We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round hotel for the money A1 Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Karon Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 73 hotels in Karon
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent all round hotel for the money A1 Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent all round hotel for the money,

We (2 adults, 2 children 7& 3) Stayed fro two weeks in late October.
Hotel Service was Excellent. Breakfast good for a 4 star hotel, plenty of fruit, cereals, hot options eggs ect.

Pool food was of a very high standard around the lagoon pool as it came from the restaurant.

Take the Bhat Bonanza as it work out to be good value.

The only thing that let the hotel down and this is a little niggle as I work in hotels was the housekeeping.
Rooms sometimes did not get made. Towels were often not left or not enough. The general cleaning of the public corridors and stairwells felt a little neglected.

Would we come back though? Most defiantly, as the location and hotel offered so much variety. We always felt safe and welcome.

Room Tip: Lagoon for families but note No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Sawasdee Welltraveledgent,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay.
I did appreciate the lovely comments on the food at breakfast and poolside being of a high standard. Sorry about the housekeeping niggles you expereinced, we certainly will share your comments and work harder to improve in this area.
Kind Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    827
    571
    201
    78
    20
See reviews for
640
680
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Centra Karon Resort, and could find nothing to complain about. Rooms large and comfortable, efficient air conditioning, great view. There are 3 beautiful pools at the resort, and play areas for children. Only downside was that we were a 10 min walk from the beach, but on the other hand we were very close to restaurants, bars and shops. For what it cost at the Centara, we were more than happy. Just one thing....there's an Irish bar across the road which is definitely NOT worth a visit. There's nothing Irish about it. Poor service without a smile, no music, no Irish staff, absolutely nothing to recommend it. There are plenty of other lively places to go to, so give the Irish bar a miss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee MarieroseLondon,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future?

Safe Travels
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I have stated at Centara Karon Resort 8 times now I would recommend this hotel to people. Good is amazing, staff are so friendly, kids club brill. We even got married there 4 years ago and the day was amazing they organised it perfectly we are very much looking forward to going back in march 2013 for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee Jakwheeler,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Take Care
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Plenty of choices when it comes to rooms. Book the best you can afford. The Cabanas are excellent. We were there with 50 others for a wedding. The people are good and the service is good. The dining choices are varied and the quality of food is good. The "Mix Bar" is outdated and they need a quieter lounge bar with tables. The business centre was not used and could be a useful public area/bar. The lack of free Internet is an issue. Giving residents 20 minutes a day with a load of bureaucracy attached is ridiculous. The Azure restaurant is better than the Lotus one. The Baht Bonanza locks you in by loading extra cash onto a deposit you provide at the beginning of the holiday. They encourage you to spend with them rather than the local bars and restaurants....it works, However, we found the buffet we ordered to be expensive. £4.54 per Lamb Chop as an example. The girls complained about the nail service provided by the SPA, however the treatments were all excellent. Although their English is reasonable, their comprehension is terrible. Check they understand your requirements, we had a couple of poor experiences with catering and taxis that detracted from the holiday.

Room Tip: Cabanas are great. The Lagoon pool rooms are very good. The Terraces are tired and should be avoided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear NickMBedford,
Thank you for taking the time to provide another review on your recent stay.
I am delighted you did find your accomodation excellent with many choices, the quality of dining was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful.
I am sorry you were still able to find so many negatives. If I can share a few thoughts,
-We have 5 different bars at our resort, we really dont need another one quiet bar, also there are plenty outside our gates if you want a another type.
-The free email checking or free wifi when you have a drink in The Mix is your choice and you are welcome to try internet elsewhere. Please note Thai Law requires us to record all Internet users. I am sorry for the inconvenince you expereinced here.
-Baht Bonanza is an option for you and if you dont want it , dont buy it. So many guests love the great savings and we always recieve many positive comments.
- You found the buffet to be expensive and quoted a £4.54 per Lamb Chop. As with all buffets the more you eat the better value it is. There is so many dining options both at the resort as well as local establishments, that you can purchase the best option that suits your budget.
-I am sorry you found Thai people had reasonable English but their comprehension terrible. Thai's do work hard to learn English but we must remember the national language is Thai, and they deal with many non English speaking visitors too. Perhaps carry a phrase book when you move around the region to assist their communication deficiencies?
Thanks for your comments. We certainly take on board the areas we can improve and I hope you will visit the beautiful shores of sunny Thailand again.
Kind Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked into Centara Karon for our honeymoon, on arrival we decided to upgrade to the Cabbana rooms, we are so glad we did the hotel rooms were lovely well decorated clean and spacious, but the cabbana just added that special touch. The hotel staff were brilliant so friendly and helpful and always had a smile. Everything about this hotel was great the location close to the bars and shops and not far from the beach, the rooms were lovely and staff were helpful would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Gilbert545,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Your thoughts and suggestions will help readers to make an informed decision on their next holiday destination.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kob Khun Kah
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights, on our arrival we asked about upgrading our rooms which were advertised on the monitors at reception. We could of had a cabana but would of had to move out for 2 nights in the middle of our stay and move in again possibly to a different one. Also advertised were the Tropical Deluxe, which we had together with the cabana had tried to book originally, but these had all been block booked for the season by the TUI Tour operator, so why advertise them if they are not available?

The hotel grounds are well maintained, the staff friendly and excellent as expected of the wonder Thai people, special mention to the staff at the Azure restraunt were we had breakfast each morning and most lunches.

Also used the hotel Spa once, although more expensive than the street, it's the best full body massage I ever had, well worth it.

Our room was large but sparsely furnish with not enough storage or even hangers within the wardrobe, the uses of vinyl silk wall paint also did nothing for the aesthetics and the furniture and wooden shelving unit which appeared pointless looked tired. The staircases to the floor which we were on the top third floor are a bit grim and stone dashed concrete floors are stained and tiled flooring be easier on the eye and clean.

The area outside the hotel hotel is a commercial area, if you go out the hotel and down the first street to the left half way down there is a tailor to the right of Tons Travel, AVOID HIM, if you value your money, a number of our party ordered items from him initially all friendly and nice, but the goods were shoddy, and when some of our party cancelled their order, owing to the quality of the service his constant false promises and wrote off their deposit, where threatened, and confronted on checking out by this man demanding the remaining payment. Although this was not the hotels fault, do not think professional of the hotel to give out information about their guests and their departure, which they obviously had. This wonderful gentleman then spat at our vehicle as we past his shop, so beware.

Other shops and places to eat we're fine although busy, recommend the two chefs for good food and entertainment

Room Tip: As for mattress topper as beds hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Sawasdee Mikeyk64,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts with readers. Fantastic to read so many of your positive comments on the beautiful hotel grounds and landscaping, the best body massage you have ever had and our wonderful and friendly staff, especially during breakfast and lunch.
I am delighted to provide a follow up comment on your issues mentioned.
The Premium Deluxe rooms are advertised because we sell them. Availability is limited when fully sold but the same can be said for any room category. Our reception staff can advise availability at any stage during your stay.
I am sorry you didnt like the room decore especially the outdoor staircase. Our housekeeping team can assist with more coathangers if requested.
I was surprised to read of your encouter with a local tailor. Firstly we recommend the tailor based in the resort, his prices are competitive and his quality and reputation is very good not to mention convenient. Secondly if you enter an arrangement with a local vendor ie place a deposit, he does the work and delivers you the product, then you change your mind, its a fair chance he probably will be upset as he is out of pocket and operating on low margins. We do not give out any details on any guests. If you visited a shop in the street our resort is located, then there is a good chance he will guess you stay at Centara.
I hope you return to beautiful Thailand one day!
regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First trip to Thailand with the wife and two kids (11 & 14) in tow. Having read many reviews, the Centara Karon Resort was just what we were looking for for a family getaway. We were originally booked in the Terraces (Tower) and unfortunately, after requesting side by side or preferably inter-connecting rooms were were allocated two rooms, some 4 doors apart, not great with young kids!. Anyway, the next morning we enquired at reception as to other room availabilities and the staff were very accommodating in moving us to the Lagoon rooms which were larger, inter-connecting, and right next to the Lagoon Pool which was great for the kids. The upgrade cost around $600 AUD for 10 nights but was worth every cent.
As others have written, we also took advantage of the Baht Bonanza that gave us a 50% loading on our initial credit of 10000 THB, meaning we had 15000 THB to spend on food and drink around the resort, was great for a quick bite or to take advantage of 1/2 price drinks at Happy Hour at the pool bar.
This was a great value place to stay. close to plenty of restaurants and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. I would have no hesitation staying here again if we are lucky enough to return to Thailand.

Room Tip: Ground floor in the Lagoon area was brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee AUSSIETRAVELLER23_8,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Take Care
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Karon
#5 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Karon Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.