We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Karon Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Cumbria
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in early December in a Terraces Room. We had an end room with a large picture window at one side and a balcony. It was our anniversary (and we had told them and taken our wedding certificate) but didn't get any special treats like we did in other hotels during our trip (fruit, chocolates, cake, towel animals!). The room was pleasant and clean, with a good sized bathroom with walk in shower (no bath). Our toilet had a leak which we reported but it was not fixed during our stay. There's a bit of noise in the room at night from the bars around the hotel.

The grounds are lovely. The terrace pool had some work going on which was a bit noisy, so we just moved to another pool area. The bar was nice, and sold a good margherita. The happy hours were confusing - different rules in different areas, a consistent approach would help. You could get buy one get one free on a can of beer, but not on a bucket of beer - I couldn't see the difference.

Breakfast was good - again no fresh fruit juice which is disappointing.

There are lots of Russians and Scandinavians using the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Sawasdee SheilasWheels,
Thanks for staying at Centara Karon Resort. Im pleased you provided your feedback and also it was nice to read you enjoyed your anniversary in a variety of places. We do offer a gesture for a wedding anniversary however usually on the day of the anniversary if you are staying with us at the time. Im delighted you enjoyed the grounds. Happy hour is a fairly simple concept its 2 for 1, you are welcome to use baht bonanza to make it cheaper.
Safe Travels
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    735
    258
    90
    27
See reviews for
844
823
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked a king size bedroom and were escorted to a room with two single beds stuck together ( who ever thought of that?). We had to ask for a room with a proper king bed and were pleased to know we were upgraded to a room on the 8th floor facing karon beach. The view was great, we could see the water while laying in our bed. The rooms in general are very clean and everything in it worked. It was very outdated and in need of renovations... It had a "walking wardrobe" which was dark and narrow. A bit of a waste of space.
Disappointed that The wifi is not included and its a bad connection.
The staff were immensely friendly, always greeting you. Smiling and helpful. We spent some time with a group of the staff at the nye party at karon beach. It was very nice they approached us and asked us if we wanted to join them, of course we did.

We never had any food in the resort so I can't comment on the food, all I knew is that for that price I could have two breakfasts somewhere else in town, same with drinks. If you stay here go and explore those street vendors they have great Thai food for a quarter of the price. Don't settle for hotel food...follow the locals !

The only food we had at the resort was the "compulsory" NYE dinner, food was average and we had a good laugh with the karaoke style performances.

Overall it was a nice stay, it was great staying away from Patong but close enough( 20 mins) to go for a day or two to explore that side too.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Sawasdee Miguel M,
Thank you for providing your thoughts on your recent stay. Im delighted we were able to provide a free upgrade and the bedding you like. Im pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful. Im sorry you didnt try the restaurants in the resort and elected to eat vendor food as we do provide some excellent dining options and at a reasonable price.
Safe Travels
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Before writing my review I thought i would read some reviews from other people. I cannot believe that some of these stayed at the same hotel as we did!!
I think to a certain extent you get back from people what you give!!

Even during the booking process, we booked direct - we received prompt and informative responses to our emails. (I am still waiting for replies from the Centara Grand!!) We did go back and for a few times to explore all the options but this did not seem to matter.

This was our second visit to the Centara Karon and I would go back again and again if it wasn't so far.
Firstly, the location is great. Hotel has enough of a frontage that you are not right on the street but just out of the hotel grounds and you are a short walk to the beach or the shops and restaurants which all adds to the wonderful atmosphere of Karon Beach. However, when you are in the hotel or at the pool you could be anywhere and the only noise we experiences was of our fellow hotel guests which you expect when you stay at a family resort.
We stayed in rooms beside the Lagoon Pool and for the second year our special request of ground floor interconnecting rooms was met. We also had a fabulous welcome with the Bell boy from last year recognising us and a beautiful 'Welcome Back' message spelt out in petals and leaves on our beds, along with a Card signed by the staff, together with not one but two plates of fruit delivered to our rooms. This made us feel special.
The staff were Happy, Smiling and Helpful with the guests and each other.
Breakfast was good, busy if you left it late but there was always the option of eating at the Azure Restaurant if this was the case. It was nice to be taken to a table and coffee or tea normally followed shortly afterwards. We ate in most restaurants and food was good with a nice mix of Western and Thai. The food for the kids was great and it was nice that an age limit was not put on their menu as our children are not big eaters and the meals were just enough, if we had been forced to buy adult meals half of it would have been wasted. The Pool Party BBQ Night and Wok night were also good and excellent value.
The activity program was good for the kids, as was the fitness center where they could go and play pool, table tennis etc. The kids club was being renovated but a temporary area had been set up to accomodate for thsi and the outdoor kids area had been upgraded from last year and covered over to give more shade and protection from the sun.
Baht Bonus is great and worth doing if you plan to use the Spa or eat and drink in the hotel.
Rooms were of a good size and well maintained. They were clean and the housekeeping staff accomodating when the little one was sleeping.
I think the bottom line is that we cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Staying with young children - Stay at the Lagoon Wing you are near breakfast and if lucky enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Sawasdee (Hello) SEBrown65,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Khob Khun Kha (Thank you)
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Firstly, this is Thailand not the UK so don't expect everything to run smoothly. What you get with is hotel is an excellent location and facilities. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the standard of the rooms/food/cleanliness are also very good.
We spent thirteen nights in a terrace room. The reception staff were not that great on check in and lost our email for our request which was a little annoying.
The room,1503, was excellent and cleaned to a high standard every day and was well positioned close to the lift .
We chose to take the Baht Bonanza (deposited 10000 baht and received 15000 baht credit). This was a good decision as we used the Terrace pool and Mix bar as well as the various food outlets including room service. My wife also used the Spa facilities and found this to be of a high standard.
The three swimming pools were excellent as were the manicured gardens. Breakfast was plentiful and of an excellent variety
The hotel was full of couples and families mostly from Australia and the atmosphere around the hotel was very friendly.
This was my 13th trip to Thailand and this was without doubt the best value for money hotel I have stayed in. It is not the Laguna standard at Bang Tao Beach, but is much better value for money.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it for couples and families.

Room Tip: If your with the family close a room close to the family lagoon pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Sawasdee Trudster,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide Trip Advisor readers your thoughts on your recent stay. With so many readers on a forum such as this, feedback for both potential holiday makers and us the resort is important. Whilst we strive to improve our shortcomings it is equally appreciated to receive reviews re-enforcing our efforts, such as yours. I look forward to sharing your thoughts with the team.

Kind Regards
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Are you people crazy?. I've been to Thailand 3 times & every time I have stayed at this resort and I will do so again when I come back over in august with my friends. There is nothing wrong with the place. The people are amazing, the place it's self is beautiful & and there is nothing wrong with the food. If your going to complain about things like this then don't travel. But if you do this is the place to stay!. Thank you for the wonderful to time!.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Sawasdee Melljohnstone,

It's pleasure to read your review and hear that you have enjoyed your returning for third times. We all were happy to make your holiday again on the smiles. We hope to welcome you and your family back and will make your stay on smiles again!

Wishes all you the best.
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

stayed here over xmas, had a great time .we had a room in the terrace building which was neat and tidy,ours was on the end so these are a larger room than normal with a huge picture window on one side aswell as patio doors to balcony,there was some noise from nearby bars at night which was annoying if you wanted an early night,so ask for a room facing the hills if you want it quiet,upper floors 4 and above have sea views wich you have to pay more for (500 bht per night ) about £10,we did,nt bother as we don,t spend alot of time in our room ,we like to get out as much as possible, breakfast was great there was something for everyone, english, continental,american and asian you would have to be pretty fussy not to find something you liked.pool area,s were clean and daytime snacks were good and reasonable price,gardens and communal areas were well kept.staff were always helpfull with the ever present thai smile,beach is five minutes away and lovely white sands and water warmer than the hotel pools ! lots of restaurants just outside the hotel,thai food is amazing and cheap! don,t be afraid to try the street vendors for satays and pad thai, pancakes and fruit,wedid many times with no tummy upsets, if you get chance go to phi phi island it cost us 1550 baht (£31) for one night stay including breakfast and taxi and ferry travel there and back,it really is a lovely place,hire one of the local long boats to take you snorkelling and around the coves, so go and enjoy thailand we did !

Room Tip: tropicle rooms are probably the quietest/terrace rooms have sea views but some street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Sawasdee Jonas S,
Thanks for staying with us at Centara Karon Resort and we appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay especially that you found breakfast great and offering something for everyone as well as our staff were always friendly with that famous Thai smile! You have added some nice tips about going to Phi Phi and getting around the caves on the cheap, that readers will appreciate. Sorry to read of the noise nearby as this time of year the nearby restaurants and bars are quite lively. Our Lagoon, Cabana and Tropicale rooms are always quiet. I look forward to your return.
Best Wishes
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We picked this hotel based on location as we wanted to explore the Karon/Patong and general Phuket areas. We booked through Trailfinders and they advertise this hotel as a 3+ star which I think is the right level, if you tell people its a 4 star, thats when they start getting disappointed I think.
On arrival in the evening, we were greated by smiling staff and given cold drinks/towels whilst being checked in. It was that quick that we didn't have time to finish our drinks which is good (in a way) as you just want to get in when you get there!
We stayed in a Lagoon Deluxe room and this was very large, simply furnished but clean, which is what we were expecting. The bathroom was also large with a decent pressured shower. They did offer us the baht bonanza but we didnt take it as we ate out every night.
Our room was cleaned well every day, the staff were all lovely and the breakfast was good, yes it was a bit same same after a week but there was still plenty of choice. I also thought that for a hotel drinks and food prices were reasonable, yes they are less outside but you are paying for the convenience.
The 3 pool areas were great, even though we travelled as a couple we generally stayed around the lagoon pool as this was more lively. Yes there were loads of kids but there were just playing. We tried the tropix pool and it seemed very crammed in.
Outside of the hotel, it has everything you can wish for. We tried the Bamboo house which was lovely for food but didn't try 2 chefs as it was mainly western food and I dont go on holiday to Thailand to eat that but it did look like a nice restaurant. We tried one on a side street by the beach called Gings, this was past the Karon Mall going away from the main resort and up a side street, we only found it on our last night in Karon but it was lovely, very honest staff too as she told us when she thought we were ordering too much and not many places would say that!

Overall, we are already planning on coming back to here for a holiday, this was the first of 2 very good weeks of holiday and I can't wait to visit again -the area and the hotel

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are great for all but we preferred having a balcony so that it stops some of the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Sawasdee dinglenoam,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review.
Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you cannot wait to return to Phuket and our resort. Your comment on star rating does vary from country to country however I suggest consider location, room rate, resort facilities, service standards, package inclusions and accomodation standards when determining whether what you paid was a reflection of your value for money. Our resort offers several different room categories and the rate will vary accordingly.
Best Wishes
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Karon
#5 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Karon Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.