We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amazing Bike Tours

Amazing Bike Tours
32/4 Moo 9, Chaofa (East) Rd | Chalong, Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
076 283 436
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our my wife and I and 3 adult children celebrated my 50th birthday on a 1 day bike tour . It was a fantastic family outing , with a boat trip to the island , a cycle through jungle and tracks , a swim off the jetty and a lovely lunch and boat trip home . All transfers were provided to and from our hotel . It was a really happy family day and something different to do that just about anyone who can sit on a bike can manage . I would highly recommend doing a bike trip .

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    45
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing is the right word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Everything about the trip was truly amazing. I did the half day tour and loved it. The bikes were in excellent condition; the route had the perfect balance of off and on road. James and Lek were fun, knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. Great snacks. Interesting and relevant venues were chosen (rubber tree plantation and Gibbon Rehabilitation Centre). These guys love biking and are eager to share in that. I look forward to returning to Phuket and doing a multi day trip

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We did the half day trip. The pick up was on time and everyone was very friendly. James takes a genuine interest in the guests and is very personable. The actual ride itself was great- the bikes and equipment were very good and well maintained. The half day ride was pretty easy- but James and Tan gave riders the opportunity to have a more off-road experience if it was desired by splitting the group in two for some aspects. I personally stayed with my fiance and did the "easy" route during this time, but this was still very enjoyable. It was very interesting to hear about the rubber trees and the national park with the Gibbons. They provided good information and were very open to dialogue and discussion. We really have nothing negative to say about this tour and highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed. We will certainly ride with them again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Khao Sok Cheow Lan Lake expedition...glorious!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We did this 23 - 25 March 2013. We had already done the Koh Yao Noi 3 dayer last October and loved it. We began this pathway after doing a half day tour in April 2012. The group - James, Tan, our driver, and two other guests apart from the two of us. Pick up - on time, bikes - well maintained and efficient, personnel - as helpful as they could be without actually pushing the pedals themselves. After pick up drove 1.5hrs then biked off road for about 5km to the river, where the males all swam in a clear stream (too much kerfuffle for a female to change!!), then to the first night accommodation. We visited two tsunami memorials near Kao Lak and had the wonderful sticky rice and fruit snacks provided by the company, as per usual, there. First night - Cliff and River Jungle resort at Khao Sok - charming bungalows each with outdoor bathroom attached - adequate, and lovely in its simplicity. Great bed, mossie net above, wooden verandah, with fantastic views of the sun rising in the valley early morning. Food at the resort restaurant down the pathway to the river bank - great dinner, okay breakfast. The only incongruous note, was a TV - why why why would you want to watch TV in such exquisite surroundings? - but ah, well are all different I guess. Only thing that couldve been better - perhaps a bigger cake of soap - but that is a tiny tiny nitpick - this was a great place. Next morming 40km ride to lunch at Ban Ta Kum, and then onto the long boat to Plern Prai Rafthouse for the night. Three members of our group were insane enough to egg each other on in 42.8C heat to ride an optional up hill 13km - but a van accompanies the cycling tour, and one of the other guests and myself, and Tan, passed up the opportunity to do that (wonder why? sanity?). Plern Prai is not the usual rafthouse James uses for his Amazing Bike Tours guests; the rafthouse he normally uses was unavailable, so this was the first time James had stayed at Plern Prai. The rafthouses - charming. The scenery - breath taking. The floating toilet facilities, disappointing - I thought they were in poor repair, as were many of the boardwalks, and the wooden ladders that accessed the lake from the boardwalks. But within the context of an absolutely fantastic 3 days of biking, of getting to off the beaten track places, with stunning views - then this criticism is minor and doesnt detract from another wonderful experience with this company. After a night at Plern Prai we didnt bike at all on the 3rd day (having biked valiantly for 2 days, no complaints, exactly what we signed up for) - we trekked over the hill, where at the bottom a long raft took us to the stalactite stalagmite cave nearby. Then back to Plern Prai for lunch, and lunch and dinner there were great meals, breakfast adequate, longtail boat back to the van, and then home. I thought this was great value for money, everything worked, route well thought out and other than my niggles about Plern Prai (which James was forced to use at short notice); pretty much perfect. And most definitely YES we will do the two other tours with Amazing Bike Tours that we haven't done.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"3 day tour-Khao Sok&Cheow Lan Lake"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Amazing was our 3 day trip with James as our guide. It wasn't our first trip so we knew what to
expect. Everything is so well organised from the hotel pickup till the drop-off. With our bikes on
the longtail to the boathouse on the lake and in the early morning watching gibbons. It was really
unforgetable. Thanks again James and your Amazing Bike Tours and we'll see you back next time for another trip. Team Antwerp

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazing Bike Tours also viewed

 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Amazing Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazing Bike Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.