We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Karon Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great time at Centara Karon, travelling with a 3yo and 6yo. We stayed for 12 days.

We arrived to find that our pool cabana room was unavailable for the first two days. This was very disappointing as I had planned our travel dates around the availability of this room. The communication surrounding this was very disappointing. When we finally got to move to the cabana room, 2 days later, we were told of a move time and we planned our day around this, but then I went to check on the room (at the advised time) and accidentally walked in on its current guests - who told me the real moving time which was 1-2 hours later than advised. This wasted half our day as we had 2 laptops and passports in our room safe and didnt want to carry them around or leave them unattended. I wouldn't have minded the stuff up (in fact half expected it given earlier reviews) but did resent having my holiday time wasted especially when it was the fault of the hotel.

We asked for a late checkout - we paid 1000 baht for a very average room, behind the day spa, which seems to be reserved for late checkouts (you can get a similar room across the road for 650 baht). We weren't advised that it didn't have a room safe and weren't offerred alternatives, so ended up carrying our laptops etc around with us elephant trekking. Our luggage was moved to hotel lobby rather than to the new room so we had to go and get the stuff out that we needed - not a good look to be sorting through your suitcase by the road. Again, some communication in advance would have prevented the problem. I am not complaining, just warning other people so they don't get caught out. I think it was because the hotel was full.

Day spa was really nice but the therapeutic massage not very skilful, I would go for a more relaxing one next time and head down the rod for therapeutic. you can use the jacuzzi and steam room for free before your treatments if you ask. It make sit better value, and we got a 30% off voucher at check it. If you use that and Baht bonanza the spa treatments become good value.

Kids club: only 10 - 17 year olds can use the nintendo wii. It seems bizarre, my 6yo wanted to use it with her dad and they wouldn't let her, despite two consoles sitting there unused. The toys in the kids club are really suited to 3 year olds, my 3 yo loved it but we had to sit there for hours while he played with the staff. And my 6yo wasn't very keen on staying alone as there wasn't much to interest her, except the tv. It was very beauracratic. However the concierge staff will happily take your kids on a golf cart ride around the resort. They provided more entertainment than the kids club!

You can use the facilities at Centara Grand if you take your pool towel up there. You need to pay cash as room charge won't work. I asked two reception staff about this - one told me I would have to pay, one said it would be free. you can walk up the beach for 10 mins to get there, and we got a tuk tuk back for 200 baht. They have a lovely lobby with a waterfall too which is worth checking out. I think Centara Karon is much better for younger kids, Centara Grand was great for the afternoon but it would be very stressful for younger kids as you can't see the waterpark from the sun loungers.

I felt very safe with my 6yo and 3yo in the Centara Karon lagoon pool even when I couldn't see them all the time (visibility is blocked by the island), but they are competent swimmers. They could both use both water slides. I was worried they wouldn't be big enough for them. There is a slow one and a faster one.

There were lots of mozzies in the cabana courtyards. They provide an electric mozzie zapper but there is no outside power points. the cabanas really need a fan and mozzie zapper outside.

Everything else was great as per all the other reviews. We would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Sawasdee kookaburra3,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a comprehensive review. I am sorry to read your room wasnt available on arrival and the related communication issues to your room. I also note your other issues mentioned on kids club and agin I am sorry for these short comings but glad you did find some positives.
regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    664
    226
    83
    23
See reviews for
743
766
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Centara Karon Beach in a Tropicale room. The rooms a of good size but lack storage for a family for a 2 week holiday.
Our room is very dark, smells awfully mouldy and doesn't get any sun at any time if the day. To the point that swim attire doesn't dry and smells.
Considering this is the 'Premium' category of the resort the rooms are in desperate need of renovation.
I asked 3 times to move to a sunnier room to no avail.

The 'Lagoon' pool is in need of a filtering as you get covered in sunscreen when you get in it.

On an upside, most of the staff are lovely and very friendly and attentive. We are enjoying fantastic food in the restaurants and a really looking forward to a Thai cooking class this week.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear AkinomV,
Thanks for your note. I note you are inhouse and would love to help. I am sorry if your room is damp (we do have a de-humidifying machine on property) also we can provide a sunnier room, suggest 3rd floor rooms in Lagoon or Premium Deluxe get direct sunlight as well as rooms in our Terrace Tower. Please visit Front Office to see Khun Ann and I hope your room move will help the rest of your stay is enjoyable!
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for almost a week in March 2012, and have booked a return visit in October 2013. On arrival after midnight, we were greeted with smiles and a cool drink, and advised that we were upgraded from a Terrace room to a Tropicale one. No complaints from us! We had a lovely room with a veranda overlooking the pool up a flight of stairs (no elevators). Not recommended for people with trouble walking as it was at the rear of the complex and a pleasant walk from the main entrance. Suited us well however. We are hoping for an upgrade next visit, but will cope if we don't get one. You can use any of the 3 pools no matter where your room is in the complex.

Breakfast (included) was adequate and could be taken in either of the restaurants. We alternated for variety. The larger lotus restaurant had more choices, but the smaller one had a nicer atmosphere. We didn't eat other meals, apart from a poolside snack, in the resort as there are so many bars and restaurants nearby to choose from. The beach isn't far but we mostly stayed poolside.

Rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. Staff always smiling, and I can't recall having any language difficulties. We are looking forward to our return visit as it is an ideal place to chill and relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Sawadee Ali21_10,
Thank for your sharing your last experience on Trip Advisor. Great to see you have rebooked for October, enjoy your vacation!
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at Karon Resort for one week at start of June. Room was okay and cleaned daily. Bed was a little hard for our liking. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Several times there was very little selection left when we arrived even though we were always there before 10 o clock. The most off putting aspect for us about the resort were the amount of rats running around, the street outside the resort was also overrun with rats day and night! Will not be back to Phuket for this reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Sawasdee Kensonthego,
Thanks for providing feedback from your recent stay. Great to read staff as very friendly and helpful. Sorry to hear of a rodent problem in the streets near the resort and your feedback will be passed on.
Safe Travels
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The Centara is in a great spot close to restaurants and convenience stores nearby. It is a 5 min walk to the beach but we prefer to be poolside and the ocean is dangerous in June anyway. We stayed in a deluxe lagoon room on the ground floor which was perfect with our two littlies (3 and 1) needing day sleeps and the proximity of the room to the pool (only a few metres away). Happy hour is buy 1, get the same drink for free between 5-7 at the lagoon pool (other pools had different times I think). The prices are only reasonable during this time and most guests avoided the pool bar during other times eg 220 baht per cocktail or 130 baht for a can of singha (singha's are only 34 baht at the convenience stores just outside the resort. The lagoon pool was great with two slides, tunnel and bridge and was hours of fun for the kids. There is also a kids club but our kids were too young (4+ only) and you can't even have them participate in activities even if you are with them (they can only watch the adult play with lego for example - very odd). The playground is also good. The pool meals are ok and there is happy half ice cream 60baht between 2-3pm (buy one scoop, get one free - can be different flavour in separate pottle). The staff are very friendly and love kids but lack a little attention at times e.g. You need to swap a card to get pool tools but the place to get them is never staffed and guests had to check there cards in and out themselves. The breakfasts are good with a lot of variety and the banana roti on every other day are great! It is such a shame that greedy people pile up their plates and then leave most of the untouched food on their plates, in a poor country like thailand it is very very disrespectful. We celebrated 3 birthdays during our 15 night stay and received one free cocktail for one birthday only once we told them. In most resorts they organise something or provide a little something without being prompted since they take our passports with these details anyway. We purchased a birthday cake for my 3 year old from a shop called 'birthday cakes and coffee' up around the corner past the temple for 400 baht, it was decorated in a lovely kids theme. There is a market at the temple twice a week which is not bad but the best shopping is at OTOP market in Patong, it is hard to get a Tuk Tuk/ Taxi for less than 400 baht.
All in all, we had a great time at Centara and would definitely stay again, it was clean, convenient and kid friendly. Remember to sign up for the Centara 1 card ( do it online before you go) and then give your membership number to reception as you will have free unlimited wifi.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Sawasdee Jenna B,
Thanks for providing readers with a review from your recent stay. Great to read how much you enjoyed the resorts convenient location as well as the great value happy hour. Great to see your recomendation for Centara The One Card advantages.
Safe Travels
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in the Centara for 10 days at the beginning of June in an Ocean View Superior Terrace room and from day one we had a flawless experience. When we arrived at the hotel, rather than have to stand around and wait to be seen, we were sat down and given a drink whilst we completed the obligatory forms, then we were shown to our room by a very nice member of the reception staff.

We didn’t expect too much from our room as we had read previous reviews, however we were more than pleasantly surprised by it. The room was light and airy and was spotlessly clean; being an end room (1721) we had a balcony to the front and a very large floor to ceiling window to the side giving us a fantastic view from our bed. The room was very quiet and we heard very little noise from other guests or from the bars and restaurants in the streets opposite that we overlooked. The room was ocean view although the ocean isn’t really close, however you can see it and the sunset from our balcony was spectacular.

We didn’t eat dinner in the restaurants however we ate breakfast every morning in the Lotus Restaurant which was exceptionally good with something to suit every taste. The only issue we had was the plain omelette we wanted was made in the same frying pan as one that had been cooked with ham however when this was mentioned to the chef, he instantly went away and cooked the plain omelette in the kitchen on its own. All of the staff in the restaurants were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble which we found to be the same for all staff throughout the hotel.

The grounds and pool areas were impeccably clean and tidy throughout our stay, the pool areas were swept daily and there was the added bonus of having hotel towels to use at the pool so you didn’t have to use your own. If there is any negative to be said about the pool area, it is that it was swept quite late in the morning around 10am rather than first thing however this was not an issue, just an observation.

There was a slight niggle we had which was the fact that the hotel only allows ½ hour of free Wi-Fi per day and would only work on one device even though each room must have a minimum of 2 people staying with a device each; however we didn’t go on holiday to go on the internet, we just used it to keep in touch with family at home and as we were on honeymoon, we didn’t want to spend all day surfing the net!

As I am sure you can tell, there are very few negatives I can find to say about the Centara but if I had to force myself to find some, it would be the frying pan in the restaurant, the pool area being swept and the WI-FI only being on one device per room but I feel I have had to force myself to find these tiny negatives. The Centara is a hotel we would definitely go to again, it was faultless and for us the perfect honeymoon hotel with happy friendly helpful staff.

Imtiyaz

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Sawasdee Impys,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a comprehensive review for TA readers. Some of your points are quite valid and provide excellent feedback that i can share with the team both complimentary and areas to improve. I hope to see you return in the near future.
regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Centara Hotel Karon is a beautiful resort but we were checked into the wrong style of room. After arguing got shifted to another room which had the benfits that we had paid for. The main thing that was missing was a sunken spa and private terraced tropical garden. There wasn't any explanations about location of anything and upon asking a 99% of the reception staff could not communicate in English. Breakfast was beautiful each day but eating out at night to reduce expenditure.

Room Tip: Make sure when you check in that you get the right accommodation and benefits. Itdoesn't help w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Wendy S,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear of an issue with your room type upon arrival. Do feel free to contact us direct to discuss specifics as we would like to address properly. I am disappointed that management was not aware and unable to assist at the time with this inconvenience.
Apologies
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Karon
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Karon Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.