We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse
516/20 Patak Road | (Opposite Centara Karon Resort), Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Room Upgrade
Ranked #6 of 74 Karon B&B and Inns
Chalong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Never stayed there, being local, but I pop down there often as its one of the best sports bars in Phuket. Numerous screens show all types of sport, with two projector TVs. My beers are always very cold and the food delicious. Excellent bar and menu selections. The staff are very friendly and Maurice and Tiger always seem to be around to keep things friendly and efficient.
I recall one day when there was a false tsunami scare and every restaurant in Kata and Karon had closed because the staff had fled. But not O'Tool's, They were still serving with Maurice working the kitchen.
I also like to read the English papers which they get daily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
26
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had Sunday lunch at O'Toole's and was quite happy with the food, however, the service wasn't very good at all, even with there being 6 staff on hand to serve. No problems taking my order or serving lunch, once I finished I couldn't get the attention of any of the staff. I wanted desert so asked for a menu, I sat idle for 20 mins trying to get someone's attention and just gave up, paid and left. Again, happy with the food, but they need to address the staff issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My first trip to Thailand. I have a friend living on Phuket, but wanted to stay slightly independent & not encroach too much. He suggested Angus O'Tools in Karon.
The only downside is that all of the smaller hotels don't have stairs but hey, it's done me good and after the first couple of days they're not a problem. (I'm a lazy Westerner!) I'm staying on the 2nd floor in a room called Galway. Lovely outlook with great aircon, an excellent shower in the en-suite with plenty of hot water, good water pressure and you could have a party in the shower room it's so big :-)
The rooms are cleaned and linen changed every day, and you're supplied with a litre of fresh drinking water that's put into your refrigerator. There's a kittle and TV (if you want to watch TV when you're on holiday....) plus sofa in the window alcove.
The beds are enormous, and I've slept like a log since I've been here.
O'Tool's is literally a 5 or 6 minute walk from Karon beach, and couldn't be in a better location - within travelling distance of everything on the Island although Karon beach has everything you could want from a beach holiday.
Plenty of sun loungers at 100 Baht for the whole day, and lots of little bars dotted along the beach every 10 metres or so.
The food at O'Tool's is superb - English based - their omelettes are to die for and the best chips I've ever tasted. There are so many restaurants and street vendors within metres of your door though, that you're spoilt for choice - from English to Thai, Indian and Italian. A gastronomer's delight and perfect location.
My room is big, airy and has everything I need. At 1000 Baht (about £20) per night, you really can't go wrong.
The staff are all very friendly and for me, I couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ate my one and only hamburger while in Thailand here, and it did not disappoint! Good beer, good food, friendly staff. What else could you ask for? Prices are reasonable. There was Austrailian rules football on, so it was a little rowdy. But I don't mind rowdiness in a pub anyways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've just returned from two weeks in Phuket, and while I stayed across the road in Centara, it's fair to say I was a "regular" here, the reasoning why was very simple - this is quite simply a very well run pub.

The staff are friendly, helpful and the place is spotless and very reasonably priced. It has a wide range of drinks and the food was very tasty. If watching sports is also on your agenda then you cant go wrong here with regular events live which will appeal to the Aussies, British and Irish customers that frequent the bar.

The top man here though was Maurice. A friendly chap that went out of his way to make sure you were being looked after, so much so that he took time out from hosting a party of his friends to ensure that a few of us got to see Ireland's qualifier against Kazakhstan,

I strongly recommend this pub, without hesitation, to anyone hitting Karon beach.

Peadar. S. (Ireland).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was staying across the road in the Centara and being Irish I went straight to this pub on my first night and I was there every evening after that. Had my meals there as well most days,food was excellent and competitively priced. Tiger and his team were tip top and always had a smile.
Coming back next year but will stay here instead of the Centara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for 14 nights, everything about it was brilliant. Location, Service, Food, and the bedrooms. Maurice and his staff always make you feel welcome and the band on Friday nights were a highlight as well as the constant sport on the 4 large tv screens around the pub. I will be visiting again next year and i am certain to stay at Otooles again, and recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse

Address: 516/20 Patak Road | (Opposite Centara Karon Resort), Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus O'Tool's Irish Pub, Restaurant & Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.