We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is great, actually it was the best hotel we stayed in during our journey. Located in Karon 1 minute walk from the beach in the quiet area and close enough to many restaurants, shops and markets. We stayed in the pool access room which is great but with some limitations like swimming is not allowed after 19.00. Room was clean the same as it is present in hotel picture gallery. Personell is friendly and have good English. Breakfast was good, had good quality and quite big variety of food. We have been in Thailand as a couple without our kids. For the next time if we travel with kids we would like to stay there.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    146
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
109
210
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Bad Hotel. Stayed here 2 nights. Stole my wife's IPhone right from the table in the restaurant. My wife took our baby to the restaurant for a snack. While eating/feeding went running after him and when returned after few minutes, the phone was missing and turned off. She went to the reception and complained but no real response but fake questions and assurance. Firstly they said that they will show us the CCTV footage but later claimed that they have no camera running in that section. Secondly, my friend paid around 3000 extra per night ( for booking of 3 Nights) for his child for extra bed and breakfast but was not provided extra bed for either of the 3 nights in spite of repeated requests. Only thing good was that they are across the road from the beach. Way Expensive for what they have and what they give.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seemant-Raju, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
First, my staff and I would like thank you for staying at our resort. All our guests are important to us and we take any and all comments and suggestions very very seriously.
In investigating this unfortunate incident with the phone, we acknowledge that we do not have cctv installed within the restaurant. All cctv equipment is aimed towards the length of the hallways and reception. My staff take any complaint by a guest extremely seriously and it is passed on directly to my operations manager or myself.
Let me assure you that this is a very rare incident to have occurred within our resort. In fact, it is the first one ever and we do not take this issue lightly.
With regards to the extra bed, please accept our apologies for not taken care of your friend.
Both issues have been mentioned in staff meetings and we can ensure that both issues do not happen ever again.
Jaspal
Owner / Managing Directory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel isnt the greatest but the place kind of grows on you hour by hour. The pool has its unique layout which is cool but I think the location of the place is the best part. The city of Karon is really busy and I wouldve hate to stayed at a hotel in the downtown area.. The location is across the street from the public beach and is chilled. You can walk 10 minutes into the hustle and bussle of the city and get a good meal and drinks but its a short of walk to be just far away. The rooms are good and not great, the brunch is good but not great, but for the price its a great value to stay here knowing what we paid and what we couldve paid somewhere else in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed there with our young son and found hotel almost perfect. Despite some of the comments we read, we dont seem to have encountered any problems except for the lack of English spoken.

1. Pool access brilliant- it is such a quirky idea and we loved making the swim back to our room after a trip out (tip-bring water proof holder for phones and keys!)
2. Staff friendly& smiley. - lacking in English but when we needed to communicate more detailed stuff, there was a middle aged male worker who spoke fluent English. No problem there!
3. Room size, decor & cleanliness- wonderful
4. Beach access- under a minute!
5.Location- great, situated away from main street, but so close enough for entertainment. Loads of restaurants and shops
6. Restaurant. Breakfast buffet was good but not amazing (but how much can you eat at breakfast). Never tried out the restaurant for dinner because there was so many ither places to try out. It was a real shame as the hotel & staff put a real effort into arranging themed nights etc.
7. Children activities- none but no need. Very child friendly place and can take kids with you everywhere!
**Lovely for family as not to daunting/loud etc but perfect beach and enough to enjoy!

Room Tip: Pick pool access room! Privacy is not a problem as there is tinted glass!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Overall, this place was totally average. I have no idea how it got such good reviews. Stay somewhere else! We had cold showers 3 of our 4 nights. We called the front desk and the maintenance man argued that the water was hot. It was about the temperature of the pool. Something was lost in translation. While this hotel is right across from the beach, it's next to a tattoo parlor and some other seedy-looking establishments. The rates for this hotel were completely outrageous for the quality of the accommodations - everything seemed really dated, the shower was cold, the shower didn't have a basin so be prepared to flood the entire bathroom with one 5 minute cold shower. The staff tried to be helpful but most of them (including the front desk) could speak little English. We also incurred charges for drinks at the pool a day we never even visited the pool. We didn't figure this out until after we checked out. Would never go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seemant-Raju, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello. Having read your review, I interviewed my staff over this incident and it appears that lost in translation is perhaps a good excuse, but not a valid reason for your experience.
Let me say that since your stay here, we have directed our engineering to check all electrical outlets in the rooms once a guest checks out and to work in association with the housekeeping department.
With regards to the unfair charges to your room. I am extremely sorry for it. It should not have happened and would love to be able to offer you some sort of consolation over that experience. Feel free to contact me, Jaspal, via the resort. Come stay with us and we will ensure these incidences do not occurr again.
Our hotel is situated on one of the safest, most beautiful areas of Karon. I can assure you, the restaurants, shops and tattoo parlors are of excellent quality and complement our business and area very well.
Thank you for your comments.
Jaspal
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in December and thought it was ok. We came from the Holiday Inn in Patong and expected something similar. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the pool access rooms are great, well worth the extra money. Breakfast is ok, ok variety but most of it is cold. I found the staff friendly but not very helpful as they struggled speaking English. My biggest criticism would be the massage. I asked the girl numerous times to go softer but she just ignored me. She also had a cold and sniffled and snorted for the whole 90 mins!! Was not a pleasant experience. Location is great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seemant-Raju, Owner at Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with us and for your comments and suggestions. We had a departmental meeting to ensure staff with sniffles stay away from our guests. We are not only a beautiful resort with beautiful beaches, but also beautiful guests. We hope this does not stop you from coming back.
With the massage being a bit painful, I am sorry. The "pain" can vary depending on what type of massage you asked for. A traditional Thai massage is a bit painful and perhaps the girl could not fathom a non painful Thai massage? I am only guessing here. But we are also implementing English lessons for them hoping understandings do not happen as often as it can.
Thank you for staying with us.
Please check us on facebook. Your picture could be there. Let us know and we will add your name to it or remove it.
Jaspal
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Karon beach is a great place to stay. We started our honeymoon at the Karon Sea Sands and were not disapointed. It is a quiet hotel with a really nice pool right in the middle of the room balconies. The room was well furnished and the bed was comfortable.

The beach is only a 2 minute walk away from the front desk, where you can check out a beach towel free of charge every day. Being set back from the main road about 50m, there isn't too much noise that gets to the hotel.

Our main criticism is that the shower situation isn't as good as it should be, for the price. The drain was clogged and often it flooded over into the bathroom. We told them about this and they cleaned it, but they didn't unclog the drain. It was a little frustrating, but perhaps understandable since the massive quantity of sand that probably goes down the drain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#14 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.