious! Worth a visit just for that...and more i am sure if you can handle the heat!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raya Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
 

Been to Raya Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raya Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.