We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not a bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raya Thai Cuisine

Raya Thai Cuisine
48 Dibuk Rd, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
+66 76 21 8155
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 888 Restaurants in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good but not a bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very good sampling of authentic Thai food. Crab curry a must, as is the fried fish and pork. If you have some doubt about what to order, the staff very helpful in suggesting items.

Not over the top expensive but not a bargain by any means. Very limited wine selection and no great values on the wine list.

We picked this restaurant after reading it was in a colonial style house which sounded charming. However, the restaurant is very plain and the missing decent lighting fixtures (too bright). In other words zero ambiance in my opinion - which may be why I thought the prices were no bargain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    71
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a Colonial style house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Raya is a huge old Colonial house used as a Thai Restaurant. The food is excellent and the menu has a good selection.9 of us went for a meal and the service is very fast,you do not have to wait.We had crab curry, prawn tempura, slow cooked pork, crispy shrimps and lots more.It was all delicious.Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Thai food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were brought there by a friend who lives in Phuket. Difficult to find but worth the effort. Run by an old lady from Phuket who cooks Thai food like we never experienced before. Yellow crab curry, pork in dark sauce, several vegetables we never saw before tasting great and all the rest. Prices are a bit steep, but servicer is good and the location in an old shophouse in Phuket town is worth a trip in itself.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant a few times now and love it. The food is always consistent and served fast and fresh. The crab curry is to die for as is the fried fish with lemon and tamarind sauce- our staples. The service is attentive and casual. The restaurant is located in an old sino-Portuguese house which adds to its authenticity. One of th best Thai restaurants we have been to and we'll keep coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very authentic Thai restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very good Thai food in an old Sino Portuguese building in Phuket old town. Great food, great quality. You should try Crab with Coconut milk or with Curry ...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raya Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Raya Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raya Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.