We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Access Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Access Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Access Resort & Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   459 / 2 - 3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2499 THB FREE ABF+ WINE!
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed 2 weeks at the Access Villa Resort and were very happy. Our room was very clean and serviced daily. All staff were friendly, polite and couldn't be more helpful. The pool outside our room was wonderful after busy days to come home to a pool just two steps outside our door was amazing, met lovely people while swimming too! The pool was not perfect with a couple of little repairs to be done but nothing to bother us.Food at the resort was fine, although a little more expensive than in traditional Thai restaurants, that were very cheap, still not over pricey. Couldn't resist having food delivered to our room by boat just once! The location of the hotel was a little out of the way but still an easy stroll to the beach, with shopping on the way! We used the local blue buses to get around if we wanted to go further! About 30bht to go into Phuket Town to the weekend night market.
Flies at breakfast were the only disappointing thing at the hotel. All food was covered well but we seemed to be chasing them away a lot. We found the earlier we went for breakfast the less there were. Over all we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying at this friendly resort!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.
All of your reviews of our resort will direct reporting to our management and your reviews are very helpful for us to improve our services to the best in the future.
However, I'd like to take this opportunity for clarify your kind comments as following;
1. We've daily maintenance schedule and repair the pool's tile in each pools and we must be aware for this matter every days for our concdern about safety of our guests in the resort.
2. The price that show in the room service menu is reasonable price with good qaulity and must recommended by our Executive Chef to provide the best food for our valur clients.
3. About flies at breakfast that is the big point of us. Our management will seriously to take a look for what happened and already prove to get rid off flies immediately, normally in green season it is very easy to see flies everywhere in Thailand but our resort will be aware for flies that will not be disturbing our guests during eating time later.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    103
    36
    25
    15
See reviews for
56
165
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Together with my fiancé we spent 15 night in Access Resort in May / June. Our overall experience was extremely good despite a few minor glitches. See more details below 

The hotel's highlight is certainly the direct pool access available from the all the guest rooms. The pool itself is well maintained and the water always seems very clean. It is also long enough to have a nice swimming exercise which I personally appreciated a lot. Along the pool there is a lot of well maintained greenery which adds a bit of tropical touch to it and looks very nice. In the evenings, when it is dark, the pool is nicely illuminated, so evening swim, after a busy day full of activities etc is indeed a very relaxing and pleasant experience. There are two drink bars located at the pool, but they were closed most of the time during our stay (probably due to low season). The entire hotel grounds are clean and taken good care of.

The room (blue wing) was spacious, nice and well equipped (hairdryer, glasses, safe, LCD TV, beach towels, flip-flops). Before choosing this hotel I read a few comments of other guests complaining on the hard beds. It made me request a mattress topper in advance. With this little addition we found the bed to be very comfortable and had very good sleep during all the nights spent there. Of course the room is air conditioned and kept very clean all the time.
There is wi-fi internet access available 24/7 within the hotel price which was very useful for keeping in touch with our families. Wi-fi connection worked always well. Quite often, however, despite having strong wi-fi signal, internet was not accessible for certain time. It looked to me like the wi-fi routers were working fine all the time, but the hotel network periodically had some issues with external link to internet.

Room service and other hotel staff was very polite and friendly (greetings to Manop from Poland :-) ) We did not sign for the meals at the hotel considering large number of various restaurants available in the neighborhood. Only once we decided to order a dinner to the room. It actually did not come by the boat, but this was not something we would complain about at all. The price for the meal was attractive comparing to what you normally encounter at the hotels. The meal itself was OK, although not something extraordinary.
The reception desk was very helpful – we arranged one of our local excursions through it and sent a few postcards. The postcards were received by the addressees, so it worked well 
Hotel offers its taxi service which is good to have, but only as “option B” considering the prices which are a bit over the average. There are many taxis and tuk-tuks available everywhere on the streets which are noticeably cheaper.
Some of the staff are not able to speak English, but there is usually at least one person at the reception desk who is able to communicate in English. However, usually this is not a big issue anyway as they always make effort to understand and be helpful. My communication with the hotel before arrival (through email) was very good, clear and to the point.

The atmosphere at the hotel is pretty much relaxed, which worked for us very well. According to my observation majority of hotel guests come from China, but there were a few guests from other parts of the world as well. This is not a very big resort, which allows for more direct and personal relation with the hotel staff and a bit of “at home” feeling rather than anonymous and dehumanized hotel stay.

Unfortunately we were not allowed the late check out, but this was probably our fault as we requested it only a day before the departure. It was too late as there were new gusts arriving to our room the very same day when we were leaving and the time was necessary to prepare the room for them. Instead, after the check out we were allowed to leave our baggage at the hotel storage room which let us wonder around Karon for a few more hours before the unavoidable departure to the airport for our evening flight.

We truly enjoyed our stay at Access Resort and would recommend it to our friends. If we come back to Karon, we will most likely book a room there again.

Room Tip: Blue wing is better and not much more expensive, you may consider eaither a location close to pool b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.
All of your reviews of our resort will direct reporting to our management and your reviews are very helpful for us to improve our services to the best in the future.
However, I'd like to take this opportunity for clarify your kind comments as following;
1. Our bar are operating daily from 10.00 am to 07.00 pm but if we are facing heavy raining the bar will close before without notification to protect our electrical supply.
2. We provided free WIFI 24/7 so sometimes look like slow but every guest can join with our stable signal and enjoy their using internet in our resort.
3. Normally our room service serve by boat that is only our resort in Karon beach, unfortunately on that date that you ordered, our room service service to your room by door to door instead of serve by boat because of heavy raining and will have effect to foods. so we must to protect all of guest's foods as of normal cooking from our kitchen.
4. We've training program to all of our staffs every months in English language program and will be better efficient English skills in the nearly future.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 3 days at Access Resort & Villas over the weekend when we were getting married on the beach in Phuket. It was a lovely resort, and a great respite from the small, crowded Phuket streets. Every room has direct pool access to a network of winding canal-like swimming pools. Our stay there was quite busy as we were attending to our wedding affairs, but the resort was an ideal place for relaxation. It was close to the city for shopping and restaurants, and also the beach was not far away (although we never made it there this trip).

One of the hotel’s distinguishing features is the delivery of room service via boat on the pools directly to your room. Of course, we had to try this, and it was indeed a fun unique experience; food was pretty good too! Swim-up bars are also provided at various locations to pick up tropical beverages during your swimming outings.

The included breakfast buffet was quite plentiful with good variety of items, omelet station, etc. Overall, definitely a recommended destination for a relaxing resort in Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had booked to stay here for 3 nights at the end of our island hopping trip, we booked via Booking.com my booking confirmation clearly stated that the hotel was payable upon checkin and that a no show would inccur the first nights charge, we needed to change our flight home by a day early for a funeral, when we arrived the 3 nights had already been charged to the card and they would not refund the night we did not use, if I had heard the words terms & conditions once more I think I would have lost the will to live! I wrote them an email questioning the charge being made to the card but am still awaiting a reply 10 days later. That said we were given an upgrade to the Blue wing, the room was lovely and the direct pool access was a lovely novelty, the pool itself was a bit canal like and got quite a lot of leaves/insects in it but they were constantly cleaning it. Breakfast was awful due to the flies, there was a covered container of yoghurt with a ladle which was full of flies stuck on it, the staff were doing their best to shoo them off the food but it was obviously an impossible task. the location was good a 10 min walk into Karon which in itself is an ok place very quiet and not somewhere I would like to spend more than a couple of days. We used the hotel car for our transfer to the airport as they were cheaper than a taxi off the road, they charged a 1000 baht for this. The staff were friendly and helpful apart from the initial problem with the unused night and lack of response to my email, which is why I have given the service a poor rating and has nothing at all to do with the general staff who were great . I would not stay here again but only because I would never again return to Phuket, but would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice room in a quiet resort although obviously it costs quite a lot of money due to the fact that it has novelty value

Room Tip: Blue wing are lovely, but all have the pool access so go with what you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.
First of all, I'd like to take this opportunity in inform you that we didn't received your email that you wrote down on Tripadvisor before for refund your money.
Actually, you booked in Deluxe Pool Access Green Wing and on arrival the hotel offer complimentary rooms for Deluxe Pool Access Blue Wing.
However, your reservation in wrote doen on your document with clear policy that if you would like to cancelled your booking, you must be contact the hotel before 7 days in advance but in fact when you arrived the hotel, you just informed my team about your cancellation for last night that mean it's too late for late cancellation your reservation and our policy between Booking.com & Access Resort & Villas shown on your document very clear for this matter that the hotel has right to collect full amount of your money during your stay eventhough you stayed 2 or 3 nights.
In my opinion, next time, please kindly read in each sentences of your booking and policy between the guest and hotel to avoid the problem before your arrival would be much appreciated.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Dear All friends, I come from China and really very enjoyed my stay in this Access Resort & Villas. I spent 8 days in Thailand and tried 3 hotels with my Husband and son. This Access Resort & Villas is the best one and deep impression one,it's different with other business hotel. Here, not formal but so relax, I can feel the feeling of the resort. In the evening, I can sit on the lying chair out side of the window, near to the pool, so romantic. In the day time, can enjoy breakfast outside near to the pool. Can swim in the outside pool. Very nice view, the stay expierence gave me deep impression, I love it and will back to stay this hotel again for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall this resort was pretty good! The staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange transportation back to Krabi airport and were more than willing to answer any questions we had! The traditional Thai massages on the resort are expensive (1000 baht each compared to 200-300 off the resort) but totally worth it!

There were areas of the resort that looked a little run down/in need of repair, but we always saw people out working on fixing and cleaning things! Our room was always very clean and stocked with bottled water. And we loved having direct pool access from our room! It was so cool how all the rooms were connected to the pool!

The prices to eat on the resort were ridiculous, when you could walk down the street and get double the food for 1/3 of the cost! The food also was not as good on the resort as in the restaurants up and down the main street. The breakfast however was phenomenal! Nothing like the breakfasts included in hotels in North America. There were copious amounts of food options ranging from traditional North American breakfast staples (eggs, bacon, toast, pancakes to things like rice dishes and seafood dishes. There was also lots of fresh fruit every morning.

They provide a shuttle to the beach, but the beach is only a 15 minute walk away! We took the shuttle down before realizing how close the beach was and afterwards walked back up to the resort.

The shopping in Karon was not as great as I found in Ao Nang, but there were still pretty good deals to be found, just a lot of the same stuff, nothing really unique.

Overall I would recommend this resort to family and friends! But would highly suggest not eating on the resort (besides breakfast) and checking out the many wonderful restaurants on the main strip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, General Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.
About Thai Massage at our Sunset Spa, we've oursource company to rent our area in the hotel so the price maybe much higher from outside but the qaulity and safety must be better more than outside overall also.
For our restaurant, the price i neach menu just set up by our reasonable price with good quality & qauntity that the clients never found in the simple restaurant around Access Resort & Villas.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Although I agree with most comments previously made, We were able to overlook any small deficiencies in this resort. The rooms were old and tired but very clean and comfortable (except the hard bed!) The Pools were very clean and the surrounding gardens were a delight.
The staff were ALL very friendly and helpful beyond the call of duty. Nothing was too hard for any of them.
The Restaurant Staff were exceptional and the meals were also very lovely and reasonably priced.
Thank you Access Resort and Villas. We will be back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.
Your comments are very best for us to take a look for hard bed and will be solve completely for your next visit.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Access Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Access Resort & Villas

Address: 459 / 2 - 3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Karon
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Access Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel offering direct pool access from all rooms, where room services serve by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Access Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Access Resort & Villas Hotel Karon
Access Resort And Villas
Access Hotel Karon
The Access Hotel
Access Resort & Villas Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Access Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.