We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Phuket.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananas Phuket Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ananas Phuket Hostel to your Saves list
Ananas Phuket Hostel
98 / 48, Phuket at Town Village, Surin Rd, | Talat Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Phuket.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Run by the most helpful and sweet couple, this was the first place we stayed on arrival in Thailand. They were so helpful and even spoke to our bus driver when we got lost and didn't know where to go. They arranged for him to drop us right to the door when we had no Thai and he had no English! They helped us carry all our bags up the stairs. The room was lovely and spacious, with clean and attractive bedding and plenty of plugs. Beds were comfortable and a large locker to keep valuables in. The hosts were so helpful in recommending good places to eat and markets to visit, honestly they could not have been more welcoming. Lovely communal area with books, computers and a clean kitchen area to make noodles or toast. I cannot recommend this place enough, it truly is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Location very near the centre of Phuket town and in a safe area within a gated enclosure so security around. As a group of girls travelling we felt safe and had a wonderful time with PiTi. If i ever go back i will definitely stay here again. also excellent value. I just can't fault it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliment review about our hostel and it is our duty to serving all of our valued guests who are staying with us and treat them like they are in their own home!

We are really appreciated that you are happy and enjoy your stay with us, feeling safe with our 24 hours security system & guards, enjoy the walking distant to the centre of Phuket town which is very near (10-15 mins walk) and enjoy all of our in-house facilities.

We are looking forward to welcome you to our hostel if you are visiting Phuket again in the future with our great pleasure and honor! Thank you.

PiTi, Meo & Peera
The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
34
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staffs. Room, bathroom, living room very clean, even as clean as your own house.

Dorm bed is very comfortable, each bed had very nice n good locker. Location is great. Just 10 minutes walking distance to bus station and town centre.

Definitely will stayed Ananas again if I revisit Phuket town

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliment review for our hostel and we are really appreciated that you are happy and enjoyed your stay with us.

We are even more appreciate if you are coming back to stay with us again when you are visiting Phuket in the future as you mentioned.

Once again, please kindly accept our sincere thanks.

Sincerely yours,

Peera Tankasem
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Before i describe the hostel I need tell you what happened my last day! I had checked out of my room and returned the key, we got the mini bus to phuket ferry port to catch boat to koh phi phi, as I was sat on the boat with only 10 mins till we set off when who is stood next to me but the owner of the hostel! I had left my sunglases and he had driven all way down just to give them to me! Soo amazin I can't stress what good service that is, any other place would have not bothered!

Anyways the hostel is spotless and the owners are so nice and welcoming! The town is very quiet so didn't meet any other travelers, the hostel is a super modern house in a "private gated community" which means you need go through security just to get into the street but it was ok, never any trouble!

Defo not a party pad but so nice, I can't complain about this place except say kitchen only had microwave, toaster & kettle but it didn't matter cus local food was soo cheap we ate out every night!

All I'll say is this place is amazing and the owners are legends!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Matthew,

Thank you for your compliment review of our Ananas Hostel and it is our pleasure to return our guest's belonging which left over (forgot) by our guests back to them as soon as possible (if we found it and it is left over at our place). Especially, in you case, we know that your ferry did not left the pier yet. So, we immediately drove to pier and hand your sun glass back to you. Because, we know you need it under the strong sun light at Phi Phi Island and no reason to buy the new one!!!

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hostel again some times in the future. Please enjoy your trip on Phi Phi Island.

Best regards,

PiTi & Peera
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This lovely backpacker hostel is run by Peera and PiTi Who are very friendly and have set this hostel up with very close attention to details the packpacker needs, such as Airport pickup, lockers,aircon, power points to charge phones, very clean rooms,WIFI, Breakfast and the list goes on. All I can say is that Ive been around and you dont find Hostels like this very often! This is the place to be If your ever in Phuket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review which written out from your experienced of your stay with us. We will keep the way of our high standard and will make it higher and higher, this is our aim and target!!!

Hope we may have a chance to welcome you back again some times.

With our best regards,

Peera & PiTi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you have to spend an overnight in Phuket don't go anywhere else.
Had a great stay in Ananas, the place is really clean and pleasant and the team was helpful.
The dorm room is set up very comfortable for dorm life with personal lights and power outlets for each bunk.

The place also has free internet and WiFi and also a theater room!

When looking for the place look for village@town inside the street. Its a bit challenging to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your TRUE, FAIR & VALUED COMMENTS for all travelers who need the place like us to stay while they spending their holidays in Phuket town or would like to over night before going to Phi Phi Island, Lanta Island, Ao Nang or Railay, even waiting to catch their flight for the next day etc.

We will always keep our place in this high standard setting or even better and betters in the future to keep your TRUE VALUED COMMENTS to stand us the TRUTH which you ever experienced the place by yourself.

Sincerely yours,

Peera T.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff at this hostel are so lovely. They're warm and friendly, extremely helpful and made my stay a pleasure.
The hostel is in a little complex with a guard at the gate, so it's super safe and clean.
The rooms are spacious, with huge, comfortable duvets, reading lights and personal power sockets next to each bed. The wifi is reliable and they have 2 free computers for customer use.
The whole place is spotlessly clean. In the shower they provide shower gel, shampoo and conditioner and the power was lovely and hot.
Toast, tea and coffee are provided.
The staff are able to get great deals on day trips and will personally drop you to the ferry terminal if you book an onward ticket with them.
The only slight downside is that it's a 20 minute walk from the main part of Phuket town. Phuket town is lovely and well worth a look around, with very cute art galleries and cafes. I didn't mind the walk too much, and how amazing the hostel was definitely made up for the not quite perfect location!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hostel which is on the way you like it. Actually our hostel is located on the New town side and close to the Ferry pier and Government offices, Bank, Robinson Shopping centre and Ocean Shopping mall and Theatre. Of-course, we are away from Phuket Old town but it is a walking distance and less then 2 K.M.

We try our best to make and keep our valued guests happy and enjoy their stay with us like you have already experienced it.

Hope we may have a chance to welcome you back again to our hostel in the future like some other guests have done.

Once again, please kindly accept our sincere thanks for your fair justice and great review for our hostel.

Peera T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have been to quite a many hostels in the past 1,5 months and ok: this provides a clean room (so does many other), a very cool bathroom (not so many other), service is good (whereas in many others) but the location is absolutely horrible! It is so far away from the city center that it takes you ages to walk there, I would say at least 20min. There are just so many other hostels with the same price right in the city center. Stayed here for 1 night and then moved. Sure, if you are only staying a short night and then heading to the busterminal this would do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your review and comment that our hostel is located in the Bad location if doing sightseeing. However, thank you again for giving us the opportunity to explain of our hostel location. We did mentioned in our website that we are the hostel in Phuket town area and we never show off or inform to the public that we are located in the prime location area. I believe that you have seen the surrounding area and type of business around our hostel when you walk passed it. They are 3 Brand of Cars showroom, HONDA, MAZDA and SUZUKI plus one Shell Gas Station located next or nearby to each other surrounding our hostel, which of-course if this area is BAD LOCATION as you said, this mean the owners of these 3 famous Brand cars have made a big mistake to open up their showroom here.

Walking up North of the hostel location they are the Municipal office (Office of Lord Mayor of Phuket town) few meters further up on the opposite side of the street it is a TOWN HALL (The Phuket Governor's office) Provincial Court, Land office and etc (Government offices). Going west side of the hostel is the way to Bus terminal 1 (Old bus terminal) 7 Eleven, Fruit market, Robinson and Ocean Shopping Mall which located at the walking distance.

Beside that we very close to the Rasda Pier (just only 3 K.M. away from our hostel) where people going to take the ferry to Phi Phi Island, Lanta Island, ,Ao Nang, Rai Lay and etc. for sightseeing which you did mentioned that our hostel is BAD LOCATION FOR SIGHT SEEING!!!
You also be able to catch the blue bus to Patong beach or even Kata beach at the Bus terminal 1 (Old terminal serving to the local destination in Phuket only) which just only 500 meters away from our hostel and it served no more for the destination outside Phuket. If you want to catch the bus to other places such as Bangkok or going out station from Phuket, you have to go to the New Bus Terminal (2) which located outside the town approximate 5-6 K.M.

However, if you buy any sightseeing tours the tour companies will sending the bus to pick you up directly in-front of our hostel front door. Suppose we are located very far away and have to do the aged of walking like you said, it is also does not matter, because the sightseeing tour bus will come to front door to pick up the guests.

Our bath room are fully equipped with toilet and bath room amenities such as Sunsilk brand Shampoo and Sunsilk Hair conditioner for after Shampooing and Lux brand liquid soap with hot and cool shower. You did mentioned our bath room is cool (which other place are not) We are really wondered how you turn on and operated our German made Brand CARTE' boiler which we already set up in the Auto mode, just turn on the water valve and you will get the hot shower instantly.

We are not arguing with you, but, just would like to tell to the public that some time writing something or saying something out without study the fact, it could be right or it could be wrong.

Once again many thanks for giving us the opportunity to inform to the public about our real location which we never published anywhere else before and the public can justified us from our reality or what we are.

Sincerely yours,

PiTi T.
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ananas Phuket Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananas Phuket Hostel

Address: 98 / 48, Phuket at Town Village, Surin Rd, | Talat Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Ananas Phuket Hostel to Rasada Pier (Ferry to Phi Phi Island and Lanta Island) only 3 K.M. and Less than 800 meters to the Expo shopping market, fruit market, theatre, and etc. There are many restaurants, bars, pups and entertainment area near-by, but we are tranquility hostel and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Ananas Phuket Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananas Phuket Hostel Phuket Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananas Phuket Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.