We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Village Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   566 / 1 Patak Rd., Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Paradise with great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday in Phuket staying at The Village Resort and Spa. Our stay here was wonderful. The traditional Thai style villas are just what we hoped for when booking. As it is a smaller property, you were always seeing the same staff each day and they were absolutely charming. The swim-up villas are fantastic and we enjoyed just sitting on our balcony and going for a swim without going too far. Having said that, everything was close to us, including the restaurant and pool. The staff made us feel welcome and special and we couldn't speak highly enough of them. We stayed in Patong for the first two days of our holiday in a five star hotel and The Village Resort was so much better. If you want a true Thai experience then this is for you. The villas are decorated in traditional Thai decor that are matched by the wonderful Thai hospitality! We shall return!

Room Tip: We had room 505 which was great because it was close to everything but also very private. I haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    58
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
15
137
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this resort. The photos on their website are spot on, pool is amazing, spa was excellent, room was absolutely incredible. I recommend getting the pool access room. The staff, wow, they are so nice and helpful. We ate at the restaurant, by the pool, room service and it was all great food. The location was good as well, far enough away that it is quiet and peaceful yet it is only a 5min walk to Karon beach. Highly recommend staying at the village resort and spa! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time and loved it just as much as the first visit. The staff were waiting to greet us at the front when we arrived and welcomed us home.
Such a great place to unwind and relax. Just love this place. Close enough to the restaurants and bars in Karon but far enough away to shut out the world!
It is a boutique resort with a spa on location. Try it for yourself and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have just returned from 10 nights at The Village Resort & Spa and must say we can't wait to go back. It was a tropical haven of peace & tranquility with friendly & accomodating staff. Small things like remembering how you want your eggs cooked at breakfast time mean so much when it comes to making you feel special. The hotel doesn't have the stuffiness you find in 5 star resorts, it was relaxed but attentive service which helps make this hotel so special. Less than 5 minutes walk to the beach which is straight across the road, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre which although small has a bit of everything. 400 baht taxi ride to Patong whenever you want to dip your toe in the madness otherwise just sit back and relax......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We really liked this place. One thing that we realized in :huket is that location is everything. We stayed at a beautiful place for the first few days, but this place was far from everything, so we felt prisoners after a few days. Renting a moped was the only option. The Village is only a 3 minute walk to the beach and is in the the town of Karon, so it is optimally located. There are things going in Karon but it is not as crazy as Patong or Kata, yet it is very close to these towns.
The pluses: the facilities are beautiful, the rooms are large, very well kept and very nice. The common areas are also well kept and the pool is great.
The minuses: very few of the hotel staff speak English. They are very pleasant, but they just smile back to you and say 10 minutes. I got the impression that the barman at the pool bar had recently passed away because I never saw him/her. Finally, the taxi service I got from the hotel following their recommendation got us to the airport right on time. On time for our scheduled departure, so we had to rebook.
All in all, very good place, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great. The common areas are quiet, so even if you stay close to the reception area, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you prefer Movenpick, this hotel is not for you! Kids, groups, large families - this is way too boring for you. But if you are looking for a piece of paradise, away from crowds, cheap mass tourism, etc this is the place! Only 30 odd villas, thrown around the garden, marvelous pool with sun lounges and a pool bar.... For a couple of days we even couldn't be bothered going to the beach, so nice and pieceful it was around the pool. Spa is great, yes, more dear that in the town, but it is completely different league of experience! Compare Johnson's baby oil and an natural aromatherapy oil and you will understand what I mean!
Food in the restaurant is real high standard! We tried to go out, but as Karon is overtaken by mass tourists from Russia, Australia etc with menues translated in 20 plus languages and the most common dish is pizza... the hotel food is the most authentic you could find in the area!
Overall the only complain is the cost of wi-fi. It felt like the Internet is not a daily necessity but a luxury worth The One and Only!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

When we arrived I wasn't sure it was the same place as advertised on the net. It looked a little scruffy, but once we were introduced to the Resort, our minds were changed.

We had a poolside villa - no. 508. Close to the bar and the restaurant. It was so quiet so this wasn't a problem. All holidaymakers seemed to want a quiet and relaxed holiday and there no children, it doesn't cater for them.

Staff friendly, food excellent. The resort is clean. Not far to walk to bars and restaurants or the beach. Worth trying the Spa for a Thai Wrap and a massage - heaven.

Definitely a place to return to for pure relaxation and its not geared up for late night partying.

Take plenty of mosqito repellent.

Room Tip: If you want a more private spot, don't have pool villa no's 507/508/or 509, as these are ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Resort and Spa

Address: 566 / 1 Patak Rd., Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#13 Spa Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Karon
Village Hotel Karon
The Village Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.