We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Phuket to your Saves list
Club Med Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   20/10 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach (Phuket), 83100 | Karon, A. Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Perfect place with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Phuket is clearly not the nicest place to visit in Thailand which makes even more important the quality of the hotel you are staying (no need to go out !). Hotel location is perfect, a small road to cross and you are directly on a beautiful and clean beach with transparent blue water. The beach is perfect with young kids (no waves, at least in April). The rooms, at least ours, a new furbished suite with a connecting room for 2 adults and 2 kids was great. Beware that certain rooms might not be at the level you may expect from that hotel category (needs for renovation); so check before.
Quality and diversity of the food is amazing notably considering that during our stay the hotel occupancy was 100%. Services was OK (at least nothing to complain) but a special positive note for the kids club which is one of my best experience so far (qualification of the staff, organization, ideas and daily agenda, infrastructure, etc.). To sum up, a great family location where you can enjoy all day long to lie on a beach but don't expect to find in Phuket any Thai tradition.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    347
    128
    58
    55
See reviews for
514
217
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Two weeks on from arriving home from Club Med Phuket, and am still reflecting back on the amazing experience that Club Med offered once again. Visiting Club Med for the fourth consecutive year, after having been to Bali and Cherating previously, my family and I were once again happy to escape on a great holiday and come back with many memories. After having read a few of the reviews, we were initially a bit nervous that it would not be as good as in previous years but were not disappointed at all.

'Club Med' holidays are all about doing as much or as little as you want to do. Being all inclusive, there is nothing better than being able to go to the bar and get a cocktail or two anytime throughout the day, with the occasional strawberry smoothie or health juice doing wonders after a hard fitness session with Mobeen, the gym instructor. The food was also great, with a whole range of options-predominantly centred around the Asian cuisine but something to cater for everyone's needs. The desserts never cease to disappoint-the kitchen must do a phenomenal job in between meal times to get everything prepared.

We had read complaints about the rooms being very far away from the central area-however knew to expect this as it is the whole idea of a resort, not a sky-high hotel building with everything centralised. Our room was pretty much as far away from the restaurant/bar area as you could get but there was nothing better than taking a nice walk before dinner and getting to appreciate the exquisite grounds of CM Phuket. The rooms themselves were good, nothing too fancy but the whole idea of CM is not to spend all that much time in the room anyway. More just a storage space for clothes and a bed to sleep in at night (and the odd nap before dinnertime)!

Being an active family, we loved being near the sports centre and made the most of the many options it had to offer-basketball, tennis, volleyball, badminton but also archery, soccer and golf just to name a few. The fitness sessions in the morning were great too-not everyone's idea of a holiday but there is a class for everyone- yoga, fitness, weights, step and water aerobics.

One of the best things about CM is the nightly entertainment. Each night there is a 'dress code', definitely try to dress in the right colour if you can because it makes it more fun! Everyday we looked forward to seeing what the 'theme' was and enjoyed the challenge of finding something to wear-cappucino night was interesting, and my brother pulling out his joke hawaiian shirt for 'floral' night but other than that the themes are pretty general-black and red, all white, pink and purple, elegant etc. The shows were some of the best we'd seen in our entire time at CM, as always all the GO's getting involved and showing their enthusiasm on stage. Rachael does an amazing job as the choreographer putting everything together. The circus shows were astounding and it was very cool to see all the tricks that the guys could do-and then the next night in the they'd be dancers in a boyband! Very talented, the 'Music Hits', 'Cabaret' and 'Just for Fun' were particularly funny and had me crying with laughter at one point.

A great thing about the Phuket resort is that if ever you feel like leaving the village, it is only a few steps out the front door until you are onto the streets, where there is much shopping (and bartering) to be done. At night, the streets become alight with an entirely different atmosphere and it is very cool to see the culture!

However the best part of CM without a doubt is the GO team. All CM's have beautiful landscapes and dining etc. but it is the staff who make it more than a holiday. Being a GO is more of a lifestyle than a job, and their attitudes certainly reflect that. Always willing to have a chat, they genuinely care about how you are doing and are always passionate and enthusiastic in their work. Over the last few years we had met a few of the staff and became friends with them, and it was good to see them and catch up. Ugo, the Chef de Village (whom we first met in Cherating) has done a tremendous job in making sure the staff make your stay as memorable as possible.

Special mentions to many of the staff, sorry to anybody I have missed but thank you to everyone!
-Brendan, sports manager who provided excellent chats at the dinner table (mostly about rugby) and who did an outstanding job at taking the after show entertainment. If he ever becomes Chef de Village, we will surely be paying that CM a visit!
-Mobeen, fitness instructor who we have seen every year since we started going to Club Med. He is insane!! Not only providing killer fitness classes, but he also has an amazing personality and always made us laugh, felt like more of a friend to us than a staff member.
-Guy, golf instructor. Another amazing GO who provided quality chat about sports and.. more sports. Also a great friend of our family and was good to see him again.
-Ketut in the sports centre, who had only been in CM for a week yet was always there to provide us with a cold milo when we needed it, was always smiling and friendly.
-Lauren and Kate, two South Africans who were some of the coolest people I have met, always had funny stories to tell!
-The entire circus team: Kory, Chris, Alex and Hsien Ming for performing amazing routines in the shows, and to Rachael for choreographing all of the shows.

It is always sad to come back home to reality after a CM holiday (where the sun is not always shining and the drinks are not free) but it is the best feeling knowing you have met some amazing people, seen a new culture and have gained some unforgettable memories. Got an email today with 40% off deals for CM Phuket.. wanting to go back at the end of the year! To Ugo and the team, thanks so much for giving us another excellent CM holiday. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

First time to be in a clubmed resort but it was amazing. you can just swimming in the pool or play golf without going out. and all the G.O. are friendly and talktive. and if you have children, it is a good place to go since the G.O. team have many activities to take care of the children.
The only thing should be improved is the food which are not so good as the service there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

By Club Med standards, it was average. It didn't provide the kind of personalized service we received at Kani, Maldives and the food was not as good as Cherating. However, we were spoilt for choice in terms of activities. The one outstanding thing was the spa. The therapist was one of the best I have had in the many spas I have visited.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Having stayed at Club Med before, we were definately not fans but were persauded to go with friends for 8 days now we all had children.

Rooms:
Our whole time was fantastic. We booked 2 connecting deluxe rooms for our family of 4 and were not disappointed, they were roomy enough for the time you spent in them and were cleaned and re-stocked (water, fruit and some soft drinks) each day to a very high standard.

Food:
The food was plentiful and of a good variety. We did not eat here every night but you could not complain. Of course if you are looking for a 5 star experience then this is not for you but the food was great for us and the kids. We found that a part of the dining room stayed open during non meal times and had a wide array of food laid out which was fantastic for the kids when they were looking for a snack. They also prepared and supplied snacks in the bar area each afternoon.

Kids Acitivities
All i can say here is 'fantastic' The GOs were amazing with the kids and our girls developed a great bond wit Viva. The evening performance they put on was simply amazing, i was very impressed as it was not the sort of hap hazard event i was expecting - it was a full show with lights, costumes, rehersals etc.

Pools
The pool area was fantastic, great access to drinks and snacks and excellent for the children. Pool was always exceptionally clean as was the whole area.

Out and About
There is a little cafe around the corner called eightfold - do youself a favour and drop in their for a meal. Inexpensive, great service and good wine list. We had 2 great meals here while the kids were at kids club. Across the road is the beach, you can get a massage for $12 AUD and can take your drinks from Club Med across there - they even have a little timber collection box for you to leave your empty glasses. There is a security/assistance man the crossing so its extemely safe and only a little quiet road so no problems.

Transfers:
You can save yourself ALOT of money by arranging your own transfers from the airport. I think Club Med qouted us $80 each but we arranged out own private prado type toyota for about $40 AUD for all of us. Doing this you dont get the singing/necklace welcome but that did not worry us at all. I think they were Phuket Transfers?

All in all i was extremely surprised with our holiday. I was not expecting much from Club Med but got everything i wanted and more. A wonderful family holiday if you are looking for relaxed all inclusive packages where the kids are entertained and you can relax. We booked this on a special 50% off deal Club Med had which made it exceptional value and I would go again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our deluxe room ws lovely overlooking the water across gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

For the past 4 years we have been visiting Asia/Pacific Club Med's and once again we were not dissapointed. Club Med is a fantastic holiday, all paid for up front with no extras costs unless you choose to (day excursions, spa treatments or shopping at the boutique). As a family of 5 with three older teenagers the ability to have endless food and drinks all day is awesome. The rooms are fine but really you are only in them to shower and sleep. The free WiFi was great, good to check on news from home and the kids appreciated being able to facebook. All entertainment is provided during the day (all sports and tuition) and night (shows and actitivites around the bar) for free and done by GO's who are so enthusiastic and friendly, many of them have become our friends over the 4 years we have been going. The sports team in particular are excellent, ably run by Brendan, but special mention must go to Guy and Ketut at the Sports centre and our fabulous Gym instructor Mobeen, you guys rock. Lauren, Kate, Nico and the circus team were all so friendly, it was great getting to meet them all. The GO's work extremely hard at Club Med but always have a smile and are willing to have a chat. Some even go out of their way on their one day off to take my rugby starved husband to the the nearest bar outside the resort so he could watch the Highlanders play, very much appreciated. Thanks Ugo for having such a great team and giving us once again an awesome holiday.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately our holiday was marred by food poisoning.We were all stricken by this and had I not travelled with some strong medication we would've been in real trouble.Food was often on 'display' for hours in a temperate climate.
I would recommend everyone planning a visit to this village take strong anti emetics and anti diarrhea medication.
The GO's were fabulous and made the holiday a terrific experience once we were well.
The circus trapeze team are so talented and were really patient and helpful.
The teens club GO's were also just lovely.
A big thank you to them all.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Phuket

Address: 20/10 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach (Phuket), 83100 | Karon, A. Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Karon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#13 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kata Bay, the Club Med Village on the island of Phuket stretches out under palm trees caressed by the breeze. Bungalows, built in the style of the local "long-houses" and decorated with teak, silk and marble, exude a Zen spirit in this idyllic garden where you can practice yoga beneath the frangipani trees. A warm and clear sea opens up its underwater depths, filled with colorful fish and abundant flora. Adults and children alike can find tranquility and discover the Thai culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Phuket Hotel Karon
Club Med Karon
Phuket Club Med
Club Med Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.