We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time EVEN better than the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #12 of 69 hotels in Karon
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Second time EVEN better than the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at the Horizon Karon. It was better than the first visit as we got to stay longer. There has been a lot of changes made since we were there last year & all the changes have been for the better.
The staff, as usual, are absolutely marvelous. Nothing is too much trouble for them & their politeness, friendliness & attention to detail is astounding. The beds are still rock hard ( wife really loves ) so it took me a while to get a good nights sleep, please can we have softer beds. The food in the buffet is great ( if you haven't tried it, how can anyone call it "dodgy"). Not all the food will be to everyone's liking but there were always alternatives available or go to the Bounty Seafood Restaurant down the hill. If you can't be satisfied here STAY HOME as you won't be satisfied anywhere. Looking forward to going back again next year.
BTW - the extra couple of $$ to stay in the Privilege Club Wing (if you are over 18 and without kids) is sure worth it. SILENCE, apart from the birds, the monkeys in the trees and the nightly doorbell to make sure you are fine and whether you need your room sprayed for mozzies.
On a final note re the buffet meals - my wife has specific dietary needs and she actually PUT ON WEIGHT here - she is fine, fit and healthy - and VERY VERY relaxed after our stay. Can't wait to go back (AGAIN).......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    214
    78
    32
    17
See reviews for
229
263
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Kennedy, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrival 17th October, left 24 October, room 2209. Superior pool view room. As commented earlier, no stairs. For the first time in any hotel we have stayed at - no toothbrush or toothpaste provided. Bathroom - shower over bath put water all around the bath, so much so that it seeped through and down the wall into the next room where our bed was. Very bad!! Damp and terrible for an asthma sufferer. Water also went all around the bath when you had a shower, and then down onto the bathroom floor. We called up the maintenance people the first time we had a shower, but obviously this was pretty normal for the hotel. Consequently we didnt use the shower again for our stay as we were not happy to have water running down the bedroom wall coming through from the bathroom. We were provided with one toilet roll per day between two people - miserable, and 2 coffee sachets/2 creamers daily - miserable. The bath wasnt cleaned during our visit, just got greasier and greasier - first two days we left the cleaner a small tip, then when bath took on a life of its own in the grease, no further tips. Two pool towels a day provided, and new pool towels provided via room - not take the towels to the pool and swap there - miserable. Breakfast - good, standard for Asia. Dinner - we received complimentary vouchers as part of our package - standard varied at lot, but mostly okay. A bonus - one night traditional Thai dancing accompanied our dinner - that was wonderful. We enjoyed the beach being up a hill, and even though there is a free tuk tuk service up and down to the beach, we enjoyed the walk both ways. There is a great laundry next door to the hotel. The beach itself, nice, clean. Another positive - we saw the pool being frequently checked and attended too - sometimes we have spent a week in other hotels and never once seen anyone perform pool maintenance, just seen the pool deteriorate daily. The hotel is in a good place, as you can walk to Kata Beach via roadside markets, or up the other way to more markets in Karon. Another great thing about the stretch between Kata/Karon is that there is a frequent bus (you just hail it as you hear it approach) at 30 baht anywhere on route, that runs between Kata and Phuket town - very cheap, and while it takes ages to get from Kata to Phuket, who cares? you see lots and it is charming. I thought a couple of the staff in the hotel hung around for tips and I thought that the concierge who initially took up our bags to our room and who hung around and looked fed up when I told him I hadnt got the money sorted yet - looked sourly at us for the remainder of our stay. We do leave frequent small tips often, but never ever when we feel the person feels entitled. As other people have said - rock hard bed. The hotel wasnt AWFUL, but we have definitely stayed in much better hotels for the same money - next time we will try Katathani.

Room Tip: Watch out, no stairs. We didnt mind having a pool room, pleasant enough, but the air conditioner WA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We are a mature couple and not regular travellers. We stayed at Horizon Karon beach with our daughter and family for 10 days. Michelle and I were upgraded to the privilege wing at no cost. We had such a good time and were totally spoiled. The food is really good and the buffet dinner option is really worth it. The hotel is up the hill from the beach but this is good because it is above the Tsunani zone. To compensate for the hill problem the hotel provides free transport up and down the hill all day and until 9 at night (I think). All the hotel staff were happy to meet you and couldn't do enough for you when asked. We never swam at the beach preferring the hotel pools instead. Everything seems inexpensive in Thailand and it is the same with this hotel, even the minibar isn't too bad but restocking from a local minimart will save a little cash. The airconditioning really worked well and if set too high it really chilled the room. Only negatives were. No microwave cooker in room, Plenty of stairs and no lifts, cold food from room service and crackly room phone. Overall it was still a pretty good experience. Bear in mind we were there end of September through start of October and this was low season and not very busy. We didn't use the hotel spa. Sorry if this is a bit crap but I haven't reviewed anything before.

Room Tip: Privilege wing has bigger rooms and ensuite but kids are not allowed. If the stairs bother you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Hmmm not convinced

We stayed here a month or so ago because of an amazing deal we got on agoda which included a room in the privilege club wing, breakfast and dinner along with happy hour during the day. Worth a try.

Well the rooms were massive and I mean massive... Like you could fit a regular size apartment into the room... Was kinda silly actually but anyway. The pics on the website make this hotel look a fair bit better than it does in real life (which I suppose is the idea) but in reality it's a fairly dated place in a really dodgy location. From your balcony you overlook the shanty town looking next door block...not really what I want from a tropical resort.
We made the mistake of trying the included buffett dinner from our package, only once. Pretty bad..
Breakfast not much better, I wasn't game to eat any of the questionable dishes in the buffet and all of the fruit and cereal was COVERED in flies...
Only ate the waffles everyday as was the only thing that looked safe.

The bed is another story entirely.. I had no idea it was even possible to construct a bed which is so incredibly hard. Thats right people, not firm, not supportive just downright cement.
If you jumped on the bed you would end up with a bruised butt.
I ended up laying the sun bed cushion, on the bed just so I could get some sleep, to the amusment of my boyfriend.

Positives
-Service was great
-Complimentary tuk tuk down the hill to the main road great
- Happy hour fabulous

Overall pretty average experience however if you are on a tight budget and aren't particular on food quality or stone slab beds this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in October. We absolutley loved it. Starting with the service, all staff were very happy to help with whatever we needed. We had originally booked for the Horizon Wing, but were upgraded to the Privilege Club. It was lovely, our room was very clean, well presented and well furnished (and maybe most importantly, the air conditioner worked very well!) We were a little worried at first because the bed was very, very hard, but we ended up sleeping better than ever! I booked the hotel specifically because it was up on the hill (read - tsunami safe!). The tuk tuk service up and down the hill is fantastic, it is a quick walk up if the tuk tuk is unavailable for whatever reason. I enjoyed a massage at the lovely spa on site, but indulged in a massage a day at one of the massage places on the main road (at the bottom of the hill, turn right. It is called U2) - the ladies there were lovely! A great shuttle service is available from the hotel to it's sister hotel in Patong. Breakfast at the hotel is wonderful (as is the pool bar!). We had a wonderful time and would absolutely recommend this hotel. If I had to pick a negative (and this is a stretch) the wifi internet can be slightly temperamental, doesn't reach everywhere across the resort and is a little pricey at $30AUD for the week. Overall though, it was a great stay at a great hotel which is in a great location.

Room Tip: If you are travelling without children, book a room in the Privlege Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed Sept 12. I emailed ahead and asked for connecting room for my family and got them so happy with that. Staff more then helpful and friendly great rooms big clean. My sons enjoyed the gym each morning and the pool in the afternoon. The hill up and down is a good walk but all the food you eat you need to walk it off. Karon was a wonderful place to stay with a family quiet good shopping great food. The Horizon bus to Patong was so handy if you neeeded to go there. We loved our stay Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was mine and my 11 yr old daughter's first trip to Phuket. With travelled with a friend and her 17 yr old daugher. I called a few days earlier to confirm and ask if we could have rooms close to each other. I was told they were booked out but would see what they could do. We were so happy fo find that they had given us adjoining rooms, They were fantastic rooms on the first floor overlooking the pools. Perfect. Rooms 2106 & 2107. The staff were wonderful, the grounds beautiful, rooms spacious and clean. The food, WOW, so much to choose from and delicious.Perfect location for families not wanting to be in the heart of Patong. Close to shopping, great restaurants. Even though it is set on a hill from the beach there is a free tuk tuk service that we used regularily after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. There is also a free bus service from the hotel to Patong. Just make sure you book both ways. I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Karon
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#10 Family Hotel in Karon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy a luxurious, fabulous yet affordable vacation in Phuket by the beach? Indulge yourself in this beautiful, upscale resort with spa facilities at affordable prices. The resort is surrounded by nature and is spread over 16,000 sqm. of land and is like your own private paradise. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and its more relaxed and quiet setting is the preferred choice of families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Karon Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.