We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Phuket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beyond Resort Karon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beyond Resort Karon to your Saves list
Beyond Resort Karon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   51 Karon Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Beach Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Last Minute Deal
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First trip to Phuket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. I picked this hotel from the information supplied on the net. It appears to be the only hotel on the beach. It has magnificent views of the sea and surrounds. The room is comfy with great air conditiong, doonas on the bed was a surprise. We had 2 single beds on arrival, make sure when booking you order double (king) or singles, they swapped beds for us. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Buffet brekky was great. No AC in hotel except for room. Pool great, bar service avaiable in pool, can charge your room. Stayed from 25-10 -2-11, little rain,high season starts 1-11 room tariffs dearer from now. Exchange money in Phuket better ezchange than Aus. Its closer to Kata than Patong but 200 baht ($7) Tuk Tuk fare toPatong or 30 min Walk.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views ,3 stories, ground floor pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    134
    42
    12
    12
See reviews for
66
268
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012, as part our anniversary holiday. Overall the hotel was nice and the service was good.

The rooms were fine, but nothing special. They were spacious, as with most hotels in Thailand, but the one that we had did look a little tired and dated. That said, it was clean and we were only there for 3 nights so was fine.

We only ate at the restaurant beside the pool which was very nice. The bar is quite cool also, especially when it rains and they pull down the blinds as you sit at the bar.

The beach at the hotel was great, however beware of the rip currents in the sea - they are deadly! On our first day at the beach (and of our holiday in fact), some poor guy had to be pulled out of the sea and taken to hospital, which was not a pretty sight. He was ok in the end. As all the locals told us, don't try to swim against the tide (ie back into shore), but rather swim with it (ie parallel to the shore) and eventually you will get back in. Sounds strange but that's what we were advised - I didn't test the theory out!

From this hotel we took a day trip to Phi Phi island which was amazing. Great place to chill for a few hours. Everybody told us that it was overrun with Aussi tourists drinking fosters but that was a load of old rubbish... at least the day that we went - it was empty! In May the speedboat was very bumpy, but it is definitely worth a visit.

Overall I did not really warm to Phuket as a location. The area around the hotel was fine, but I think that was one of the better areas. We drove through Patong on the way to the hotel and it looks like a complete dump - glad we didn't have to stop. If we had of been staying anywhere near it, I would have taken the next plane out...

So, all in all, a good hotel with good service on a nice beach; good value for money.

Room Tip: I would prefer not to be on the ground floor as they open out quite close to the pool; some folks li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights. The service was great, the staff were all very friendly and the rooms were more than expected overlooking both pools and beach. We highly recommend this resort as there is everything you can want to make your stay enjoyable. Right outside the resort on the beach is a message place with the friendliest staff. The pool bar is resonably priced with great cocktails. The restaurant offers cooking classes which was fun. Rooms were very clean and made up with fresh towels, sheets and bathroom accessories daily. The location was perfect, right on the beach and right outside many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in karon beach resort this September just gone. I was worried what the weather was going to be like with it being rainy season but we did particularly well. We had a couple if days of rain and a couple of afternoons but we had red hot days too which meant we could do trips.

The hotel is very nice. Very clean throughout. The maid service is excellent. One phone call and within minutes a knock at the door would bring fresh bath or pool towels. We once forgot and left the do not disturb sign on the door by mistake and went out for the day. We returned later that night and whilst we had dinner about 9pm the maids went in and cleaned for us. Without asking.

The food was very nice. Breakfast was different for about 7 days then rotated around again which wasn't too bad and expected really. Nice pancakes and omelettes at your say and fresh fruit etc. we only ate several times in the hotel for dinner and evening meal of which was again nice albeit a bit dear. We mainly walked out into karon where you could eat for two of you starter and main with drinks for about £23. Plenty of it too.

Karon resort is excellent. You can do a bit of shopping and plenty of restaurants to explore. Being the time of season it was a bit quiet but can imagine it would be lively at the peak. The town is right outside the front entrance to karon beach. Ideal.

Excellent holiday in all with great trips to phi phi and James Bond island.

The only down side to this hotel were the reception staff. They weren't particularly friendly. They almost without actually saying it accused me of trying to take items from the mini bar without trying to pay for them.
One day we had a problem where one of the day trip companies didn't pick us up (misunderstanding and was sorted) however I used the reception phone to ring the company I was on for about 3 minutes yet the reception staff charged me 20 baht. Really ! Surely it would have just been good customer service????

Rest of the hotel staff in the restaurant and bar and concierge were excellent

Good holiday. Worth money

About 1 hour from airport

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Karon Beach Resort & Spa and loved it! My sister stayed there a couple of years ago and hightly recommended it and I'm so glad that we took her advice.
You simply can't fault the location of this hotel, right on the beach and every room has ocean views... magic! We were so grateful that we stayed in Karon which is much quieter than Patong but still had lots of great little shops and restaurants to choose from.
The rooms were lovely, maybe a little dated but we found them to be pleasant and roomy. The bed was a bit on the hard side but we still slept well. The buffet breakfast was very nice, they had a great selection and cooked bacon and egg to order.
Unfortunately, they don't have free Wi-Fi in the rooms but they do give you 10 mins if you don't require your bed linen to be changed.
The staff were friendly and helpful, we had a medical emergency on the last night and the staff came running and stayed until the ambulance arrived.
We will definitely be back and next time we'll stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just got back from out 2nd stay at Karon Beach Resort and Spa. Once again the staff were terrific, Come, Kid, Chai, Ling Ling and everyone else were so friendly and always willing to help us out. Couldn't ask for anything more for the breakfast buffet. Everything you wanted. Best spot to stay when in Phuket, away from the hassle and bustle of Patong yet only a short drive if you want to go.Direct access to the beach. Even the security guys helped us out when we had to get our rental car out of the car park, stopping all the traffic to let us out. Can't wait to comeback next year...

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

30.9.2012 / 13/10/2012 just want to say it is the first time we have stayed at this hotel yes the rooms could do with a litte up date but who goes on a holiday to spend time in there room not us there were cleaned every day what more do you want . We found all the staff very friendly & heplfull to all you people that have been here before and made comments stating that the staff are rude etc JUST REMEMBER they are not your servants which we seen people try to use them as they are just normal people doing a job trying to earn a living so RESPECT THEM & they wil go out of there way 2 help you the beach is at your door step & just the best the pool bar needs to have music set up which i did discuss with the staff & they have all assured me it will be there the next time we go back .the restaraunts in the area are all great shopping is the same much better than Patong its like i said i we would not hesitate 2 stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beyond Resort Karon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Karon

Address: 51 Karon Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Karon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#17 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Karon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly private, and truly intimate; Beyond Resort Karon is the only resort on Phuket’s grandest beach, Karon Beach.Nestled into a quiet corner of Karon beach with the rooms viewing the crystal clear Andaman waters, the 80 rooms resort offers peace, quiet, and privacy on the famed beach with popular shopping and dining choices merely on the other side of the lobby.Designed in contemporary designs offering unique Thai hospitality, with stunning panoramic views of the Andaman Sea and the beach to yourself, Beyond Resort Karon is perfect getaways and honeymoons. The Beyond Resort Karon is catering for Single or Couples only and accepts guests only the age of 18 years and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beyond Resort Karon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Karon Beach Phuket
Karon Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Karon Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyond Resort Karon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.