We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phuket getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Kallangur, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phuket getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just got back and had the best time. The staff at the resort we wonderful and so friendly. Would go back again and I don't say that often as they are so many places to see. Resort was close to everything and my friend had the best lobster dinner she had ever eaten. The beach across the road was beautiful.

Room Tip: the resort had rooms that went straight into pool next time I would get one of them Also they have r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    152
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
117
217
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

location perfect, beach just across the road with blue clean water. all staff excellent bar, restaurant, house keeping and reception. close enough for shopping and eating and far enough from night life of karon streets. plenty of choice in restaurants, tailors and.shopping
more designed for couples than families. if can secure a deal , take 10 day option it is well worth it. if coming to Karon beach this is a must stay will definetly stay again,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here with the Groupon deal and it was excellent.
We had a 2nd floor room overlooking the outside area of restauaurant and we loved it.
We were glad we did not go for a poolside room as the opposing sunloungers look straight into them, as a result everyone keeps the curtains closed. Whereas on the 2nd floor we could let the sun shine in and could sunbathe on the balcony.
The breakfast buffet was EXCELLENT. Perfect eggs, mountains of bacon, pastries, fruit and daily changes - as well as three or four Thai style dishes (which we ate after our bacon and eggs).
The staff were hardworking, attentive and there is lots of them.
Room was big and clean and the bath tub was a great size and came with plenty of bubble bath.
Small gym had a treadmill, bike, lots of weights/weight machines and was good for working off the breakfast.
The chocolate truffle cakes (in reception/coffee longe counter) were AMAZING.
When leaving the hotel the Thai place on the left (in same lane) does great food. We had a takeaway pad thai for under 100tbh. There is a great bar on the left with large out door sofa swing things - very chilled.
GGs Pizza was good if you get sick of Thai and the Dino Park mini golf was good fun.
One of our Karon highlights was the City Phuket Tour which included a short elephant trek, intresting trip to a cashew far, Kata voew point, temple (with roaming monkeys) and lots more. Well worth it.

Downsides were the pool side cocktails - sickly sweet and not as authentic as we had had in other places. Scrap the current extensive menu and get some fresh fruit in and a tad more booze.
Would have been better if the WiFi was free!

Our Thai set meal for two was delicious, but the portion was a bit small. Despite the food being great and live music most nights the restaurant was dead each night which was a shame as if there had been more people we would have used it more.

On the Friday the staff held a short cocktail party with a live trio of musicians/singers (free drinks and nibbles!). The freindly manager went round and spoke to everyone and it was good fun and a lovely touch/perefct end!

Room Tip: Avoid poolside rooms as they lack privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was best choice to stay in pool access room. I simply jumped into the pool from my room and reached the pool side bar where the fresh mojito i have. It was great time to stay there. It takes only one minute to the beach and various shops were there around the hotel including convenience store. If i have a chance to go to Karon beach again, i would stay there, definitely. Of course, pool access room will be my choice!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed three nights in pool access room. It was great choice to stay there. I could jump into the pool right away from my room and there was cozy pool bar, too. The bar was very impressive in terms of freshness. When i made and order for one glass of mojito, the batenders made the most fresh mojito i have ever had. Also, I was able to easily go to karon beach which took only one minute from the hotel. If i had a chance to go to Karon beach again, i would definitely have stayed there. Pool access room is the best.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We headed to karon after a busy couple of months traveling. It was just what we wanted, a clean laid back resort. The staff are all great, they are helpful and always smile. We spent quite a bit of time around the pool, the bar staff were great. We often found ourselves eating lunch and having a couple of drinks round the pool due to the atmosphere. The rooms were good rather beds were comfy and the shower pressure was top notch. The gym is relatively well equipped, the best I've used throughout the 2 months. All in all a great place, the cocktail evening which happens on Fridays is a great treat and a good way to chat to the staff and other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just completed 8 nights at the resort. This is not a 4 star resort, I would rate it as a high two/low three, you get what you pay for.

There were some positives the pool was nice, room clean and safe.

On the negatives, the breakfast was below average, we had to ask to have our room serviced as it had not been completed by 5pm on one occasion. The rooms are starting to date and the TV was old.

The day before we checked out, the reception staff started to ask when we were intending to leave,to this I responded that we would be checking out at 12pm, the night before we were to check out we were asked again before we went for dinner and on our return from dinner, I responded we would leave at check out time 12pm. I then received a wake up call at 6:30am the day of check out (that had not been requested), as we were leaving the room at 12:05pm I again received a call from reception stating that we had to check out as they had someone already there to check in. I found this very annoying, and have not come across this behavioiur anywhere else in the world. It is very unprofessional. I complained to reception about the unrequested wake up call, the reception person was not able to respond as English for some of the staff is very minimal. To be rated higher I would expect that reception staff would be able to cope with issues around customer service.

There are renovations/maintance being conducted although this was only an issue for a few days of the stay and it was in the afternoons for a few hours.

Overall we would not return, next time I would have a hunt round and even pay a little more. We got the hotel on a deal and we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
0.2 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
1.2 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#5 of 72 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#16 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.