We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Would definitely recommend!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pineapple Guesthouse to your Saves list
Pineapple Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   291 / 4 Patak Road | Karon Plaza, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 76 Karon B&B and Inns
4.5 of 5 stars 146 Reviews
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Would definitely recommend!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Fantastic place, first arrived into Thailand from Australia and met a friend here, fantastic patio area outside where we were able to have a group of us all hanging out drinking and socializing, they have beer, juices and home cooked food available. and rooms were perfect.

No lock out times, and staff were beyond helpful, organizing taxi's and airport pick-ups / transfers, came to stay for a further 6 days after having traveled about thailand for a month, Steve (owner) immediately remembered us, and emailed us when we booked, which was a nice touch.

Would recommend and stay again,

Great value for money, beach 3 minutes away, as are restaurants, bars, shops and ATM's ,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    62
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
49
37
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this property and I dare to say we had an amazing time!!!!!!The owner and hostel staff are very friendly and helpful. Also other guest were mostly young so the atmosphere was just great. Rooms were nice and cleaned every day. We felt comfortable the whole time we spent here. We stayed in an AC room and it was just perfect, our fridge was even refilled with drinking water every day.. Wi-fi is free for the guest and for those who do not have smartphones there was a computer in the lobby room.
The guesthouse is situated at the beginning of Karon beach (near kata beach) so if you want to visit Kata beach it is really not that far away, even for the lazy ones :) Hostel is very close to the beach - cca 3 minutes and there are supermarkets, ATM, banks, restaurants, bars, etc. in the closest neighbourhood. Everything you need!!
We really really had an amazing time!!!
Regaaaards :)

Room Tip: we stayed at AC room, but honestly I don´t think we really needed the AC, because then we were cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here and enjoyed my stay, Clean dorm style rooms with everything you need when traveling, safety box and a computer made available for guests. Helpful staff and good home-cooked food served on the patio area around the reception. Excellent value for money, some other hotels/hostels can be a little bit more expensive in this area. Use of the pool at the hotel next door and WOW what a pool it is, well worth paying the little bit extra if u decide its a lazy day around the water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEIGHLEY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here (with a dive safari fitted in mid way) for 3 weeks in November. The AC room was of a good standard & in my opinion & experience better than many 3* & some supposedly 4* British hotels. Steve, Lec & their helpfull staff engenderd a great relaxed atmosphere & dealt with any queries & any minor glitches straight away. The menu featured very reasonably priced good quality freshly cooked English & Thai food which could be accompanied with an ice cold beer or tea, coffee, soft drink etc. When I come back to Karon again the Pineapple will definitely be the place I'm going to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A really great hostel! Each bed in the dorm had it's individual fan, plug and light. Lockers worked well in the room. Wifi worked in the lobby and room. Water, beer, juice etc available downstairs. No lock out. Book exchange. Computers to use. 3 minute walk to Karon Beach. Bars and restaurants nearby. And Saai, the manager, was super super cool. ALL of this for 150 baht per night! I would definitely recommend this hostel :) Only downside is the lack of common room for travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Pineapple Guesthouse's friendly, helpful staff was great, they even arranged airport pickup and helped us plan our outings. Ours was a private room with bath -- basically furnished but large, clean, with good AC and a nice firm mattress. Located on a quiet side street a short walk to beach, the guesthouse has its own restaurant and plenty of amenities nearby. They thought of everything we needed and provided it. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I booked a fan room but were upgraded to air con when we arrived due to a booking mix up. I would recommend staying here if you are a backpacker on a budget.

PROs: Staff are v friendly and helpful
Location is great - not far from the Karon beach (the only nice beach in Phuket)!
Big sized room with aircon
There is a TV and big fridge in the room.
Fairly quiet area (except building work next door during the day)

CONs: Very dated furnishings (a new mattress, pillows and covers are needed)!
Water pressure is practically non- existent (washing shampoo out of hair was a mission).
Wifi didn't work at all in our room (however, there is 1 computer available for all guests to use - just have to wait your turn).
We only had our room cleaned once in 4 days (it advertises cleaning everyday).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madmitchphuket, Owner at Pineapple Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I'm surprised at some of these comments. We generally get favourable comments about our mattresses and cleanliness. I don't believe the room was only cleaned once in four days as our girls are very thorough, unless the guests didn't leave the room until after 3pm at which time we state that rooms won't be cleaned.

I wish people would mention things like lack of water pressure. It generally only requires the filter on the water heater to be cleaned. It's happened today; one comment to us and it's fixed in a few minutes.

Finally I admit, some of the furnishings are dated. But it's solid wood furniture. The choice is keep it in good condition and keep the price down or replace it, call ourselves a boutique guesthouse and double the price of a room. I know what most of our guests would prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pineapple Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Guesthouse

Address: 291 / 4 Patak Road | Karon Plaza, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineapple Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pineapple Guesthouse caters to visitors from all over the world. Just four minutes walk from Karon Beach, Pineapple offers a variety of accommodation from superior king bedded rooms with balconies, cheaper king, twin and triple rooms at the back of the guesthouse, one fan room and a ten-bed mixed dorm. Rooms all have air-conditioning (except the one fan room, which is also not en suite), cable TV, large fridge, safe and hot shower. There's free wifi throughout plus a computer available for guests.We can arrange airport pickups, assist with tours and onward travel.We try to offer the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Pineapple Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Guesthouse Hotel Karon
Pineapple Guesthouse Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.