We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - just as we expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Club Resort to your Saves list
Pacific Club Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save at least 15%
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Karon
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Value - just as we expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I read many reviews before selecting Pacific Club (Spa) Resort and I am grateful to all who have taken the time to contribute. The hotel was exactly as we expected. There are 8 or 9 rooms on 4 different floors as well as spa, restaurant, rooftop pool and well-maintained gardens and patio areas. The bedroom was spacious - 2 large closets, small kitchen area with sink, fridge and microwave and water heater (hotel provides coffee, tea and sugar) as well as small sofa, a small patio table and 2 chairs inside the room as well as outside on the balcony. I found the bed to be very comfortable and the pillows were heavenly - I slept better here than I do most nights at home!! Hairdryers old and fixed in bathroom - need updating.
Breakfast buffet was consistent with western staples: cereal, eggs to order, toast, fruit as well as a selection of different local dishes some changing on a daily basis. We booked through the hotel's own website and so our breakfast was included in our room rate. Free wi-fi too - fast and easily accessible.
The hotel was clean and well-maintained. We rented a scooter for a day, and realized we should have just rented one for the duration of our stay because the next time we wanted one they were already reserved. The hotel rate is competitive with the many rental places in town. Take note - you will need your passport to rent a scooter outside of the hotel. We never ate dinner at the hotel preferring to sample different places in town so i cannot comment on dinners served in the restaurant.
The pool is very user friendly and was very well maintained and clean - there is a fabulous view from the roof. Pool is in scale with size of hotel. As other reviewers have pointed out the hotel is fairly dark, but i found it had a cooling effect on me becase the air outside was certainly hot! The walk to and from Karon town took about 10 minutes at a liesurely pace. There is the steep section closer to the hotel but you have to be really out of shape to struggle with it.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful but not always attentive, so you just found someone else who would get you what you needed.
All around a very enjoyable stay - our cost was average $100 per night for 2 of us including all taxes and 2 breakfasts daily - cannot complain at that.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 304 and even though it was next to elevator there was no noise. We found it to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    284
    52
    18
    8
See reviews for
240
555
81
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in Karon for New Year and were happy with our choice as we saw Patong and didn’t find it very appealing (quite hedonistic). Karon is smaller but still offers lots of restaurants/bars. On arrival at the hotel. we were pleased to see that we were upgraded for our honeymoon. Our bedroom/suite was huge with a kitchenette, a small and private balcony overlooking the inside garden. The only issue was that the room was on the first floor just over the restaurant and therefore a bit noisy in the morning. The hotel is peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle of the seafront. There is a 10 minutes walk (which we did 3 nights) but Tuk tuks are also available. The buffet was very good with a wide choice of fruits/cereals and fresh omelettes made to order.
The pool area on the roof is our favourite feature (especially if you manage to get one of the nooks and crannies around the pool). The pool itself is very relaxing with the flowers/waterfall and little underwater seat/tables. We also tried the jacuzzi in the evening. Would stay in this hotel again if returning to Karon but the North of Phuket is more suitable for us (we prefer quieter, less heavily developed areas).

Room Tip: Get one of the suites that is not too close to the stairs or a room on the upper floors but overall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Cosy, charming hotel with character. The room was well kept, clean with 2 double beds and all the aminities one could desire. I must say that this hotel has a fine housekeeping service towels are changed every day which I find is a luxury only expensive hotel provide. Free breakfast with a choice of western or thai dishes are provided not to forget the staff were always friendly especially Ead whose invaluable service made our stay more pleasant. The swimming pool was perfect not too crowded since the resort has only 40 rooms. The hotel is situated on a hill with a fantastic view of the beach.
Lastly I like to mentioned the warm welcome provided by the reception staff, Mook who also helped us with our various request.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We spend 4 nights in this amazing hotel and we enjoyed a lot.
It is really impressive the attention and care for guest's needs in every detail.
The hotel is very nice, reminded us of one of the best 5* resorts of Antalia, in smaller version, obviously.
The rooms are beautiful, we had 3 different rooms, including a suite.
The best of all is the roof top pool, awesome view, and all the decor is unbelievable, with all the sweet smelling flowers around.
Everything is very clean, the towels provided at pool side are butter cream colour, good quality, it's a pleasure to spend some time there, when you come back from the beach.
Breakfast is ok and we had twice dinner at the restaurant, wich is not expensive and the service is very good, the staff is always smiling and helpful!
A special thanks to Noch, from the reception, she organized the celebration of the birthday for my daughter, the cake, flowers, everything.
I'll recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed 5 nights and enjoyed it immensely. Roof top pool was awesome other then the fact the seating area is rather limited. Free breakfast with room was very good although it was the exact same every morning. Very nice property within 5 minutes of beach with a car. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Phuket.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely property which has obviously been designed with care and attention. It's perhaps 20 years old, but its decor, paintwork, tiles and stonework have been well cared for. The roof-top pool is just the best - overlooking the bay, surrounded by bougainvillea and sweet smelling flowers. On the ground level is a cool-water jacuzzi that has been designed with jets and waterfalls at differing strengths which is as good as a Thai massage (well almost!) - coupled with a sit in the Thai herbs aromatherapy steam room is a sensory delight. The perfect remedy after a day out on the motorbike. The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent, including a substantial buffet breakfast, with eggs cooked as you like. The bed was very comfortable with lovely soft pillows. Very spacious, quiet, light room with lovely views. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uncle-eric, Owner at Pacific Club Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Although these folks said it perfectly, I would like to personally say Thank You for characterizing Pacific Club exactly as I designed it.

When I designed the building which is actually only 7 years old, my number 1 order to the team was, 'We are trying to build a classic structure. One which always looks as though it's been sitting on the small hill overlooking the ocean and surrounded by mountains for many years and deserves to sit there forever.' In architecture it's called vernacular or timeless design. The other main criteria was to use materials and colors which blend into the natural surroundings as much as possible to allow our Guests to enjoy the feeling of nature as much as possible.

So now days you'll find lot's of newer resorts are using synthetic modular materials which really appear manmade. I think that style will come and go. Whereas Pacific Club is loaded with natural stone, marble, granite, and wood. I believe this characterizes classic design and will continue to be appreciated as time goes by.

Sometimes it's neat to see these modern buildings which use plastic materials and leave exposed metal showing, but I feel that stuff is for airport and city areas not for a tropical retreat.

Please enjoy and Happy Traveling,

Uncle-Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were expecting grander surroundings but although this resort is not on the beach there is a wonderful view from the rooftop pool.The rooms are clean and comfortable. We had asked for a room for three but were given one bed at check-in. They did bring a roll away though. Location is not a problem- Patong is only a 10 minute tuktuk ride away and Karon Beach offers closer and quieter entertainment. We enjoyed our stay in all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Club Resort

Address: 16 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#2 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Club is a small one-of-a-kind boutique resort set in a relaxing jungle beach atmosphere surrounded by panoramic ocean and jungle mountain views only 10 minutes walk from Karon Beach or village. Our rooftop swimming pool, gym, spa, herbal steam sauna w/Jacuzzi, reasonably priced friendly services, and fine dining insure comfort for most all travelers. Free Wifi & Private Cable TV keep you connected. We've been rated between 3.5-5 stars by travel professionals; please decide for yourself. Welcome Home, and please make sure to check our website for best deals and most accurate information before you book. Don't forget to note when comparing rates, rates on our website are the only "Breakfast Inclusive" rates which is a $16 value freebie when staying double occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Club Hotel Karon
Pacific Hotel Karon
Pacific Resort Karon
Pacific Club Resort Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.