We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort & nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket to your Saves list
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21/4 Moo 1,Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good resort & nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a one of good resort in Phuket.
Nice swimming pool with good seaview.
Don’t miss kayaking next to the beach.
My children are beach lover and had a lot of fun there.
Our room was superior type with pool access.
It’s spacious enough for us (family of 4) and fun enough for small kids, swimming all the time.

I didn’t have chance going to town for other worthwhile spa centres coz one of my kid was sick. The tissue massage, one of promotional offer on that night, in the Heavenly Spa was only my choice. Talking about the massage, it’s quite OK, but the price was too expensive.
We also went to the Italian restaurant and food was quite good.

Breakfast may be regarded as standard quality which this hotel should provide.
Efficient service with cheerful and helpful staff is the trademark of this hotel afterall.
When we talked to the staff that my kid was too sick to eat anything during breakfast time, they immediately crossed out the bill of her charge. As a guest, we felt warm that they showed understanding and concern about her.

We would like to come back this hotel next time.

Room Tip: Rent a car and enjoy your stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Ontingma,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear you and your family had such a relaxing holiday at The Westin Siray Bay and enjoyed the room, beach activities, Prego restaurant, and our fabulous buffet breakfast.

I am sorry to learn that your child was ill during your time with us and I hope she has now fully recovered.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Phuket.

Warm regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    417
    173
    63
    35
See reviews for
289
538
57
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ok, the ad's make it look great. But what they don't tell you is that when you go to this hotel the world and all Phuket's action in 45 min away clear on the other side of this secluded lonely hotel. You are literally in the midst of a poor rural.. dogs and chickens walking around the street, no reatuaunts etc place. So..if you want to go to a hotel that is quiet.. On a brown water bay ( not for swimming ) Maybe just to stay at the property, pay high prices (US retail) and read for your entire stay.. It will work. If you want to explore at all outside hotel.. DON'T GO. On a service level..it's poor as well. Pull up to check in at motor court lobby and 4 guys stand there and don't even approach. Watch me take out my luggage from trunk! Just no warmth or helpfulness at all. May be a Thai cultural thing..not sure.. But not 4-5 star hotel behavior.

Room Tip: Top floor walking to lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear pgblack,

Thank you for your review. I am naturally disappointed to hear your comments, in particular, with regard to the service levels you received.

Our resort is located on the East coast of Phuket where you are able to experience a side of Phuket many people do not get the opportunity to visit. Koh Siray, the Island on which the Westin Siray Bay is located, has a rich heritage and cultural diversity as it was one of the first areas of Phuket to be inhabitated more than 100 years ago by the Sea Gypsies. Koh Siray at the beginning of the century was known for its vast rubber plantations and ocean tin mining. Nowadays you can see the fishing boats leave Koh Siray port and return in the evening with their catch, it is the largest fishing port in this part of the country.

I am sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations and you left with an unfavorable impression of Koh Siray and the Westin Siray Bay.

Kind regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very typical Westin standard & style of Westin Resort at Siray Bay Phuket. Except one thing, FOOD. I have to rate it to poor because of the limited food choices and quality. Not meeting general perception of Westin standard but at Westin price.

Room Tip: Double check the mattress and make sure you tell housekeeper on your preference to have hard or soft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear nancyyau,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear your review of our restaurant offerings, and am surprised as we normally receive very positive comments about our food quality and selections. Nonetheless, perhaps it is time for a review of our menus as there is always room for improvement.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your experience, and I hope you allow us another opportunity to show you our improvements.

Warm regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I chose the Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa for a one night stay in September 2012 before our timeshare week began in Phuket. Great stay, nice & helpful staff here. We would return here again!

We had reserved a Sea View room and were upgraded to a Discovery Suite prior to our arrival. Upon arrival, we were escorted to the check in desk and after providing our documents, they seated us and gave us refreshing glasses of juice and cold/lemon grass scented towels. Check in was completed while we were seated at the sofa and the employee was very nice and explained the Platinum benefits. Husband is a Platinum level in the SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) loyalty program and the Platinum benefits at this resort was (available) upgrade, complimentary in room wireless internet, breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant, and evening cocktail hour and late check out, which we did not need.

Since the entire resort is built on a hillside, they use golf carts or tuk tuks to easily transport you to/from your room. The roads are paved but steep and if your room is towards the top, it would be a long, strenuous walk! But the hillside design provides most of the rooms with great ocean/coastline views.

The Discovery Suite was clean, bright, large/spacious with a separate large living room with sofa, coffee table and flat screen tv. Separate large bedroom with king bed,dresser and flat screen tv. Bathroom had toilet glass enclosed toilet stall, separate tub and shower. Balconies with nice views or the ocean/coastline off both rooms. As mentioned in some other reviews, the light switches on the walls sometimes didn't seem to logically work with what it should be. And if you really like privacy in the bathroom from your roommate, you won't get it with the glass although the glass makes it look really nice and bright.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant is excellent. Great selection of the typical buffet items like assortment of breads, pastries, fruits, cereals, yogurt, juices, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, waffles, crepes, etc. Plus they have more international fare items like rice, congee, dim sum, stir fry noodles, pad thai, curry and many other items, so lots to choose from. They also had an egg/omelet bar, noodle station where they would customize your order. Their restaurant also served iced coffee and Thai iced tea, which I really enjoyed.

The Platinum guest evening cocktail hour is at the bar (no lounge at this property) and there's a menu where you can pick certain drinks or juices. They also bring out some appetizers to your table, so a nice evening to sit by the bar area enjoying your complimentary drink and appetizers with a great ocean view!

A really nice touch was the surprise birthday cake they brought up. Well, not a surprise to them as my thoughtful husband had emailed them earlier and asked if they could do something like that for my birthday, which was the day before. So they brought up a cute and tasty birthday cake and fruit platter to our suite. They even provided candles and matches for the cake.

Things to consider - beach/location/transportation:
If you really need a great beach, this resort doesn't have it at all times-depends on the tide. When the tide goes out, the beach area doesn't look great-kind of mucky. When the tide is high, the beach looks fine and there's a volleyball court on the sand and we saw some kayaks that they loan/rent out to use. But the resort has three large, nice looking pools. Or if you're lucky enough to have a villa or suite with the private or shared pools, you should be fine.

This resort is not close to Patong Beach or lots of dining/shopping or nightlife. If you really want nightlife, shopping, dining, this resort is probably not the best choice since you'll need to take a taxi, rent/drive your own car or hire a driver to go out. Parking is free at this resort if you own or rent a car. Westin also has private car/driver for hire, but a bit pricey. Taxi stand outside guard gate, but pricing is fixed by the "taxi mafia" drivers and even a short trip to Phuket town is 300 baht. Resort also has a shuttle (pay per person, per trip) that goes on certain days to either Phuket town or Central Festival shopping center.

We hired an excellent private driver, Mr. Kom (via many referrals/postings on Trip Advisor) to pick us up at the Phuket Airport and drive us to the Westin and pick us up the next day to take us to the timeshare stay. We (he) didn't have any problems with the notorious "Taxi Mafia" at all. He drove right in and out through the resort's guard gate without being stopped or harassed by the taxi mafia. He also had no issues with the taxi mafia at the The Village Coconut Island resort boat dock area, so not sure if he knows or talks with the other drivers.

We would highly recommend Mr. Kom if anyone needs a reliable, friendly, helpful & safe English speaking driver. Mr. Kom also drove us around the southern part of Phuket for our day trip/touring/shopping/eating and he took us to good local places for lunch and even helped my husband go to the larger cell phone store, with trying to find the right type sim card for his cell phone when the local 7-11s didn't have what he wanted. He responds promptly to emails and his contact info is phuket.kom99@gmail.com if you need to reach him.

We would rate the Westin Siray Bay Resort an excellent 4. We had a great stay here and will return here again when we return again to Phuket. And we would recommend this resort!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear ctfl,

Thank you for providing such wonderful and comprehensive feedback from your recent experience with us at The Westin Siray Bay.

My team and I are delighted to be part of your birthday celebration and very proud to have made your stay special. I very much appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your return trip whether for another special occasion or a relaxing holiday.

Warm regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is about a 45 minute drive to the hotel from the airport, but the view and the beds are worth it. The hotel is terraced on a steep hillside and is a bit spread out, so be prepared for walking and hillclimbing. They do provide golf cart service if needed to/from the restaurant/main areas. There is a pool area on each side of the property, which are okay, but somewhat small. The beach area is very clean, but again, small like a cove beach. The rooms are nice with beautiful views overlooking the water to the west, so you can have nice skies at sunset. The bed is probably the best bed I have ever slept in, it just wraps you up. Very nice modern bathroom with a separate tub and shower. Breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent with just about anything under the sun available, dinner at the pan-asian restaurant was top notch. Mini bar fridge, hairdryer, and iron/board in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear skysailor7,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our room and the magnificent views.

Your compliments on your dining experience will be passed on to the food and beverage team and we look forward to welcoming you back with us at the Westin Siray Bay in the future.

Kind regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this resort in June 2012, we stayed at the adjoining deluxe rooms as there were 5 of us in our travelling party. The deluxe rooms were a decent size, however i noticed the workmanship of the hotel could have been quality checked better. An example, the faucet in the toilet of our bedroom had to be pushed up to turn on the water, for the adjoining room it had to be pushed down.

The resort itself is beautiful, the sweeping views of the ocean takes your breath away literally. The resort is rather huge and sits on a cliff, we took the opportunity to walk off the calories we consumed from the food we consumed there. There are not many choices available for food, the few restaurants that were opened at night served decent food at the usual 5-star resort prices.

However some aspects of the stay marred our view of the resort. Firstly housekeeping is terrible, the staff did not pay much attention to the cleanliness of the rooms, and the was one time they cleaned the room despite us putting up the DND sign. Staff at some of the restaurants were also not very attentive, and could do with more training. To be fair some staff at the reception, Concierge, pool bar and kids club were amazing. My kids love the activities planned out at the kids club so much so they were keeping office hours there lol.

I would say go there with an open mind, enjoy the resort and the views, and if you are lucky all else may surprise you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear lizlin17,

I appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us. Your encouraging comments will certainly be passed on to our Front Office team. I am also pleased to hear your children had a wonderful time with us.

It is disappointing to hear your comments about our associates. I will personally share your feedback with our Housekeeping and Food and Beverage teams to make improvements, as it seems we have fallen short of our normally very high standards.

Thank you for your review and I hope that these isolated incidents do not detract from you providing us with another opportunity in the future to restore your faith in The Westin Siray Bay.

Warm regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort was absolutely beautiful. The rooms were spacious and mine had an amazing view. Both of the pools were fabulous. The breakfast spread was outrageous. The property grounds were splendid. Everything about the physical hotel was great. The service on the other hand repeatedly disappointed me. Whether it was refusing to exchange my USD for Baht because they bills were brand new, having to call 3+ times and wait 20+ minutes for a tuk tuk, or having to get up and go to the bar when you wanted to order a drink at the pool or even at the bar....the service was extremely underwhelming and not what I would expect from a Westin. I am assuming that the service (or lack there of) is led by the GM who "hung out" in the bar in the evenings drinking a bottle of wine and playing on his tablet. Even when he was working my travel companion asked where she could print her boarding pass and he roughly gestured down the hall with no regard to customer service or general politeness. With that being said, the gentleman that taught the yoga as well as the water aerobics classes were amazing. They were full of fun and really made me feel welcome. I would go back to this property, but with more realistic expectations about the level of service to expect.

Room Tip: I was ALL the way at the top of the hill, which made for quite a steep walk. My view was also blocke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear BerraBerro,

Thank you for sharing your review from your recent stay with us at the Westin Siray Bay. I am glad you liked our room, the views, and breakfast as well as enjoyed the exercise classes we provide at the pool.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the service in the areas you have mentioned. Your feedback is important to us and has been noted in order to improve the experience for all our guests in the future.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Siray Bay.

Kind regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Address: 21/4 Moo 1,Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Phuket Town
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Phuket Town
#21 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
#23 Family Hotel in Phuket Town
#24 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Siray Bay Resort And Spa Phuket
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Phuket Town
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Phuket Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.