We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added In on the Beach to your Saves list
In on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 / 23 - 24 Moo 1 | Patak Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 85100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for six nights during the off season. Would have been longer but there rates doubled from 1st November. Not many people staying in the off season had resulted in rooms being a bit musty. Air conditions didn't work but this was promptly fixed. Rooms are small but clean. Bathroom is good with separate shower. Hotel is in the form of a U with a small pool in the middle. Not much space between the pool and the rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Situation is great, there is only a track separating it from a great swimming beach. Plenty of cheap lounge chairs and food vendors on the beach. Will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room. Downstairs have little privacy and are only a couple of metres from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Great little quiet hotel, off the beaten path. Perfect for families and couples. We went during low season, so room had not been used in a while. Best part of room is the air conditioning and the ceiling fan! Loved it on hot nights!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 3 days and had an excellent time. the beach is right next door, it's beautiful, clean and not crowded. rooms are a little small but clean and well furnished. staff is polite and helpful. the charge for pick up and drop taxi was less than what was quoted by other taxi services on the net or at prepaid stand at airport. free wi fi connection was good. breakfast was a bit repetitive though but it had ample choice and served by smiling staff.

Room Tip: rooms on first and second floor would allow more privacy from people lounging around the pool. thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The service was great. The rooms were spaceious, modern and clean. The free internett had limited range, so there were a couple of areas we didn't have access to the internett, but this was a minor problem. Because of the waterchannel (or "river" if you like) on the backside of the hotell there were alot of mosquitos and other insects that gives a good bite, so remember buying insect repellent. We had to change rooms because of the bugs, and after moving up to the third floor, we noticed little of this. The waterchannel isn't a pretty sight, but this didn't bother us, being most of the time on the beach in front and around the pool. The beds are quite hard, but we have the same experince from other hotels around in Thailand.
Very little noise, except from the loud tuk-tuk's with big stereos going to and from patong beach on the main road, maybe 60 meters away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a great little hotel hidden on the North end of Karon Beach in Phuket. It is about 30 seconds to the beach (which is much quieter than Patong Beach). The hotel is clean and also has a great pool. Each morning I woke up and sat on our room's patio and checked my email and Skyped with friends with a beautiful view of the ocean. There were a few more creepy crawlers in the room than I would have liked, but we were on the ground floor so you'd find that anywhere in Thailand. The staff was nice and helpful and the rates were really reasonable. I actually felt like we got a great deal considering the location. Next time we come back to Phuket I want to come right back here!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have nice patios but the upper floor rooms have better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nts and we had a great time. The staff are lovely and they make a great breakfast! The beach is just across from the hotel but we preferred to swim in the pool or lay on one of the sunbeds. The room we stayed in had good aircon, powerful shower and comfy beds. Plus the fridge was good to store a few beers to enjoy on the balcony in the evening.

Karon Beach is a little mellower than Patong so a great town to stay in. Ask the staff for recommendations for places to eat and they will tell u exactly where u can get a great meal.

If we come back to Phuket we'll def return to In on the beach!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

Seventh trip to Thailand (now an annual event) and this is by far THE BEST place we have stayed. Quiet relaxing environment with pool and beach right there. Easy access to shopping restaurants and nightlife of Karon Kata and Patong. Will definitely be visiting again next year (perhaps this will also be am annuL booking).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to In on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In on the Beach

Address: 9 / 23 - 24 Moo 1 | Patak Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 85100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — In on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small, select Hotel, is enviably positioned directly on the beautiful white sands of Karon Beach. It has 36 air conditioned rooms and has, as its central feature, an elegant swimming pool. Cable TV, WiFi, car parking, 24 hour reception, rooftop terrace, jacuzzi, bar and complimentary afternoon buffet are provided. Karon center is just a short stroll away with its many shops, bars and restaurants - ideal! We look forward to making your holiday "Something Special!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your In on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In On The Beach Karon
In On The Beach Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.