We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, only a bit far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Club Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Club Resort to your Saves list
Pacific Club Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save at least 15%
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value, only a bit far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is very nice. Rooms are very big, clean and comfortable. It has a swimming pool at the roof top with very nice views over Karon. The food in the restaurant is good and staff are very nice and helpful. The only con is the location. It is a bit far away from the beach, it's a 10-15 walk down/up the hill. If they would offer free tuk-tuk to and from the beach that would make it up.
Anyways, it is good value for the price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    262
    47
    16
    8
See reviews for
223
502
71
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked the hotel after reading all the reviews here, but it was not as nice in my opinion.
The food was not great in the restaurant and the entire venue looked a bit old-fashioned and cheap (plastic chairs in terrasse). It was okay, but we had much more delicious food everywhere else.
The entire hotel is like going back 20 years in time - so old design.
The distance from the town is too far to walk and also very ugly narrow ghetto streets. Lots of construction everywhere, stray dogs and bad smell. So we rented a scooter from the hotel and it functioned nicely. I figured renting from the hotel is more expencive (outside 100, hotel 250), but the risk was smaller. I was right, we had no issues.
The service was poor. I ordered room-service and after finishing left my plates behind the door, but they were still there the next morning (12h later). No-one cared to clean it.
Also after we booked a hotel transfer for 5am we got woken up during the night by a bellboy who demanded money for it in advance since they have no staff in this hour. Why would they do that? Why not take the money when we booked it? Why wake up people who have an alarm in few hours?
The entire hotel smells like mould - especially the elevator and the corridors.
What suprised us also was that even though there is a phone in the room, you can not place outside calls so we had to find other ways to book tables in restaurants etc.
Overall I saw so many nice hotels around the area and would never choose this hotel over the others. I am so sad to have wasted my precious holiday time in such place.

Room Tip: I guess the higher floors have better view - maybe even to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Based on reviews of this property, I booked me, my wife, and 8 year old for 5 nights in a one bedroom suite.

Upon check-in, they told us no one bedrooms were available and had put us in a 2 bedroom suite. Hey, great, no problem, always happy to take an upgrade. But when we got in the room, they had locked the second bedroom. I later asked the desk would they mind opening the second bedroom so my daughter could sleep in a real bed instead of a folding bed/cot in the living area? Sure, for 1200 more THB/night. Wow. Just about any hotel I've ever stayed in, if you get an upgrade, then "yay for you" and please go ahead and enjoy the extra space. Not here. I realize that opening that bedroom adds a bit more cleaning, etc. But still. This is the hospitality business after all -- you try to make people happy.

Well, whatever. It was still a very nice room, clean, etc. The restaurant was good, though I'm not sure I would call it great. Our first night we tried it and the service was comically slow. I chalk it up to just a bad night in the kitchen. On other nights, we ordered some room service and it came up quickly, so I think we just got unlucky. Loved the pool and really loved the sauna and whirlpool. Did that every night. Don't miss it.

My wife got a massage from the spa and liked it very much. More expensive than in town, but still a good value.

The setting was very nice and we enjoyed the sunsets from the pool deck. That brings me to location however. I read the reviews about there being a 10-15 minute walk into town, so this was not a surprise. But that walk turned out to be a real annoyance to me. Unfortunately, it is not a pleasant walk -- the roads are narrow and there is a lot of construction traffic. Not much shade and its uphill going back. To my wife, it was not as big of a deal, but I like to be able to walk outside my hotel and be in town and/or be able to catch a taxi or tuk-tuk. Can't do that here. For that reason alone, if I were to return to Phuket, I would look at other places. Again, that's just me. Some people like to spend most of their time at hotel and eat all meals there. This is a good place for that.

Finally, a few tid-bits on transport. they quoted us 950 THB to arrange a taxi back to airport. We did it for 650 on our own. Local transportation in Phuket overall is frustrating, especially if you're coming from elsewhere in Thailand where it is cheap and accessible. Taxis are 200 THB to go 500 feet. Be prepared. You can rent a car for a day, which we did, but that is a bit stressful (in a kind of fun way) with driving on left and dealing with traffic. Rent a scooter at your own risk. Saw lots of crazy scooter driving by tourists. And not rare at all to see tourists with bandages on calfs and arms from exhaust pipe burns and/or crashes.

But I digress. Overall, great stay at Pacific Club, but I would look at other places if I returned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uncle-eric, Owner at Pacific Club Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear BikeArlington,

Thanks for visiting us and for your detailed review.

I kindly apologize, my staff should have opened the second bedroom for you. It's our policy but the guy on duty that night slipped up. I'm sorry your request wasn't escalated.

BTW as you mentioned transportation in Phuket is not well thought out. We also recommend our Guests to rent a car if you plan to go out much. FYI for our readers, we forbid the tuk tuk taxi mafia from hanging around outside our resort and I think most folks will appreciate that. However, when our private cars aren't available we can call one of the the others up in a heartbeat.

Finally we've seen several reviews over the last few weeks where folks apparently hadn't considered our location which at 10 minutes from the beach and town (official clocked walking time) is far enough away from the riff raff to be called tranquil and relaxing. Most of our really satisfied Guests see that as a plus (along with our generally lower rates than similar properties). However, if you want to be closer to things, please kindly choose another place before booking.

Happy Traveling,

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here from 17th to the 21st of nov 2012 as soon as i got in the hotel i had a good feeling about it ofcourse since i had read all the reviews available on the net.We hired a car for the airport and believe u me u need one if u plan to stay anywhere in phuket.The access to the hotel is a small road going up the mountain and there r no signs or advertisments for this hotel either in the phuket map available on the airport or any other place.So keep u r eyes open when driving youself or keep u r cell ready to call the hotel.About the hotel i got upgraded to a 2 bedroom condo although i didnt need on as i was with my 4 yr old and my wife but it was the most awesome stay we had a big sitting area with a dinning table a full kitchen with rice cooker gas stove microwave fridge and utensils the balcony was even bigger than the room with 2 beach chairs to soak the sun and a sitting area.The food in the restaurant was awesome i had local thai cuisine only.Apart from the access road to the hotel we had a wonderful stay and the staff is ohhh so cheerful and ready to help u in any which way possible.The head chef Dan was forthcoming and met us humbly.Thanks everyone at Pacific

Room Tip: Go there if u wanna relax and if u wanna party hard go to patong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I felt the hotel was ok. I stayed in the studio suite and felt that the room was rather gloomy. The food at the hotel was ok, and service passable. Nothing really stood out and the distance from the town to be a hindrance to visit restaurants and the beach. I am surprised that so many people gave it such a high rating. I know this hotel is a favorite of many people but it did not work for me. I would not return or recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just returned after a restful 10 day holiday in the Pacific Club Resort. We found that the food was so good in the hotel, and also in both of the restuarants in town which are part of this family chain, that we didn't eat anywhere else. The staff are very friendly and always helpful, no matter what the request. The rooms were spotless and of a decent size with a large comfortable bed. We would not hesitate to return or recommend this hotel to anyone who was planning to stay in this part of Phuket.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just spent 8 days here after 3 days in Singapore.Was a bit worried our car booked from the hotel might not be there as we landed late, but no worries Tony our driver was there to meet us.
A nice cool drink was waiting for us when we checked in. The resort is very calming!
Our Studio suite was spacious and we paid for an upper floor room which was worth every penny for the view each morning. The room facilities were excellent especially the a/c which we looked forward to every day after returning from the beach.
Breakfast was included due to booking on the hotels website. Reasonable buffet selection and whatever eggs you wanted cooked to order. The sausage and beans were not what us Brits are used to though!
We went to the north end of the beach every day as it is a little quieter, taking a detour to the supermarket for Singha and snacks on some days. you can have breakfast cheaply at Tony restaurant near the end of the short cut route to the beach(to the right around the lagoon) near the fisherman statue. Their banana pancakes are delicious!

On the beach, 2 beds/umbrella/table only 200 baht. Delicious fruit shakes available etc at the traders behind the beds.

10 min walk to beach and Patak Road.Lots of restaurants and bars to enjoy. Fave restaurant was Vitaporn on a cul de sac 50 meters south of Karon circle. This was the only place we went to twice as all the others were good too. This street has 3 or 4 restaurants and a bit less chaotic than Patak Road.

Hired the hotel driver for a couple of hours to go to the Big Buddha and Karon viewpoint. Decided not to hire a car after seeing the antics of the scooter/bike riders!!!

The receptionist at the hotel is very friendly and helpful.

Only slight negative is if you are unlucky enough to be in a room near a noisy young family your lie in might be disturbed as sound carries round the outside hallways.

Went to Bangla Road one evening in the hotel car 300baht and back in a tuk tuk. Be prepared for a noisy frenetic eye opening experience!!! Good food can be had at the Patong Seafood restaurant 50 meters south of the beach end of Bangla road.

the so-called "hill" up to the hotel is all of 50 yards long so dont let it put you off!

Lovely hotel staff and location!!!

Room Tip: upper floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Club Resort

Address: 16 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#4 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 Best Value Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Club is a small one-of-a-kind boutique resort set in a relaxing jungle beach atmosphere surrounded by panoramic ocean and jungle mountain views only 10 minutes walk from Karon Beach or village. Our rooftop swimming pool, gym, spa, herbal steam sauna w/Jacuzzi, reasonably priced friendly services, and fine dining insure comfort for most all travelers. Free Wifi & Private Cable TV keep you connected. We've been rated between 3.5-5 stars by travel professionals; please decide for yourself. Welcome Home, and please make sure to check our website for best deals and most accurate information before you book. Don't forget to note when comparing rates, rates on our website are the only "Breakfast Inclusive" rates which is a $16 value freebie when staying double occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Club Hotel Karon
Pacific Hotel Karon
Pacific Resort Karon
Pacific Club Resort Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.