We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love club med but there is room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Phuket

Save Saved
You added Club Med Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   20/10 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach (Phuket), 83100 | Karon, A. Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #25 of 69 hotels in Karon
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“we love club med but there is room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

the go's are brilliant .the rooms are standard...the food is average...
when we go to club med,we go for the experience..not for the rooms or the food...the experience is fabulous and the kids love it to the point of tears when they leave....the relationships and friendships you make are special.however,the rooms could be better and the food needs a complete makeover.....
if you dont drink alcohol,then the price is not as attractive as if you do..as it is all inclusive.
the seats in the restaurants are dirty and unattractive to sit on.....the choice of apholstry fabric
was a poor one...
it could help to have an english speaking nurse on call.even in thailand they do have english speaking nurses in other resorts.....it helps and is not a nice experience to try to explain what is wrong when you have a fever and vomitting ......unacceptable

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    301
    117
    55
    49
See reviews for
449
195
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband & I had our first 'Club Med' experience in Phuket on Jan 29-Feb 3, 2013. The entire stay was very pleasant! All the G.Os whom we met were very kind, energetic, and always ready to help. The resort offered rich holiday programs with a long list of activities and sports. I want to recommend in particular the YOGA lesson in the mornings and the 'AQUA YOGA' once a week, both were taught by Swapnil, the YOGA instructor from India. The Yoga movements looked simple... but when I did it right (breath, stretch, focus, ...), I sweated a lot and got so refreshed afterwards. Tuely amazing! Swapnil was a great gentleman - young, kind, patient, and polite to everyone! I could feel that he was doing things with his kind heart and great passion. In addition to the daytime activities, the night shows and the parties were fantastic!The 'ICE Seasation' show on Saturday was awesome. All in all, we had a great holiday and will surely come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited the middle week of Jan 2013. After havin been to numerous Club Meds previously we were looking forward to the hospitality and food.
The resort itself is a little dated though more than sufficient when it comes to facilities,the GOs are on the whole quite good with the standouts being Guy,Swapnil,Gill and Terrence.
OK. Thats the good part.The rooms are full of mozzies,food is well below par,children everywhere grabing food,tasting it ,then returning the food to the buffet.The noise and commotion created around the main pool is far from relaxing. Aussies would not allow themselves or their kids behave like this at home because no resort would tolerate such disgusting behaviour, though for some reason as they are overseas they seemed to behave like animals , wasting food and drink as well as their anti social behaviour.......it made me embaressed to be Australian.
Once my girlfriend and i found the Zen area we were able to relax at least a little......until she was affected by food poisoning!!!
She consulted the medics in house who were more than helpfull,they seemed more than familiar with the symptoms and had the appropriate anti -biotics for us to purchase.
The best option was to book and dine at the Chu Da restaurant, where we met a number of older extremely dissapointed French couples, who could only descibe their time there as a "catastrophe".
If you are a couple wanting an upmarket, relaxed holiday, think long and hard before choosing this resort or maybe enquire when there are the least amount of children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was my first time in a club med in Phuket . I went with my family and we had spent a good time there we made a lot of friends especially the G.O.s. The day we arrived we felt like if we were in the paradise. The food was delicious and at night time i got to spent with the kids club.And i celebrated my birthday with my sister .The day we left i felt really bad that i had to leave because i had so much friends and i didnt want every thing to end .It was a awesome experience and i always talk with my friend PICKI (he is a G.O.)on facebook .i thank the whole staff and G.O.s for an awesome vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is very good, you can have lots of entertainment during the stay with clubmed, and everything is included which is really convenient , you don't have to think where to go for eat and for fun. Room is clean but the bed is too small.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We are a family of 4 with a daughter of 17 yrs and son of 16 yrs. We just stayed there for 15 days and really enjoyed our stay. The public areas of the resort have been nicely upgraded but the rooms could do with an upgrade. We stayed in the Superior interconnecting rooms and while clean and comfortable, they are not up to the standard of the rest of the resort, even though its fair to say you don't spend that much time in the rooms with so much to do there.

Kata beach is beautiful. In January it is fairly calm and very clean, clear, safe and very warm (28-30c)- but not too warm. Last time we visited Phuket in April the water at the beach and the pools (at the Katathani) was TOO warm and not refeshing - you could not cool down (and it was also too hot and too humid then) . January is a GREAT time to visit. We Australians are used to top notch beaches and this did not disappoint. It is only across the road with a small crossing which is guarded by two assitants to ensure safe crossing for all - a great touch especially if you have smaller children.

The food is very good and varied, catering to various tastes. Not 5 star but very high quality especially for buffet style. You can also book the a-la-carte restaurant Chuda however the booking system is flawed. You need to book a day in advance at 10am -when we turned up a rude lady - "Jinny" said the restaurant was privately booked and that we would need to return the next day "and why had we waited to book?" She would not book us for the following night - HOW RUDE!! Fortunately she was the only rude G.O we met I'm sure she wouldn't have been so rude with any Japanese guests (I have encountered this rude Japanese approach before - especially with Australians - Ugo (Head of the resort) take NOTE please. Thanks Fulvia for sorting this out and helping- very kind.

To balance this I must say the other G.O's were very pleasant and without any shadow of a doubt the STAR of Club Med Phuket who was extremely polite, helpful and willing to do anything, anytime to assist guests was Swapnil - the yoga instructor - young, active and a true gentleman. He was also very polite to other G.O's.

There are many many activities which you can participate in with a daily schedule printed and posted. The water-based ones were great as you kept cool - eg water polo, water volleyball, water basketball...as well as water aerobics.

I would not recommend this resort for honeymooners or young couples as there are lots of kids and can be noisy at times but the many pros meant this was still a good stay for us with older teenagers.

The result of having so many young families is that the nightlife was dampened sometimes as parents would take their kids to sleep as the night progressed - but still it was better than most resorts that have no shows or entertainment at all!!.

The 9pm shows were very good (eg amazingly good acrobatic shows, pool acrobatic shows etc) as well as the shows near the bar after the main show especially ICE Sensation - a really great night. The best nights of all were the 2 beach parties with both live music and then really modern DJ music on the beach which was set up with cabanas and deck-chairs, a bar, lights etc etc ( they go to a lot of trouble).

Drinks and cocktails at the bar were quick and free-flowing to obtain - they did not try to save money but tried to provide top service, I must say.

The resort is very large and has only one main pool but also a very lovely adults-only quiet pool with stylish double bed cabanas nearlby - really nice. The fact is only has one main pool is Ok as the beach is 30 seconds away and SO nice.

If the rooms were upgraded I would probably give this a 4.5 star or higher rating. We are fairly fussy travellers with high food and accomodation standards - we will be back as no-one else offers this mix of features and one must balance the pros and cons.

PS This resort is not at Karon, but Kata beach - (it used to be at Karon and I understand that one was sold off to become the Movenpick)

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the main pool area so you don't have to walk so far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is my 3rd time to Club Med Phuket, each time travelling with 3 small kids (7yo, 5yo and 3yo). We have also been to their Bintan resort in Indonesia.
I used to love the Club Med concept, particularly for our circumstance. However Club Med has been clearly reducing quality of service, food and accomodation through cost cutting. At the same time other resorts have picked up their acts particularly for kids. As a result, I will now avoid club med until they either pick up their quality or reduce their price substantially. Instead i would recommend Westin, Shangri La or JW Marriott.

The club med experience is a holiday for the parents becuase the kids are very well taken care of (the kids have great fun as well) - but you do compromise on the quality of the resort and the food. The formula used to work because the level of accomodation, facilities was ok enough for you to deal with as the kids are so well catered for.
However, it is very clear that club med is cost cutting and this has made the ok aspects not so great anymore. At the same time, there are many resorts which have now caught up with catering for the kids in much the same way as Club Med - such as Westin or Shangri-La (especially Shangri La Sentosa Singapore - excellent resort).
These other resorts offer true 5 star experience as well as club-med standard kids stuff at basically the same price (even when you include the food).
The cost cutting i noticed is most felt in the food - the "all you can eat) buffet has much less variety of food than ever, the food is not replaced very often which means when other greedy people take you have to wait for ever for new stuff to come out. Most important, the food was not very fresh or of a good standard.
Finally, the hygene is a big problem - I knew 10 people (myself and wife included) who caught a 24hr food bug which is not very pleasant at all - this can only come from the swimming pool (which is in desparate need of fixing) or the food.
People without kids should definitely not waste their time here.

Room Tip: Ground floor are apparently the refurbished ones but you wouldn't know it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedAP, General Manager at Club Med Phuket, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret to hear of your experience during your stay with us.

Our customer service team would like to contact you personally to further investigate. Please feel free to leave us your contact or reach us at customerrelations.australia@clubmed.com.

We would like to reassure you that food hygiene is of utmost concern. We have a high standard of food hygiene guidelines to adhere to and we continuously strive to achieve that at all times.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager of Club Med Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Phuket

Address: 20/10 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach (Phuket), 83100 | Karon, A. Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Family Hotel in Karon
#25 Business Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Phuket 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kata Bay, the Club Med Village on the island of Phuket stretches out under palm trees caressed by the breeze. Bungalows, built in the style of the local “long-houses” and decorated with teak, silk and marble, exude a Zen spirit in this idyllic garden where you can practice yoga beneath the frangipani trees. A warm and clear sea opens up its underwater depths, filled with colorful fish and abundant flora. Adults and children alike can find tranquility and discover the Thai culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and Otel so you can book your Club Med Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Phuket Hotel Karon
Club Med Karon
Phuket Club Med
Club Med Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.