We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Phuket to your Saves list
Club Med Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   20/10 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach (Phuket), 83100 | Karon, A. Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is very good, you can have lots of entertainment during the stay with clubmed, and everything is included which is really convenient , you don't have to think where to go for eat and for fun. Room is clean but the bed is too small.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    358
    134
    59
    56
See reviews for
532
222
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We are a family of 4 with a daughter of 17 yrs and son of 16 yrs. We just stayed there for 15 days and really enjoyed our stay. The public areas of the resort have been nicely upgraded but the rooms could do with an upgrade. We stayed in the Superior interconnecting rooms and while clean and comfortable, they are not up to the standard of the rest of the resort, even though its fair to say you don't spend that much time in the rooms with so much to do there.

Kata beach is beautiful. In January it is fairly calm and very clean, clear, safe and very warm (28-30c)- but not too warm. Last time we visited Phuket in April the water at the beach and the pools (at the Katathani) was TOO warm and not refeshing - you could not cool down (and it was also too hot and too humid then) . January is a GREAT time to visit. We Australians are used to top notch beaches and this did not disappoint. It is only across the road with a small crossing which is guarded by two assitants to ensure safe crossing for all - a great touch especially if you have smaller children.

The food is very good and varied, catering to various tastes. Not 5 star but very high quality especially for buffet style. You can also book the a-la-carte restaurant Chuda however the booking system is flawed. You need to book a day in advance at 10am -when we turned up a rude lady - "Jinny" said the restaurant was privately booked and that we would need to return the next day "and why had we waited to book?" She would not book us for the following night - HOW RUDE!! Fortunately she was the only rude G.O we met I'm sure she wouldn't have been so rude with any Japanese guests (I have encountered this rude Japanese approach before - especially with Australians - Ugo (Head of the resort) take NOTE please. Thanks Fulvia for sorting this out and helping- very kind.

To balance this I must say the other G.O's were very pleasant and without any shadow of a doubt the STAR of Club Med Phuket who was extremely polite, helpful and willing to do anything, anytime to assist guests was Swapnil - the yoga instructor - young, active and a true gentleman. He was also very polite to other G.O's.

There are many many activities which you can participate in with a daily schedule printed and posted. The water-based ones were great as you kept cool - eg water polo, water volleyball, water basketball...as well as water aerobics.

I would not recommend this resort for honeymooners or young couples as there are lots of kids and can be noisy at times but the many pros meant this was still a good stay for us with older teenagers.

The result of having so many young families is that the nightlife was dampened sometimes as parents would take their kids to sleep as the night progressed - but still it was better than most resorts that have no shows or entertainment at all!!.

The 9pm shows were very good (eg amazingly good acrobatic shows, pool acrobatic shows etc) as well as the shows near the bar after the main show especially ICE Sensation - a really great night. The best nights of all were the 2 beach parties with both live music and then really modern DJ music on the beach which was set up with cabanas and deck-chairs, a bar, lights etc etc ( they go to a lot of trouble).

Drinks and cocktails at the bar were quick and free-flowing to obtain - they did not try to save money but tried to provide top service, I must say.

The resort is very large and has only one main pool but also a very lovely adults-only quiet pool with stylish double bed cabanas nearlby - really nice. The fact is only has one main pool is Ok as the beach is 30 seconds away and SO nice.

If the rooms were upgraded I would probably give this a 4.5 star or higher rating. We are fairly fussy travellers with high food and accomodation standards - we will be back as no-one else offers this mix of features and one must balance the pros and cons.

PS This resort is not at Karon, but Kata beach - (it used to be at Karon and I understand that one was sold off to become the Movenpick)

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the main pool area so you don't have to walk so far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is my 3rd time to Club Med Phuket, each time travelling with 3 small kids (7yo, 5yo and 3yo). We have also been to their Bintan resort in Indonesia.
I used to love the Club Med concept, particularly for our circumstance. However Club Med has been clearly reducing quality of service, food and accomodation through cost cutting. At the same time other resorts have picked up their acts particularly for kids. As a result, I will now avoid club med until they either pick up their quality or reduce their price substantially. Instead i would recommend Westin, Shangri La or JW Marriott.

The club med experience is a holiday for the parents becuase the kids are very well taken care of (the kids have great fun as well) - but you do compromise on the quality of the resort and the food. The formula used to work because the level of accomodation, facilities was ok enough for you to deal with as the kids are so well catered for.
However, it is very clear that club med is cost cutting and this has made the ok aspects not so great anymore. At the same time, there are many resorts which have now caught up with catering for the kids in much the same way as Club Med - such as Westin or Shangri-La (especially Shangri La Sentosa Singapore - excellent resort).
These other resorts offer true 5 star experience as well as club-med standard kids stuff at basically the same price (even when you include the food).
The cost cutting i noticed is most felt in the food - the "all you can eat) buffet has much less variety of food than ever, the food is not replaced very often which means when other greedy people take you have to wait for ever for new stuff to come out. Most important, the food was not very fresh or of a good standard.
Finally, the hygene is a big problem - I knew 10 people (myself and wife included) who caught a 24hr food bug which is not very pleasant at all - this can only come from the swimming pool (which is in desparate need of fixing) or the food.
People without kids should definitely not waste their time here.

Room Tip: Ground floor are apparently the refurbished ones but you wouldn't know it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedAP, General Manager at Club Med Phuket, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret to hear of your experience during your stay with us.

Our customer service team would like to contact you personally to further investigate. Please feel free to leave us your contact or reach us at customerrelations.australia@clubmed.com.

We would like to reassure you that food hygiene is of utmost concern. We have a high standard of food hygiene guidelines to adhere to and we continuously strive to achieve that at all times.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager of Club Med Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The property is nice and is excellent for families with small kids. on the upside the beach is right across the road (literally!), its all you can eat and drink, and there's a bunch of things to do all day for everyone including the kids. But all the same, prepare yourself to experience a different kind of atmosphere here. For starters, there's NO room service. You can eat all you want in the restaurant but they won't serve you in your room. What if you get hungry in the night? Nothing doing.

Very few Indians stay at this property and if you're a vegetarian or would like to have Indian food for at least one of your meals, that's not going to happen. The majority of guests are European, Japanese and Chinese so you get those foods.

On the whole a good experience but for the food.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The resort itself was very clean and when ever something was needed it was always done. All the activities were really good and it seemed like there was always something to do. All the shows were amazing and done very well. The G.O's were all really nice and friendly espicially the G.O Picky who worked in the teens club. Overall everything was amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melborne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 night and all i can say that its a wonderful resort and cannot complain much about anything. The choice of food was extensive and the entertainment/activities very good. My wife and I went with our 22 month old son and it was so great having the GO's watch him while we got our food and doing everything with a smile. The rooms are pretty basic but more than adequate. (Tiny complaint about the bed - its as hard as a rock). The Golf course is very small but beautifully kept and the swimming pool just great. The beach was across the road with security stopping traffic for us to cross. This was our first club med experience and we just loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On 10/1/2013, this is my first time book club med and use club med, it is great place for relax, the beach is super clear and nice, a lot of people in the beach, nice, I enjoy the food in club med phuket, but i hope the next time we go can have a litter bit of chinese food around for asian chinese, I enjoy the introduction of the diver class, the japan handsome guy teach me and my husband very well, it look easy but hard actually, but we enjoy it. the show perform in the night is amazing good and funny, like it so much, really miss this place, but for sure i well come back to club med phuket and i well also visit another club med next year. The price of club med is reasonable for couple and family. Great place ... See you guy next time. Thank to all the GO and the chief (Mr Ugo ) extremely nice guy .

From
Joanne lim & Wilson Teoh

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Phuket

Address: 20/10 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach (Phuket), 83100 | Karon, A. Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Karon
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kata Bay, the Club Med Village on the island of Phuket stretches out under palm trees caressed by the breeze. Bungalows, built in the style of the local "long-houses" and decorated with teak, silk and marble, exude a Zen spirit in this idyllic garden where you can practice yoga beneath the frangipani trees. A warm and clear sea opens up its underwater depths, filled with colorful fish and abundant flora. Adults and children alike can find tranquility and discover the Thai culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and Otel so you can book your Club Med Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Phuket Hotel Karon
Club Med Karon
Phuket Club Med
Club Med Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.