We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book Cabana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Save Saved
You added Centara Karon Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 73 hotels in Karon
sunderland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Book Cabana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is a reasonable hotel well situated only a few minutes walk from all the nightlife and everything that goes with being in Thailand though from a personal point of view i found it very commercial, its about a ten minute walk from the very very congested beach. The food is very good and the staff are typical of the wonderful Thai people very friendly and polite.We stayed in a cabana which was very spacious with an outside shower and jacuzzi two king size beds a flat screen tv, a dvd player a complimentary bowl of fruit, free canopes and cocktails on an evening and free room service which was exceptional. Friends who we holiday'd with stayed in the blocks the rooms were rather sparce and they described walking up the stairs as walking up a multi story car park without the smell of pee, that said the rooms were clean. All in all a nice place to visit if you like the hustle and bustle and plenty of nightlife but i wont be going back to phuket give me koh pangan anyday.

Room Tip: choose a cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Sawasdee SundalandPgj,
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Great to read your comments on our wonderful and friendly staff, the very good food in our restaurants as well as how accomodating our Cabana room is.
Your description of the Terrace tower rooms was silly but almost amusing!
Safe Travels
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    827
    571
    201
    78
    20
See reviews for
640
680
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Arrival
Our first time in Thailand and we loved every minute of this holiday! Would highly recommend this hotel and staying in Karon. Arrived at the Centara Karon Resort and was greeted with a welcome drink. The hotel reception staff don't speak great Engish but enough to get by. On arrival they asked to take credit card details and passports but don’t worry about this, you don’t get charged for anything. The reception was very impressive and it didn't take long to get sorted and escorted to our room.

Rooms
I was pleasantly surprised with our rooms as they didn't look anything special on the Trip Advisor pictures but they were much nicer than expected. Nice modern rooms, Panasonic flat screen Tv, a few decent channels,clean comfy bed, marble bathroom and plenty of space. We upgraded to the lagoon rooms and we are glad we did although I don’t think you would have any problems in the terrace rooms we just preferred the look of the lagoon wing. We were very close to reception and the center of Karon, it only took us a few short minuets to walk to the restaurants, shops and bars from our room.

Pool
Although we stayed in the lagoon wing we preferred the terrace pool because it was quieter and there were not as many kids. The pool area was lovely to relax, no problems getting sunbeds and towels always available. The surrounding gardens were immaculate.

Breakfast
The breakfast was nice and varied. There was something for everyone from pancakes, waffles, toast, beans, egg, omelet ect. There were so many fantastic, cheap restaurants in Karon that we never felt the need to eat in the hotel restaurants.

Weather
We stayed at the end of rainy season – October 23rd – November 6th, w had 7 days of constant sunshine and no rain, the next 7 days were still lovely but we had a bit of rain in the morning and in the night. Don’t worry though, there is so much to do even when it’s raining!

Hotel Prices
It is true that the hotel charged about double the price for everything compared to eating out locally. A bottle of beer was about £2.60 however outside the hotel a beer was between £1.20- £2.00 depending on where you go. This was not a problem for us we just decided not to buy anything from the hotel. If you take advantage of the money offer then it probably works out the same price as eating locally.

Eating out
Karon has plenty of places to eat great food. We tried different restaurants every day and always had a fantastic meal. Good places to eat include Bamboo, Two Chefs, Demarios, Papaya, Karon Seafood, Angus OTools, Karon Pizza (best pizza I have ever had), Green Chillies and the list goes on. My favorites were Bamboo & Two Chefs – they were very classy, amazing food and Two Chefs had the best entertainment in Karon. The Thai food is unbelievable – green, red, yellow curry, rice, pad thai, tom yum soup, deep fried prawns!... Also try the banana pancake stall, they are very cheap and delicious. Food is very cheap usually about £5 each for lunch/dinner. Drinks were more expensive however local beer (Singa, Chang, Tiger) were very cheap (60baht-100baht) and even cheaper at the supermarkets (30baht). Two Chefs did a fantastic frozen Margarita for 95 baht (less than £2). Good Tip - Eat at places that look busy! We didn’t go to Patong as we had heard it was not very nice but we did go to Kata (via Tuk Tuk 200baht) which I would highly recommend.

Karon Beach
It only took a few minutes to get the beach from the hotel and the beach was beautiful! I have read mixed reviews about the beach before I came and wasn’t sure what to expect but after seeing it I don’t really know how anyone can complain. Crystal clear water, white sand that squeaks when you walk on it and fantastic scenery – what more could you ask for? It was very clean and sunbeds were reasonable (200baht a pair for the day - £4). At the end of October the sea was very calm and we were able to do some good snorkeling at the end of the beach near the rocks.

Trips & things to do
There is soo much to do in Thailand. I would highly recommend Ko Phi Phi, James Bond Islands, Elephant trekking and our favorite Similan Islands where we swam with sea turtles. If the tour guides are a bit late picking you up don’t worry it seems to be the norm, we waited 45 minutes one morning but the hotel staff assured us that this was normal. We also had a thai massage but be warned this is not like a western massage and we were a bit surprised that we were being walked on and pulled to pieces, it was defiantly an experience. We also tried the feet fish which was good. Don’t miss the temples that are literally a 5min walk from the hotel just up the road from red onion. Good tip – book trips at the local stalls, preferably ones that look busy. We booked all of our trips via a stall ran by a group of girls across the road from karon sea food but a bit further down towards the beach and had no issues.

To be aware of
Thailand has a lot of power cuts and whilst we were there we experienced 2 separate power cuts that affected the whole of Karon including the hotel, this was not a problem just something we didn't expect. .

Overall experience was unbelievable, loved Thailand, the people and the food. Felt very safe in Karon as it was filled with tourists from all over the world. Will definitely return but will go backpacking next time as would like to see more of Thailand.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee xdominicanx,

It was a pleasure to read your review and know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Centara Karon Resort. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future?

Safe Travels
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The centara karon was the best holiday and kids loved it no complaints where are going back next year. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are kept very clean. The location is perfect if you have kids not to busy and only 5 min to the beach

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Honeypy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Your thoughts and suggestions will help readers to make an informed decision on their next holiday destination. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kob Khun Kah
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

well we finally arrive at are hotel the centara karon at about 7.30pm are first impressions were wow this looks nice, we were greeted by the bell boys out front and they took are laugage out of the minivan for us and kept an eye on it whilst we checked in, we went up the steps to reception and told them that we would like to check in,the lovely staff promptley showed us to some very comfertable chairs and brought us all a nice cold towl and a drink as it was increadable hot even at that time of night, i was called back to the desk and asked for my voucher i didnt know what they were on about but when we worked it out it turned out that i forgot to print one out so i had to use there computer to do so this took abit of time and we were very tied, anyway apart from that the check in was very good and as much as other people have said that there was a bad languge problem i didnt find this i was expecting this to be a problem but as far as im concened all the staff under stood and spook very good english all be it with a bit of eye squinting but we got there in the end, anyway we were shown to our rooms we asked for top floor interconecting rooms over looking the lagoon pool and that was excactley what we got, the rooms were very spacious and very clean and tidey my first impression was omg they are lovley if not perfect in every way,again all those that dare to run this hotel down dont deseve to take a holiday, the lovely lady bow i think her name was sorry if i got it wrong, she show every thing along the way to the room and showed how to use the safe wich was also included in the price of the room not extra, and she took her shoes of when entering the room as did all the staff that had to go in the room, i thought this was very respectful and was much apprecated, anyway we were left to enjoy the hotel and are holiday and every aspect of it was fantasic, we were treated exseptionaly well buy all the staff, from cleaners, to resturant to reception staff, we had lots of big smiles and sawadee ka/krap, from all staff, it was my wifes 40th birthday whilst we were there and the hotel put up balloons around are table for breakfast, total memerable and nice i almost started crying my wife was very toutched all day long people were saying happy birthday to her, but that might have something to do with the huge great badge i made her wear all day funny though, the grounds to the hotel are huge and very well maintained by the ground staff who worked very hard in the heat to keep them looking that way thankyou to you for that, as it was very hot there,the cleaners done a exceptional job every day cleaning are rooms all ways left water, and on my wifes birthday they put happy birthday on are bed in petals, lovely the breakfast was outstanding every day there was something different and the omlets that was made to order were fluffy and very tastey, as was all the food that we had there, the hotel i found was centraly located to the beach and all ameantys, i.e shops resturants, and such like, the two weeks that we spent in karon and the hotel we ate at various resturants, and not once did any of us have a upset tummy in any way, my hat goes off to all the hotel and all the resturants that we ate at, the three pools at the hotel were cleaned every morning by the pool cleaner we watched him working every day as we awake early we didnt want to miss a minute of this holiday, so much i did go to bed till about 1am and was awake by about 6am nearly every day but worth every second, im sorry to go on abit but this hotel deserves the best i can give it, any way im sure there is alot more i could write but i cant think but i think ive given you all a good idea on what to expect here, and please dont listen to the moaners on here as like i said, if they moan about a hotel like this in a tropical country they dont deserve a holiday any were to me and my family this hotel was a 4 star hotel when i think it should be a 5 star because that is the service we got and ive stayed at a 5 star hotel and didnt get service like this hotel gave us. so id like to say a BIG thankyou to all the staff at the centara karon and i will deffinetly be back in the future, and again that means something as i have never stayed at the same hotel twice, we were very sad to have to go. highly recomended A1 hotel, oh and sorry about the spelling mistakes. :):):):):)

Room Tip: a tip for the room cleaner goes a long way and just be happy and smile just like the thais any promb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Sawasdee clive061267,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Take Care
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked April for November stay in Superior Oceon View Terrace but on arrival at 1.30 am we were told we had been given upgrade , very nice we thought until daylight arrived and we were in a tropical setting overlooking pool and no oceon views .We live in Australia we have a tropical backyard but we dont have oceon views that is why we book oceon views .Went to reception to complain and were told no other room available until next day so really they did not have the room available that we booked when we arrived and the next available room wasnt even the one we had booked .We were really dissappointed as we had stayed at the Centara Grand Karon in March and no trouble with our booking .We are in our sixties and although fit we were having to climb 48 stairs up to the room .The staff however were very pleasant and helpful and the room was pleasant but I think whoever deals with bookings should get their act together.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the back end of resort in terraces or cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Sawasdee Isabella1819,
Thanks for your comments and I am sorry you did not like your stay. Isabella1819, usually when we upgrade a room from Superior to Premium Deluxe guests are very happy! I am sorry you were not happy with the upgrade and you are correct, your room type should have been available upon arrival. I will brief my staff to be more careful when allocating rooms and also to whom they provide free upgrades.
Should you decide to stay with us again, do contact me directly and I will help with allocating your room.
Best Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel!! We stayed here as a couple for 8 nights in November before heading onto Krabi, we had this trip booked for a long time so it was such a relief when we finally arrived and loved it =] the grounds of the hotel are beautiful, soo well maintained & gardeners around daily. We stayed in a private cabana which was lovely, having our own private garden area and plunge pool to relax in along with receiving free cocktails & canapés each evening, a lovely treat and lovely room. The pool areas were great, each with swim up pool bars, we preferred the tropic pool personally as it was always nice & quiet no need to search for sun beds etc also feeling relaxed and secluded as opposed to the other pools which seemed busy, understandably the lagoon pool area was designed for children & family's which is a great idea allowing many different types of guests to enjoy the most out of their holiday whether you are looking to chill out or entertain your kids! We never spent time at the terraces pool apart from when they had the pool party night which was great, also live band were really good. I still can't believe how lovely all of the staff members were here, it most definitely has a huge impact on your holiday, we felt very welcome and enjoyed talking to everyone. The food in the hotel was lovely we used the baht bonanza deal which was well worth it!, we ate at azure for lunch which had a great choice of food all of which was lovely, the drinks menus around the pool bars you couldn't get bored of, freshly blended fruits, cocktails and coconuts yummmm. We had our evening meals in the lotus restaurant a few nights very impressed it was lovely, again great choice of foods and lots of special nights on, we had such good service here too I wish I had made note of his name but our waiter was such a lovely person, always checking we were enjoying ourselves and would always come say hello. W had a few spa treatments while we were here which were very relaxing, perfect to end our stay here. I had both my treatments by Thip who was lovely she even styled and plaited my hair =] overall this hotel was more than I imagined, the grounds again are beautiful, there's an area for everyone's needs as I said we preferred the tropix area which was lovely to relax around. The hotel itself is located about 2 mins walk from the beach nice & central it's also quite nice to walk through the Thai streets to get to the beach gives you a chance to explore and get to meet some more lovely Thai people, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on the service and room alone! I would absolutely come back.

Rebecca & Steven x

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Sawasdee Rebecca M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and have provided readers some quality information in determining their next holiday location.

Take Care
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our second stay at this resort, stayed in the Tropicale apartments. As before, no complaints, rooms were very clean. We chose these apartments this time, as the last time we stayed, we were upgraded from the Lagoon to the Tropicale part way through our stay so this time we boooked them, and had all the benefits that came with the package. The hotel is central to Karon with plenty of nice eating places, we did eat in the hotel restaurant also, and the food was nice. Will be back again next year, and the nice thing is the management acknowledges this by leaving a nice platter of fruit, welcome back card, and a flower arrangement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Sawasdee patsyManchester,

It's pleasure to read your review and hear that you have enjoyed your returning for second times. We all were happy to make your holiday again on the smiles. We hope to welcome you and your family back and will make your stay on smiles again!

Wishes all you the best.
Chompoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Karon
#5 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#10 Business Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Karon Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.