We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gimma the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Karonburi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Karonburi Resort to your Saves list
Baan Karonburi Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   194/1 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gimma the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Sad experience.
After paying for the room we asked for a receipt.
Something wrong with asking for the receipt?
Well it seem so. Once you pay (Gimma the money) they are no more interested in you.
It took us 15 minutes to explain them that we need a receipt.
Their english is like my chinese (almost 0).
After waiting 15 more minutes for them to print a receipt we found that the departure day was wrong.
Again it took another 15 minutes before we finally got a proper receipt.
One more nightmare was the breakfast.
Meat paradise but vegetarian hell.
It must be good for the Russian clientele but terrible for us.
The only good thing was the room (nice and clean).
Never back again. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    85
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
35
55
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here and loved it, its a quiet, clean hotel. The long gorgeous beach is just over the road. There are restaurants only a 2 minute walk away to the left or 5 minutes to the right to the centre of Karon where there are more restaurants, bars and etc....

This part of Phuket is a perfect place to relax and is suitable for families as well as those that want a little more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were upgraded to a 'pool access' room which was nice but that was about the only positive thing about our stay at Baan Karonburi.

The pumps from the semi-private pool outside were really loud and going all night so we had to put towels over the vents to muffle the noise. The small pillows from the day bed had obviously not been cleaned (ever?) as they STANK of old sweat (no joke) and we got rid of them immediately.

The service was pretty poor, we left the room on the first day at around 8 with a 'please make up the room' sign on the handle, but returned at 12pm to find it had not been touched. We called housekeeping who assured us they would send someone immediately, so we went to the pool for a couple of hours only to return around 2:30pm to find it had still not been done. I called for the second time and it was completed around 3:30pm. I noticed also that a couple of our rooms in our wing still hadn't been made up by this time which seems ridiculous. Even if they are understaffed, to not respond to our first call was very poor.

The breakfast is average, the only good thing being the omelette station.

Overall I would not recommend this place or stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed here with our 3 year old and my husband's parents. Very friendly staff, a good location, good breakfast variety and good facilities. Our garden view room was a good size for the 3 of us. The grandparents were in an ocean view room.
Some parts of the resort are a little tired - but I find that's the same in most hotels in Thailand.
Also - most of the staff don't speak much english!

Room Tip: Don't expect panoramic ocean views when you choose an ocean view room. You can see the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Level Contributor
249 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights good location right opposite the beach across the road. Breakfast good with nice variety, Very clean and comfortable was given free upgrade to pool view room in back block. Very nice room with king sized bed, slippers, robe shower and bath, TV and safe in room with tea and coffee making facilities in room and 2 bottles of free water per day. Nice pool with sunbeds and parasols. Staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel seemed to have a large number of Russian or eastern block guests who seemed to drink all day and night and used the pool late into the evening although the pool rules said that it should not be used at these times. It would be good if the staff enforced its rules as it was very noisy at night and we were woken at 5am on our first evening. Apart from that a great comfortable and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We managed to get this hotel quite cheaply through a travel agent in Bangkok - much cheaper than the walk in price. We were happy to pay the price that we got but don't think we would have payed the full amount! The hotel was clean and friendly, great location opposite the beach and a lovely little pool with a bar. The rooms are large and nice. The restaurant is nice and well priced although there are nicer restaurants down the road!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Me and my mother were looking for a more luxurious hotel on Karon Beach since we only were going to stay there for one night, and this was the one the travel agency in Ko Lanta recommended. We got a great room with private pool access for a great last-minute price and were very satisfied with our stay here.

The hotel restaurant had a great variety of food which tasted fine, the staff were extremely helpful and the hotel area was big and overall well kept. The hotel is located just by the beach and a 10 minute walk from the main shopping street in Karon. Although we got some discount, the room was a bit more expensive than the average Thai prices, but since it was spacious, clean and had that extra luxurious touch, it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.0 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#27 of 72 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#53 of 72 in Karon
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#40 of 72 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#46 of 72 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.7 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#26 of 72 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Karonburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Karonburi Resort

Address: 194/1 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Karonburi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Karonburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Karonburi Hotel Karon
Baan Karonburi Resort Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Karonburi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.