We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Village Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   566 / 1 Patak Rd., Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and I have to admit it was heavenly.
The rooms were excellent, I can't compliment something cause everything was perfect.
We were upgraded to a pool villa just next to the main pool.The spa therapies were very relaxing and professional as my wife said.We enjoyed every minute there and we'll surly come back, but for more days next time

Thank you village team
See you soon

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    59
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
16
146
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nestled in Karon, further away from town, The Village Resort and Spa is a picturesque escape from the chaos outside its walls. The pool is an oasis and the staff are warm and gracious. Breakfast is a buffet of hot and cold with slight variations made daily. And what other reviewers have mentioned as a curse (no free wifi) we saw as a blessing, an excuse to switch off the phones and forget about home. There are plenty of bars/restaurants and day-spas offering free wifi, if you don’t want to pay 200baht at the hotel.

We stayed in Garden Villa around the back of the resort, next to the Novotel construction, we weren’t in our Villa enough to be annoyed by the noise. Our Villa was lush, clean and fresh with a big bath, walk in robe, bedroom and daybed.

The resort itself is located across the road from Karon beach, town is a five minute walk away and a Taxi/Tuk Tuk stand is at the resort’s entrance.

The resort’s cordial staff and relaxed atmosphere are commendable. Thank you for a beautiful getaway.

Room Tip: I wouldn’t recommend their day spa, the prices are about eight times what you will pay at any spa ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and i recently spent 5 days of our thailand honeymoon at this hotel and booked one of the pool access villas. What we weren't told is that there is a construction site right next door as they are building a Novotel hotel there. The construction site was less than 5 metres away from our room with work commencing as early as 8am and finishing around 6pm. The noise level is quite significant and has definitely had a negative impact on our holiday. The only consolation was that the site was closed for 3 out of 5 days.

We weren't offered any compensation initially. Only after multiple conversation with the acting hotel manager did we get a spa treatment. We spoke to other hotel guests who shared the same experience and were not happy how the hotel dealt with the situation.

Despite the construction site I found the breakfast very monotonous and very far from a 5 star hotel. While the hotel staff was anxious to be friendly, it was far from the great customer experience we had in other areas in Thailand.

The beds (just a futon on the wooden floor) was rock hard so we often woke up in pain.

Spa treatments and massages are very expensive and can cost up to 7 times the price of a treatment outside the hotel. Although I have to say the free massage the we got as a small compensation for our troubles was very good.

I am not just having a whinge here. There were a few positives such as the pool and the cleanliness of the resort. It is just that we were on our honeymoon and looked forward to our stay at Karon as we had high expectations considering the many positive reviews we read about is hotel.

But overall the hotel was not worth the money we paid. Even without the construction site.

So if you decide to book your holiday at this resort, please do a thorough check regarding the construction site. When I asked them they said it had only started about a month ago and will continue throughout 2014!!!

Hope this review helps.

Room Tip: Call them regarding the construction site. The pool villas are all right next to the site. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful. It was a little difficult to find but once we got there it was an oasis. We stayed in one of the standard villas near the back and the gardens are lovely. My one annoyance was that they don't provide free internet connection - they offered us a card which gives 10 minutes free internet but there was confusion over our booking so used that up at reception trying to load our emails and were not offered any more time. The pool is lovely and we went for back massages which were just amazing - they cost about £12 each which for 60 minutes was amazing. Would definitely stay here again but for the price free WiFi should be provided.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from Thailand having spend 5 days at the Village resort.

Firstly the hotel is beautiful, well looked after, clean and in a great location (2 mins walk to the beach, 5 mins walk from a number of restaurants and shops).

There are 32 individual villas which all have a TV with international channels, a desk, soft, walk in wardrobe, safe, shower and HUGE bath. The rooms are cleaned more than once a day and we received free gifts most days.

We stayed in a pool villa but I wouldn't recommend it, as the other villas are identical and even the furthest away are no more than 1 minute walk from the main pool.

The staff are friendly and helpful but most speak very poor English except for the duty manager and his assistant.

It was very quiet and mostly couples, no families or kids were there.

Be warned that not one taxi driver knew where this hotel was so when we needed to get a taxi home we had to call the hotel every time.

The food was I'm sorry to say average. The breakfast selection was ok at best, 2 choices of cereal, the juice isn't fresh, the yoghurts are the cheap un healthy kind. As long as you stick to eggs, bacon and toast you're Ok.

Bar menu is again ok. They advertise this maxing sea food platter but you have to order one day in advance which is annoying.

You have to pay for Wifi Per day, per device. So if like us you are a couple with two phones and an iPad you have to pay for 3 devices per day. I complained about this and the manager gave me a free password for the week.

There is currently a huge Novatel being built around the building and the noise is terrible from 8am - 6pm. It's not the hotels fault but they didn't make us or any of the other guests aware and there were a lot of complaints. Us and three other couples all demanded to be moved to villas on the other side of the resort. One couple had it so bad the police were called and the work was temporarily stopped (this was on Christmas Day!). Apparently the building work will continue until April 2015 so be warned.

The SPA is excellent. I had a full body Swedish massage for 90 mins, and was as good as any I've had anywhere.

The hotel are very anal when it comes to things like towels and mini bar. We had to sign forms when we needed extra towels and because we didn't hand them back the same day they tried to charge us. They also tried to charge us for drinks we hadn't taken just because we moved them to accommodate some room in the fridge. This was all resolved but it was just an unnecessary pain in what was our Christmas holiday.

I've been to Thailand a number of times and I would say if you're looking for a quiet place to stay in a good location, but you don't want to spend your days by the pool and want to go out and explore then this will be a great choice once the construction site is completed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We loved this place. We stayed for 5 nights in October on the way home to Australia after travelling Europe for 5 weeks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the Garden Villa that we had - very spacious - and it was great to have separate bedroom and living area. The Pool Villas sounded appealing, but if you had one near the dining or main pool area you would not get the privacy that we had. We did find the bed quite hard. The bathroom was also huge, with a bath and a shower and lovely tiling - the downside being the noise that could come through from the adjoining next door bathroom. The gardens and pool area were just lovely and very tropical. The reception and dining areas very appealing. The breakfast was OK, a bigger choice of fruits would have been better as there were only ever two available, given the tropical nature of where we were I expected plenty of choice. We dined there a few nights as we had a fair bit of rain and didn't want to go out too much. The night time dining was very disappointing, we love Thai food and had great expectations. The flavours were great but let down by the quality of the ingredients - one night we had the toughest chicken I have ever tried to chew. Their cocktails were also disappointing, I am sure they are using copy type alcohol, not the real thing, despite it coming in "real" bottles! But all in all, we had a great stay, and you can always go out for dinner - the village is walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The villa was excellent featuring a very nice and unique design, with a large bedroom, walk in wardrobe, large bathroom, seperate living area and terrace. The factilities in the villa were good with two powerful air conditioning units in the bedroom and lounge. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly and restocked every day. Service of all type was friendly and fast. The gardens, main pool and surrounding areas were very nice , though never tried the Jacuzzi during operating hours. For the record, I wouldn't see any point in having a poolside villa, the garden ones were just as good in my opinion.

Location is good, it's within a 3-5 minutes walk of the beach and around an 8 minute walk to the main road with the amenties. The hotel is situated just off the main highway, but due to the villas being set back, this was a convenience, rather than a hinderance. We were there in mid december and the beach was generally quiet and easy to get loungers.

On the downside, there were some construction works going on which did give us an early awakening on two out of nine days, though if the adjacent buidling site was fully active this could have been much more of a problem. Breakfast wasn't the best, so we decided to eat elsewhere for our lunches/evening meals and never gave the restaurant a chance, so can't comment - but there's dozens of eating options within a ten-15 minute walk. Also, having to pay for internet by the hour/day is petty for a hotel pitching itself in the 4* category.

Overall, really enjoyed the stay, would prefer if there were no construction works going on... will be back in future when the adjacent hotel is complete.

Room Tip: Wouldn't bother with the pool villas... ask for a villa on the opposite side as they are further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Resort and Spa

Address: 566 / 1 Patak Rd., Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Karon
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Karon
Village Hotel Karon
The Village Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.