We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable place, terrible customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Place Hotel to your Saves list
Rome Place Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23/8 Soi Hub-Ek, Phuket Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 156 Hotels in Phuket Town
3.0 of 5 stars 83 Reviews
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reasonable place, terrible customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We have stayed there for one night.
We've took the plane from Chiang Mai and on the next morning we were leaving to Phi Phi.
Since the flight was arriving late we decided to book a transfer in advance with the hotel. The manager confirmed everything to us but upon our arrival at the airport we could not see the driver. There were a lot of drivers waiting so we decided to wait a bit to see if we could see ours.
After 45 minutes waiting (and more than 20 people asking where would we like to go) there was only a driver waiting so I have decided to ask if he was the guy. The name on the board was a completely diferent from my girlfriend's name. He was rude and there was no reason why because the mistake was not ours!

I would say that this is a cheap hotel to stay and it is ok to stay for one night if you dont care with customer service. However I think you ca find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
3
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We had four rooms for three nights. Rooms were good airy clean but with very very small toilets. The A/C's were working but not chilling. The house keeping was perfect and fast. The rooms were clean but cockroaches were seen beneath the matteress.
With rooms one has to see the toilets and kitchen and here both were not good. Too small toilets and very less varietyand quantity offered in breakfast .
Overall if one goes for less budget keeping the food away it is good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010 via mobile

It's dirty, dated horrible. I wouldn't stay here again for free. Staff are rude. The place hasn't been decorated for at least 20 years. The room smelt damp. Just bloody horrible

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We were very pleased with this hotel, clean, great price, the best massages we have had in Thailand and Cambodia, we have a great contact for taxi since we find almost no taxi speaks english so it's very hard to go around and get info, great price and service, Mr Verasak 089-8782537.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night before catching the morning ferry to Ko Phi Phi (which they can also arrange, but for a little more than the travel agent we used). We both thought the hotel was a great value for the money: we got our room for 600 baht (we were quoted 720 baht but asked for a discount because it was the low season).

The room was much nicer than some of the other 600 baht hotel rooms I have stayed in in Thailand: large, clean, quiet, a comfortable bed, a mini fridge with complimentary water, and a generally classy room than one might expect. It is close to the center of town also (a block from the clock tower), so you could walk to pretty much everything listed in the Lonely Plant (the hotel is not listed in the LP however). If I ever get back, I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Place Hotel

Address: 23/8 Soi Hub-Ek, Phuket Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 156 Hotels in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rome Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Place Hotel is located in the heart of Phuket City. Close to Shopping Center and Marker just 5-10 minutes walk and also close to Rassada Pier just 10 minutes drive. Phuket Bay or SapanHin is 1 kilometre away. Go to beaches is also just 20-30 minutes drive. But guests can walk to Ranong Road to get on local bus (30-40 baht per person) to varieities of beaches. It leave every 20 minutes. We offer Massage on 2nd floor which is very cheap (2 hours traditional massage 320 baht), accommodation and restaurant mainly serve Thai Food. Free internet at the Lobby area and also in the room with a 100 baht per 24 hours. 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rome Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Place Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.