We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay will be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay will be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

From the time of arrival the services has been 5 star. At arrival the manager advised there was a small problem with the room we had book, so they have ungraded my self and mate to a suit, this was a big plus. It has a great pool bar and the food is great. Will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karon Sea Sand ... M, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear JamesBond0076,

Thank you very much for your kind words and great comments. We will pass them on to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon again.

With brgds,

jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    142
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
109
205
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the resort from 16th to 21st October 2013. I am glad I booked a pool access room as it was on ground floor level and easily accessible. The rooms whilst a little dated were extremely clean and comfortable. The bed was a little hard and would benefit from a mattress topper to help with our backs. Breakfast could be improved by adding some extra fruits and some spreads such as vegemite and peanut butter. Staff were accommodating as my husband was unwell and sleeping and were able to give me an extra power and air-conditioning key to keep him cool whilst I went shopping. I would recommend purchasing the extra WiFi internet package as one hour a day free soon disappears .I had an excellent massage and body scrub in the day spa and would recommend highly. For a three star resort, the grounds and staff were lovely.
Not sure if I would return to Karon to stay again as we preferred the convenience of staying in Patong and just popping in and out of our other resort as desired. Taxi's we found were very expensive to travel in this area and around Patong in general.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms a must. Some other ground floor rooms are also available. I would not be intereste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karon Sea Sand ... M, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Vicki B,

Thank you for your comments and kind words. We have taken your comments and will work on them.

We already have mattress toppers at the house keeping, and we have added free wifi for all in the lobby areas.

We have 3 different kinds of fruits every day but will look to see what else can we do. As for vegemite we think it will be difficult to source them from here so will have to let that go for now ..;)

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you soon again.

With brgds,

jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just spent 10 days at the Karon Sea Sand hotel. The rooms are big and extremely clean, ours had a view of the pool. The staff from reception to waiters and room cleaning staff could not do enough for us, always with a smile. Nothing was any problems. So thanks to all. The managers cocktail party was great, met the owners who are happy to listen to any suggestion on improving the resort.
This was our second stay there. Breakfast is average but an improvement on last year. Something needs to be done about the fruit juice which is terrible, needs to be better quality rather than syrupy cordial, but the egg station is great. Also staff should be going round with coffee and tea, and the coffee needs improvement but apart from that the hotel is very clean, very friendly with great staff who go out of their way to make your stay there as happy and relaxing as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room and if you can pay the extra a pool access room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karon Sea Sand ... M, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Marina C,

Thank you for your comments and kind words. We have taken your suggestions to heart and are in the process of doing more including the option to have gourmet coffee served too.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will have another chance to have you stay with us and noticing the good changes we have made with your suggestions.

Thank you and brgds,

jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am so disappointed!! I booked and paid for a 5 night stay at this hotel and changed the arrival dates 6months earlier with a staff member. I arrived at the hotel for them to tell me I only get 3 nights stay as the dates were not changed. The staff member we changed with, had apparently resigned and they were very unhelpful and said they don't have hotel room available for the other two nights we paid for. I then called up from the hotel room once checked in for our three nights an they said they did have available so they lied and robbed me of two nights. I still now have to stay in this hotel unhappily knowing they do not want to make their guests happy and don't care for people to have a good stay. My mum lives in Thailand and will be writing a review in the phuket news paper, as I will spread the word of this back home in Australia. I'm truly upset as this has been the first time I've experienced unhelpful and unprofessionalism in Thailand. I also paid for a room above the pool, which it was not and it said free wifi, which they told me was not working!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karon Sea Sand ... M, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Samarajade90,

Thank you for your comments.

We would like to explain what happened : Your booking had been changed three times from May 2013 to August 2013 to October 12th until the 17th. You did not show up on the 12th and suddenly checked in on the 14th. You do not have any email from us about the 4th change of dates because there is none. You did not send us any change of dates so we held your booking for 5 days from the 12th of Oct. You cannot reproduce any confirmation from us and we have none from you, and now you think it's our fault that we could not read your mind and know of your intentions.

You then threatened the staff that you will post bad reviews ( which you have just done so ) and will also tell all in Phuket and Australia negative reports about us if you did not get the extra 2 days. This is called blackmail.

We do not like your threats and blackmailing attitude and so we have decided to refund you the whole money for your stay through Groupon and ask you to leave our resort where you apparently are not happy to stay.

Your expenses for the stay and meals etc for the 14th of Oct with us will be waived and given to you for free, and we wish you a happy stay elsewhere in Phuket where you may find better resorts.

With brgds,

Jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great Hotel - stayed with my husband, sister and brither-in-law in September 2013 - clean spacious rooms, nice balcony. We loved it!!!
Fantastic pool bar and good breakfasts with wonderful omelettes!. So close to everything, markets, shops, restaurants, 7/11 and beach. If you can - ask for a pool room as you can jump into the pool from your verandah!!
Airport transfers at good prices and staff very helpful. Wonderful spa - we did the 4hour treatment and it was AMAZING!!!! Definitely worth it!!
We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Get the Pool Rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karon Sea Sand ... M, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Fimae,

Thank you for your kind words and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you the best and look forward to having you back with us soon again.

With brgds,

jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Little late to write a review of the hotel. We went to Phuket to celebrate our 1st wedding Anniversary in June 2013 and surely Hotel Karon Sea Sands Resort and Spa exceeded our expectations.
We had done a prior booking after going through tons of reviews about hotels on trip advisor.
The hotel is in Karon away from the noise of Patong. It is close to the Karon market also with just a stone throw distance away from the beach...literally!!! The hotel is just across the road to the beautiful serene Karon beach. We were give a welcome drink and refreshing cold cologne towels on arrival.
About the room: We were given a room on the 2nd floor which could oversee the big swimming pool. The room was fabulous with great sit out facing the pool area. The flower decoration made by the staff made the room more beautiful. The room was air conditioned, had a big TV, nice bath-area with bathtub and a separate shower-area. There is also provision for Electronic locker.
About the Pool: Excellent pool area with an awesome Pool Bar !!! The pool bar attendants are also very jolly.
About the food: We had opted for only breakfast with our room and I must say the breakfast did disappoint us. We are strict vegetarians; there were fewer options for vegetarian food. The hotel had arranged a complimentary dinner on our Anniversary and had given us the option of having Pizza at Gigi pizza or Indian food at the restaurant and obviously we picked the latter!!! We were delirious with joy to see a full course Vegetarian meal with consisted of 3 vegetable curry, assorted roti’s, dal, jeera rice, salad, raita, aachar, papad….the jeera aloo subji was the best which I haven’t tasted even in India. For deserts we had ice cream with cherry on top!!! And just when we had our stomachs full the staff gave us a surprise with a Wedding Cake with our names on top and decorated with candles!!! The live band which was playing soft romantic music made the ambience even more romantic…
Overall a great experience staying at Karon Sea Sands Resort and Spa. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel if you are visiting Phuket...A special mention about Joliza who took care about the reservation and entire arrangements was very helpful, also Baw who was at the reception always very helpful and cheerful... Keep up the good work guys!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karon Sea Sand ... M, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear AnujDalal,

Thank you so much for your kind words and nice comments. We will pass on your praises to the staff and ensure that they know they are appreciated for their efforts.

Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon again.

With brgds,

jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed in room 3001 for 4 nights in September 2013 in two bedroom apartment. Arrived late but made to feel very welcome. Room very clean, very good level of commitment to customer service. Day spa is amazing! Breakfast was consistently good with lots of choices. This place is right near the beach (2-3 mins walk), close the main drag of shops and restaurants, 5 mins from the Karon markets. Seven eleven and massage very close by. Kata is the next beach and should cost you no more than 200 BAHT in Tuk Tuk. Airport by private taxi service was 900 BAHT and took around an hour. As reviewed by the OracleofOz - "what you expect at the price point" but its clean and the staff are friendly so in the end, you should be happy overall. We did manage to get two room keys but only after my husband left with ours, leaving our daughter and I in the dark!!! As I said, staff are happy to please.

Room Tip: I can only comment on our room, 3001 and it was super quiet! View from the hallway of the resort is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karon Sea Sand ... M, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Louise J,

Thank you for your comments and kind words. We wish you the best and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon again.

With brgds,

jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#14 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.