We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 73 hotels in Karon
Broome, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good location, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Karon Sea Sands Resort for a week and were happy with the location and quality of the room. It is a modern resort with good facilities and a very good buffet breakfast. The hotel is set away from the main road which reduces noise but is also only a minute's walk to the beach. We would stay at the hotel again, but our only gripe was that the reception staff were not very helpful and were not very professional on check in, shouting to one another and they did not tell us anything about the hotel or the area. Despite this, still a pleasant stay and a nice hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    121
    35
    14
    4
See reviews for
85
169
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A boutique hotel about 5 minutes off the beach...Great bar, great breakfast, really nice Thai in the restaurant---room was clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing and always helpful----best service and stay we had in Thailand!

Room Tip: We stayed at front of resort---very private and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Karon Sea Sands Resort for 10 nights in Nov, with another Kiwi couple. We loved our stay at Karon Sea Sands. We got a deal through Goupon and upgraded to a pool access room. It was perfect for afternoon drinks on your deck, and swimming over and having a cocktail on happy hour at the pool bar. We meet a few Kiwis and Aussies, but yes Karon Beach is been taken over by Russians. The buffet breakfast in the morning is wonderful. Fantastic egg station. My husband worked out in the gym and thought it was great for a small resort. We found all the people that worked at Karon Beach very very friendly, some of there english was not that great, but ha you are in Thailand. Joliza who managers the reception is fantastic, her english is very good and she is very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were cleaned everyday and very spacious. Perfect location, as there are so many resturants around, they are all great value. The beach was nice and clean when we arrived, upon leaving the wind had changed and had lots of rubbish around. Green Chillie around the corner of hotel has 120bht Jug beers and very very cold, meals are great also. Only pay 300bht to Patong. We will be back to stay. Thank you Karon Sea Sands for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: If you like to watch people, meet people or like stocking up your fridge with beers and swimming, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Nice and relaxing you can go to the beach just a walk out your gate u can catch a tuktuk to town and come back to peace and quiet there are heaps of good places and they are a lot cheaper they have night markets and shops and bars

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights after 7 nights in Patong. It was nice to get a bit of peace and quiet after the hustle and bustle of Patong's night life. We arrived at 12pm, 2 hours before check-in, and our room was ready. That was a relief. We stayed in a pool access room...LOVELY!
The breakfast was good, different things each day. The egg man was great. If you're after a resort that you will meet your fellow Aussie, American or anything other than Russian, this resort is not for you. Karon is FULL of Russians. We were the only English speaking people in the whole resort. The staff aren't exactly what you'd call friendly or attentive. None of them speak English (unless they're asking you for money, of course) this wasn't an issue, we weren't there to hang with the locals.

So, overall, it's a beautiful resort, but it may aswell be un-staffed...just a cleaning fairy that enters your room and waves her magic wand each day.

If you like Pad-Thai, you have to go to the Pad-Thai restaurant. It's literally called that. Any tuk-tuk driver will take you there, if they look confused tell them it's near the Baan Karon resort on the back road. It looks like a little dingy dirt pit but OMG!! 50baht buys you the BEST Pad-Thai you will ever eat in your entire life. The locals will be swarming outside...it's the lunch spot.

Room Tip: Go the pool access room. They're lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is well located in karon beach with a nice Indian restaurant..The lobby may not be special but the staff and the rooms are spacious and clean..comfortable and a nice atmosphere. Karon beach is more quiet than patong and the beach also cleaner...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Perfect location, close to all resturants, the beautiful beach and huge shopping plaza. The staff are genuinely friendly and are not pushy for tips (although we gave them when they were warrented). Most friendly pool barman on the planet. The rooms are super clean, comfortable and spacious. The beds are HUGE but firm (all thai beds are firm), and the pillows are soft and fluffy. The breakfast selection was magnificent and poached eggs to order were perfect each time. The musical trio who played each night were also very good. No problems with english or billing, the account was totally accurate at the end of the stay. Great aircon, although bring your own conditioner as there is only conditioning shampoo supplied. Spa massage was ok but a facial and massage in karon itself is much better value. One hour free wifi each day was a great touch. Just around the corner is a the Adaman coffee co - best coffee ever. This resort is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 111 is right next to the pool without the added cost of a pool front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#13 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.