We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Village Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Village Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   566 / 1 Patak Rd. | Karon Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 73 hotels in Karon
Manhattan, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Village Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We really liked this place. One thing that we realized in :huket is that location is everything. We stayed at a beautiful place for the first few days, but this place was far from everything, so we felt prisoners after a few days. Renting a moped was the only option. The Village is only a 3 minute walk to the beach and is in the the town of Karon, so it is optimally located. There are things going in Karon but it is not as crazy as Patong or Kata, yet it is very close to these towns.
The pluses: the facilities are beautiful, the rooms are large, very well kept and very nice. The common areas are also well kept and the pool is great.
The minuses: very few of the hotel staff speak English. They are very pleasant, but they just smile back to you and say 10 minutes. I got the impression that the barman at the pool bar had recently passed away because I never saw him/her. Finally, the taxi service I got from the hotel following their recommendation got us to the airport right on time. On time for our scheduled departure, so we had to rebook.
All in all, very good place, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great. The common areas are quiet, so even if you stay close to the reception area, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    50
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
11
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you prefer Movenpick, this hotel is not for you! Kids, groups, large families - this is way too boring for you. But if you are looking for a piece of paradise, away from crowds, cheap mass tourism, etc this is the place! Only 30 odd villas, thrown around the garden, marvelous pool with sun lounges and a pool bar.... For a couple of days we even couldn't be bothered going to the beach, so nice and pieceful it was around the pool. Spa is great, yes, more dear that in the town, but it is completely different league of experience! Compare Johnson's baby oil and an natural aromatherapy oil and you will understand what I mean!
Food in the restaurant is real high standard! We tried to go out, but as Karon is overtaken by mass tourists from Russia, Australia etc with menues translated in 20 plus languages and the most common dish is pizza... the hotel food is the most authentic you could find in the area!
Overall the only complain is the cost of wi-fi. It felt like the Internet is not a daily necessity but a luxury worth The One and Only!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

When we arrived I wasn't sure it was the same place as advertised on the net. It looked a little scruffy, but once we were introduced to the Resort, our minds were changed.

We had a poolside villa - no. 508. Close to the bar and the restaurant. It was so quiet so this wasn't a problem. All holidaymakers seemed to want a quiet and relaxed holiday and there no children, it doesn't cater for them.

Staff friendly, food excellent. The resort is clean. Not far to walk to bars and restaurants or the beach. Worth trying the Spa for a Thai Wrap and a massage - heaven.

Definitely a place to return to for pure relaxation and its not geared up for late night partying.

Take plenty of mosqito repellent.

Room Tip: If you want a more private spot, don't have pool villa no's 507/508/or 509, as these are ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked the hotel through Agoda and stayed over for 3 nights.
The hotel staff were very friendly and everyone greets you wherever you go. Pool was awesome and it is exactly like what's in the photo with a pool bar. We had a good time chilling by the pool with the drinks. Food was ok but the western.

Great access to the beach by just 5 minutes of walk. Room was very spacious and comfortable. We absolutely love the quiet environment that avoided the busy streets. Then again, you can always take a cab or tuktuk to Patong for nightlife but I think renting a bike is more cost-effective.

Islands hoping package and other activities are available at the lobby. The staff would help you the book them for the one you keen. You can even bring brochures from others and they will do the same.

There are restaurants around the corner, 7-eleven if you need anything.

Absolutely awesome and we'll definitely go back for more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The rooms here aren't just rooms, they're like individual private suites. Each room only has one other room connected to it, so the risk of loud noise disruptions is minimal. The location is key if you want to relax and enjoy your privacy. It's right across the street from Karon Beach; about a 5-10 minute taxi ride from Patong, however, so if you're looking for the busy nightlife, you'll have to grab a cab. My only complaint would be the limited pool hours - I think it was only open from 10am-7pm. Food was good; plenty of options available at the breakfast buffet for all nationalities. Food is all covered to protect it from the bugs/birds. Beds are a little hard, but that's a personal preference thing so I really can't complain about that too much.

Room Tip: Pool front rooms actually have a ladder from the porch directly into the pool; however, it's onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The resort was amazing.i stayed in a pool access villa and staff service were prompt and exemplary.the hotel arranges everything from your tour needs to taxi services. It's also not so far from karon beach just 200m walk and ur there. I would definitely choose the same hotel on my next visit to Phuket. Also the royal spa is simply amazing and relaxing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I chose this resort as no children under the age of 12 are allowed. We don't like staying in hotels with screaming kids so it was HEAVEN. I would stay again. We were upgraded from a garden view to pool access and we loved it. The villa was spacious, clean, well thought out and private. The private pool access was excellent and the two person sized tub was fantastic. The only problem we had with this resort was the breakfast was medicore. We expected more selection, and the pastries, well, there was no pastries. Overall a brilliant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Resort and Spa

Address: 566 / 1 Patak Rd. | Karon Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#17 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Resort and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Karon
Village Hotel Karon
The Village Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.