We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amazing Bike Tours

Amazing Bike Tours
32/4 Moo 9, Chaofa (East) Rd | Chalong, Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
076 283 436
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #12 of 236 Activities in Phuket Town
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent the day with James and his team on the turtles and waterfall ride.
From start to finish, it was well run and organised.
Picking us up on time, which can be a challenge in Phuket.
The morning ride which is 33 Kms is broken up into a number of stages.
Lunch was very nice indeed.
The team hydrate you all day and there is never a shortage of drinks or energy food.
The after lunch section is probably the most challenging with some undulating hill.
Reaching the waterfalls is very satisfying and very enjoyable to have done it with my 11 year old son.
The waterfall was great to cold down in.
If you tire, the van will pick you up so you can get you energy back.
The course it a mixture of off road and on road which was a good experience.
If you enjoy riding at any level, you will enjoy this experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    39
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great day out of the Phuket craziness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was an excellent, professional tour of the Phuket countryside. I did the one day tour. The guide was excellent and spoke great English, the bikes were in great condition and the snacks along the way were delicious. Stopping at the gibbon conservation center added a nice eco-conscious touch as well. Everyone on my trip seemed to be very pleased with the service! The course was mainly flat - not an intense workout for serious cyclists - but comfortable for all ages and skill levels. We alternated paved and forest roads, stopping past different plantations. Definitely a great alternative for those wanting peace and quiet!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect day on Koh Yao Noi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Easy to book, a great bargain, and a spectacular ride! Everything from the transportation to and from the dock, the ride overview, the route selection and mix of on and off-road terrain to the placement of rest stops and refreshments and choice of lunch location were are all well timed and spot on. The scenery and people on KYN were wonderful. Guide service was top notch and able to adjust the tempo for an avid rider. My sole regret is not booking a longer ride (I picked the 30K) and being to hot at lunch to completely enjoy the fine Thai cuisine (I went for a swim on a pristine and empty beach to cool off!) Highly recommend to anyone with a minimum of bike handling skills. The highlight of my visit to Thailand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worlddivingtraveller
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Koh Yao Noi island day, great day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

OK, so first the headline cost (the minus one point); Cost appears a little high, but you do get what you far for; this is the second time I've done this tour and this one is a great day.

The hotel pick up was in a nice clean air con minibus, with friendly chatty staff:
these are 'normal guys' it is *NOT* a Lycra clad Tour de France, just a leisurely bike ride day. (& mostly flat)
The bikes are measured to fit your height (&further adjustable in decent order) and you get a compulsory cycle helmet (so a bandana is a nice idea for inside the helmet). Bike includes a water bottle holder, there are plenty of stops (stop whenever you wish) and the guides carry back packs full of water. ((we also stopped at coffee/cold drinks places as well)).

> DON'T FORGET YOUR SUNSCREEN CREAM!

The trip too the island is on a 'locals' long tail boat (but decked) ferry; real life here, so you get to meet and mix with locals ((including fishermen and monkeys too! if you wish)). A lovely ride across taking about an hour.
The island itself is truly gorgeous, quiet remote, tiny hamlets and not many people at all. We stopped many times for drinks, photos, and some information points - the guides tell you as much or as little as you want to know, we did a forest cut through/de tour and learnt about rubber making.
The roads are mostly flat, and mostly empty, the odd rare vehicle happily pulls over to let you pass by, often with a hello and a smile.
So many places to take scenic photographs so don't forget you camera. From Krabi archipelago to pure tropical beaches, tiny working fishing villages, every turn was a photograph.
Stopped for snacks (fresh sticky rice served in banana leaves) and regular drinks..
The final stop is a huge lunch in a small family run restaurant, big variety of many foods (thai, fish etc) all cooked fresh to order, over looking an amazing beach/sea/ distant islands panoramic view; oh and hammocks if you need a chill out...
Finally a quick down hill 3k back to catch the returning long tail ferry boat back, and then back to the hotel via the nice mini bus.
A little pricey, well maybe, but then this is well organised, and a thoroughly great day out, so maybe not. You get what you pay for, and this was personal, flexible and great happy staff, and above all Relaxed.
I WOULD recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Bike Touring off the Beaten Path and Away from Tourist Traps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recently done two of Amazing Bike Tours Day trips and loved both of them (Koh Yao Noi island
and Thai Muang Turtles and Waterfalls). Great planning and perfect days on their part. We did not go thirsty and we were well feed with fresh watermelon, pineapple and delicious sticky rice for some mid morning bike fuel!

James, Tan and the rest of the crew are really professional and fun to bike with. They picked me up on time and didn't have to worry about anything except to peddle and steer my bike.

The places we stopped for lunch both days were really good Thai food and they catered to my vegetarian request. I really loved the place where we stopped on the Island - so pretty and you must sit out on the deck over the water!

I also rented a bike from Amazing Bike tours for the two weeks that I was here and it was very handy! No need to rent a motor bike - get your legs working for you!

Would sign up for another tour when I come back to Phuket for sure. James said that they be doing a 10 day road bike trip in 2015...something that I may consider as I feel they are very competent to guide and plan your trip.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazing Bike Tours also viewed

Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Amazing Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazing Bike Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.