We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, well priced and superb location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Karonburi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Karonburi Resort to your Saves list
Baan Karonburi Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   194/1 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, well priced and superb location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I (both aged 21) recently stayed in this hotel during June 2012. We had a wonderful stay and I couldn't recommend this hotel more for those who are looking for a hotel a little out of Patong (to avoid all the noise etc.) and who do not want to spend an arm and a leg for good service. The rooms were just what we needed, with a huge bed, tv with plenty of channels and a good bathroom. I do recommend a higher floor however, as there is nothing better than buying a few drinks and drinking them on your balcony at night, with the sound of music and the waves, so relaxing. The staff were fantastic and so friendly. I believe it is quite harsh of other reviewers to attack the staff for their English. I know about three words of Thai and we communicated with them extremely well and they catered to our every need, going above and beyond at times. All you need is a smile on your face! This hotel also has quite a few rooms and not a huge cleaning staff, but that didn't bother us at all. All we needed to do was put our cleaning sign on the door and busy ourselves during the day (it's not hard, there's so much to do!) and we'd come back to a lovely and clean room.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, on either side there is a big marketplace with all the touristy knick knacks you'll ever need and also a lane full of minimarts, restaurants (try them all, they're all fantastic, especially Gings, largest cocktail list I've ever seen!) and massage places. Plus the beach is right across the road with lifeguards and red/yellow flags. There is a taxi area just outside the hotel also, all the taxi drivers speak good English and give extremely good prices. We had a few in particular who we knew by name, who took us to many places, waited around for us and picked us up later when we needed them and were always up for a chat. We weren't just money to them, which was great to see.

The pool is also great, it has such a tropical and relaxing feel with great bar staff who make wonderful cocktails. Breakfast buffet was very tasty, they changed it up a bit too everyday, so you got variety and I always ate so much I wasn't hungry again until dinner!

I really recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a clean, friendly and very comfortable mid priced hotel. We had an fantastic stay and would like to thank the staff for making our time in town so lovely :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    71
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Sad experience.
After paying for the room we asked for a receipt.
Something wrong with asking for the receipt?
Well it seem so. Once you pay (Gimma the money) they are no more interested in you.
It took us 15 minutes to explain them that we need a receipt.
Their english is like my chinese (almost 0).
After waiting 15 more minutes for them to print a receipt we found that the departure day was wrong.
Again it took another 15 minutes before we finally got a proper receipt.
One more nightmare was the breakfast.
Meat paradise but vegetarian hell.
It must be good for the Russian clientele but terrible for us.
The only good thing was the room (nice and clean).
Never back again. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here and loved it, its a quiet, clean hotel. The long gorgeous beach is just over the road. There are restaurants only a 2 minute walk away to the left or 5 minutes to the right to the centre of Karon where there are more restaurants, bars and etc....

This part of Phuket is a perfect place to relax and is suitable for families as well as those that want a little more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were upgraded to a 'pool access' room which was nice but that was about the only positive thing about our stay at Baan Karonburi.

The pumps from the semi-private pool outside were really loud and going all night so we had to put towels over the vents to muffle the noise. The small pillows from the day bed had obviously not been cleaned (ever?) as they STANK of old sweat (no joke) and we got rid of them immediately.

The service was pretty poor, we left the room on the first day at around 8 with a 'please make up the room' sign on the handle, but returned at 12pm to find it had not been touched. We called housekeeping who assured us they would send someone immediately, so we went to the pool for a couple of hours only to return around 2:30pm to find it had still not been done. I called for the second time and it was completed around 3:30pm. I noticed also that a couple of our rooms in our wing still hadn't been made up by this time which seems ridiculous. Even if they are understaffed, to not respond to our first call was very poor.

The breakfast is average, the only good thing being the omelette station.

Overall I would not recommend this place or stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed here with our 3 year old and my husband's parents. Very friendly staff, a good location, good breakfast variety and good facilities. Our garden view room was a good size for the 3 of us. The grandparents were in an ocean view room.
Some parts of the resort are a little tired - but I find that's the same in most hotels in Thailand.
Also - most of the staff don't speak much english!

Room Tip: Don't expect panoramic ocean views when you choose an ocean view room. You can see the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights good location right opposite the beach across the road. Breakfast good with nice variety, Very clean and comfortable was given free upgrade to pool view room in back block. Very nice room with king sized bed, slippers, robe shower and bath, TV and safe in room with tea and coffee making facilities in room and 2 bottles of free water per day. Nice pool with sunbeds and parasols. Staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel seemed to have a large number of Russian or eastern block guests who seemed to drink all day and night and used the pool late into the evening although the pool rules said that it should not be used at these times. It would be good if the staff enforced its rules as it was very noisy at night and we were woken at 5am on our first evening. Apart from that a great comfortable and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We managed to get this hotel quite cheaply through a travel agent in Bangkok - much cheaper than the walk in price. We were happy to pay the price that we got but don't think we would have payed the full amount! The hotel was clean and friendly, great location opposite the beach and a lovely little pool with a bar. The rooms are large and nice. The restaurant is nice and well priced although there are nicer restaurants down the road!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Karonburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Karonburi Resort

Address: 194/1 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Karonburi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baan Karonburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Karonburi Hotel Karon
Baan Karonburi Resort Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Karonburi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.