We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location if doing sightseeing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ananas Phuket Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ananas Phuket Hostel to your Saves list
Ananas Phuket Hostel
98 / 48, Phuket at Town Village, Surin Rd, | Talat Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad location if doing sightseeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have been to quite a many hostels in the past 1,5 months and ok: this provides a clean room (so does many other), a very cool bathroom (not so many other), service is good (whereas in many others) but the location is absolutely horrible! It is so far away from the city center that it takes you ages to walk there, I would say at least 20min. There are just so many other hostels with the same price right in the city center. Stayed here for 1 night and then moved. Sure, if you are only staying a short night and then heading to the busterminal this would do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your review and comment that our hostel is located in the Bad location if doing sightseeing. However, thank you again for giving us the opportunity to explain of our hostel location. We did mentioned in our website that we are the hostel in Phuket town area and we never show off or inform to the public that we are located in the prime location area. I believe that you have seen the surrounding area and type of business around our hostel when you walk passed it. They are 3 Brand of Cars showroom, HONDA, MAZDA and SUZUKI plus one Shell Gas Station located next or nearby to each other surrounding our hostel, which of-course if this area is BAD LOCATION as you said, this mean the owners of these 3 famous Brand cars have made a big mistake to open up their showroom here.

Walking up North of the hostel location they are the Municipal office (Office of Lord Mayor of Phuket town) few meters further up on the opposite side of the street it is a TOWN HALL (The Phuket Governor's office) Provincial Court, Land office and etc (Government offices). Going west side of the hostel is the way to Bus terminal 1 (Old bus terminal) 7 Eleven, Fruit market, Robinson and Ocean Shopping Mall which located at the walking distance.

Beside that we very close to the Rasda Pier (just only 3 K.M. away from our hostel) where people going to take the ferry to Phi Phi Island, Lanta Island, ,Ao Nang, Rai Lay and etc. for sightseeing which you did mentioned that our hostel is BAD LOCATION FOR SIGHT SEEING!!!
You also be able to catch the blue bus to Patong beach or even Kata beach at the Bus terminal 1 (Old terminal serving to the local destination in Phuket only) which just only 500 meters away from our hostel and it served no more for the destination outside Phuket. If you want to catch the bus to other places such as Bangkok or going out station from Phuket, you have to go to the New Bus Terminal (2) which located outside the town approximate 5-6 K.M.

However, if you buy any sightseeing tours the tour companies will sending the bus to pick you up directly in-front of our hostel front door. Suppose we are located very far away and have to do the aged of walking like you said, it is also does not matter, because the sightseeing tour bus will come to front door to pick up the guests.

Our bath room are fully equipped with toilet and bath room amenities such as Sunsilk brand Shampoo and Sunsilk Hair conditioner for after Shampooing and Lux brand liquid soap with hot and cool shower. You did mentioned our bath room is cool (which other place are not) We are really wondered how you turn on and operated our German made Brand CARTE' boiler which we already set up in the Auto mode, just turn on the water valve and you will get the hot shower instantly.

We are not arguing with you, but, just would like to tell to the public that some time writing something or saying something out without study the fact, it could be right or it could be wrong.

Once again many thanks for giving us the opportunity to inform to the public about our real location which we never published anywhere else before and the public can justified us from our reality or what we are.

Sincerely yours,

PiTi T.
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
34
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Extremely new and clean. Has air condition and a movie theater. They sell tours at the best prices, especially recommendable the ticket to Phi Phi. It's a bit farther from the old town than other hostels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Gerhard,

Thank you very much for your review about our hostel and you are appreciated of your stayed with us. We do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome and serving you and your companion again some time in the near future when you and your companion coming or passing Phuket again.

With our warm and best regards,

Peera T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed just the one night on my way to Phi Phi and I can honestly say that this is by far the cleanest, nicest and by far the most superb place I have stayed in. Not even some of the more expensive hotels I have stayed in even compare with this place.

Must warn you though, this place is not easy to find. It is located on Surin road inside an apartment type complex which is called @Phuket Village. You will not see it from the street (at least I didn't). It is directly opposite the large suzuki shop and sign. You need to enter through the boom gates, flow the path and you will see it. I was so lost about to give up and some beautiful, friendly local person helped me to find it on his bike.

The staff at Ananas were so friendly and really helpful in giving me advice on how to get to the various islands and good places to eat. There a a few good street vendors located in the area, one in particular does a great beef noodle soup. I actually liked the location of this place as it is located off the 'farang' strip but you can still walk into the town very easily and quickly. The local Thai people in this area were so friendly.

The dorms have 4 beds, very large and comfortable and ultramodern. Complete with lockers to store your belongings and an ultra modern clean, hot shower and bathroom including fluffy towels, shampoo and shower gel. There is a big cinema room that will make you not want to leave the place and also breakfast is included. I loved the toaster, my bread came out with patterns of smiling suns on it. Also wifi is perfect and they even have computers to use if you don't have a laptop. I give this place 11 out of 10!

Room Tip: Don't waste your time looking for anywhere else. Just make sure you have a good understanding on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your review about our hostel which you wrote it our from you experience of your stay with us even just only one night but you see it all and we could not hide any things from your eye sight !

We prepared every things for our guests the same as we prepare for our own use, and we care about our guests feeling and convenience. And these are what you have an experienced with us.

We will keep it in this way or more higher standard to satisfy all guests who are coming or repeating their stay with us again in the future. Once again, many thanks and best regards.

Peera T.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If your traveling on a budget this is simply the best place to stay. I stayed at the Ananas several months ago and plan to stay again. Super clean, Super Friendly, Super Staff. More like a mix of Hostel & Boutique Guest House. Free Internet, Continental Breakfast, Big Screen TV room, DVD movies, cable, Tour information, In-house Laundry Service, Convenient location/Phuket Town, Very Good English. Impressive! You just have to see for yourself. Highly recommend. Thanks Again Mr. Piti for making my stay most enjoyable. Happy New Year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review and the excellent credit to our hostel which we are really proud of it. We will keep our hostel in the way of high standard like this forever.

You did mentioned you may come back to visiting us again some time. Please, you are welcome at any time and please feel free like coming back to your own home.

PiTi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Really really nice place to stay. Ok is not on the centre, but it's 10 min walking from it. The staff is marvelous, the rooms and bathroom are suuuper clean, and of course the tv/cinema room is awesome. Really nice place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

With warm regards from the team,

Cheers!
Peera
ananashostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I planned two nights here, it turned into four. It's such a comfortable place to be. It's super clean, has breakfast included, nice rooms and a great movie room! The owners are very helpful. This hostel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hi Dear,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to Ananas Phuket Hostel and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services and the team.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon, it will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Cheers!
Peera
Ananas Phuket Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We left Koh Phangan to head to Phuket for two nights and found this place on HostelWorld. After a long journey, we got a taxi to the hostel from the Phuket bus station although there was a small bit confusion between the taxi drivers as to where exactly the hostel was but this was fixed shortly after. We didnt have a booking here as we lost both our laser cards the week before but there was space for us two in a 6 bed dorm. The owners were very friendly upon arrival, they have a no shoe policy inside the hostel which we found very nice and the whole place was kept very well. The location of the hostel is hard to descirbe as there didnt appear to a city centre (we walked around for two days) but it seemed to be located in a central enough position. The hostel is situated in what appears to be a complex full of house/apartments with security at the gate outside. The rooms are equipped with a/c which turns off for a few hours during the day and a fan which compensates during this time. Overall i would definately recommend this place, dont know if i could say the same for Phuket. Theres a variety of landmarks/activities near this city but we found it be quite plain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeratitle, Owner at Ananas Phuket Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi, thank you for your comment of our hostel and yes! it is our policy for no shoes in-side the hostel to keep it clean for all area as you have seen and touch it by yourself. It clean from the entrance, common area, home theatre, pantry, bath room, public toilet, bed room and of-course your bed which you and all guests will sleeping on it.
We are newly open hostel since March 2011, we might not well known to some taxi drivers, but some of them know where we are because they ever bring the guests to our hostel before. When you are already with us, you find out by yourself that we are not difficulty to find and located in the prime location surrounding with the many brand CARS SHOW ROOM (Honda, Mazda, Suzuki) and nearby Shell gas station as the land mark. Beside that we are not far away from PHUKET TOWN HALL (The Phuket's Governor office) and PHUKET MUNICIPAL OFFICE (Phuket Lord Mayor's office) just only 500 meters at the North direction from our hostel.
Once again, thanks for your comment and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome back you to our hostel again in the future when ever you are visiting Phuket town again.
Peera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ananas Phuket Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananas Phuket Hostel

Address: 98 / 48, Phuket at Town Village, Surin Rd, | Talat Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Ananas Phuket Hostel to Rasada Pier (Ferry to Phi Phi Island and Lanta Island) only 3 K.M. and Less than 800 meters to the Expo shopping market, fruit market, theatre, and etc. There are many restaurants, bars, pups and entertainment area near-by, but we are tranquility hostel and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Ananas Phuket Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananas Phuket Hostel Phuket Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananas Phuket Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.