We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resonable room rates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket OldTown Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Phuket OldTown Hostel to your Saves list
Phuket OldTown Hostel
42 Krabi Rd, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Resonable room rates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Hostel is clean with breakfast included, reasonably priced ( double: fan room - 450baht, a/c room 550baht )unfortunately most of rooms have windows facing corridor… anyway you can always check room first before you pay so it is up to you; I stayed there only for one night so I didn’t mind.
There is only one thing I want to warn you: DO NOT BUY any tickets through the reception! (They sell transfer tickets to other island and trips I think). We bought from them transfer: Phuket to Koh Lanta -taxi plus FERRY for 700 Baht each person which we thought was a fair price. Unfortunately our journey turned out to be a long way in a minivan with poor a/c. The average price for transfer Phuket-Koh Lanta by minivan is 250-300 Baht so you can see that we have been seriously overcharged and really disappointed as we wasted most of our day in a van. On Koh-Lanta they left us in the middle of nowhere, they did that obviously for the reason - there were overpriced taxis and tuk-tuks already waiting for you!
Anyway, enjoy your stay in Thailand and remember you will be ripped-off many times so do not let this spoil your holidays :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunanta, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Making understanding

According to Tortuga77 ' s comment about the overcharging of the trip to Lanta Island. We would like to expain that we get the net price at 550 Baht from the ferry owner. Not 250-300 baht as you understand. Please check to get a correct information. We really concern about your comment. Because to be honest to our customers is very important policy of our hostel.

Thank you for your visit and your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
1
9
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

A Phuket Town backpacker / budget no-frills bargain at 400 B a night for a fan room, bathroom and breakfast. The young women who work there are fun and friendly. It's nice and new so beds are great and everything is fresh and clean.

I loved the location as the Old Town is an up and coming old Chinese area with fantastic listed buildings and arty / trendy bars. It's near to local (very reasonably priced) restaurants as well as western style ones. I thought it a much nicer place to stay than the overly developed and in my opinion ugly beach resort areas - there is a bus nearby to the resort beaches for 40 B if you want to go for the day.

I found the local people very friendly and got taken out to dinner twice by locals I met during my stay.

The town has a great weekend night market - not very touristy so cheap. I got an hour foot and shoulder massage for 150 B.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket O, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you've had a good vacation here. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuket OldTown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket OldTown Hostel

Address: 42 Krabi Rd, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Phuket OldTown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket OldTown Hostel Phuket Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket OldTown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.