We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Must try the choc cake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
“Excellent! Must try the choc cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here with the Groupon deal and it was excellent.
We had a 2nd floor room overlooking the outside area of restauaurant and we loved it.
We were glad we did not go for a poolside room as the opposing sunloungers look straight into them, as a result everyone keeps the curtains closed. Whereas on the 2nd floor we could let the sun shine in and could sunbathe on the balcony.
The breakfast buffet was EXCELLENT. Perfect eggs, mountains of bacon, pastries, fruit and daily changes - as well as three or four Thai style dishes (which we ate after our bacon and eggs).
The staff were hardworking, attentive and there is lots of them.
Room was big and clean and the bath tub was a great size and came with plenty of bubble bath.
Small gym had a treadmill, bike, lots of weights/weight machines and was good for working off the breakfast.
The chocolate truffle cakes (in reception/coffee longe counter) were AMAZING.
When leaving the hotel the Thai place on the left (in same lane) does great food. We had a takeaway pad thai for under 100tbh. There is a great bar on the left with large out door sofa swing things - very chilled.
GGs Pizza was good if you get sick of Thai and the Dino Park mini golf was good fun.
One of our Karon highlights was the City Phuket Tour which included a short elephant trek, intresting trip to a cashew far, Kata voew point, temple (with roaming monkeys) and lots more. Well worth it.

Downsides were the pool side cocktails - sickly sweet and not as authentic as we had had in other places. Scrap the current extensive menu and get some fresh fruit in and a tad more booze.
Would have been better if the WiFi was free!

Our Thai set meal for two was delicious, but the portion was a bit small. Despite the food being great and live music most nights the restaurant was dead each night which was a shame as if there had been more people we would have used it more.

On the Friday the staff held a short cocktail party with a live trio of musicians/singers (free drinks and nibbles!). The freindly manager went round and spoke to everyone and it was good fun and a lovely touch/perefct end!

Room Tip: Avoid poolside rooms as they lack privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    149
    45
    15
    5
See reviews for
113
214
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was best choice to stay in pool access room. I simply jumped into the pool from my room and reached the pool side bar where the fresh mojito i have. It was great time to stay there. It takes only one minute to the beach and various shops were there around the hotel including convenience store. If i have a chance to go to Karon beach again, i would stay there, definitely. Of course, pool access room will be my choice!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed three nights in pool access room. It was great choice to stay there. I could jump into the pool right away from my room and there was cozy pool bar, too. The bar was very impressive in terms of freshness. When i made and order for one glass of mojito, the batenders made the most fresh mojito i have ever had. Also, I was able to easily go to karon beach which took only one minute from the hotel. If i had a chance to go to Karon beach again, i would definitely have stayed there. Pool access room is the best.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We headed to karon after a busy couple of months traveling. It was just what we wanted, a clean laid back resort. The staff are all great, they are helpful and always smile. We spent quite a bit of time around the pool, the bar staff were great. We often found ourselves eating lunch and having a couple of drinks round the pool due to the atmosphere. The rooms were good rather beds were comfy and the shower pressure was top notch. The gym is relatively well equipped, the best I've used throughout the 2 months. All in all a great place, the cocktail evening which happens on Fridays is a great treat and a good way to chat to the staff and other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just completed 8 nights at the resort. This is not a 4 star resort, I would rate it as a high two/low three, you get what you pay for.

There were some positives the pool was nice, room clean and safe.

On the negatives, the breakfast was below average, we had to ask to have our room serviced as it had not been completed by 5pm on one occasion. The rooms are starting to date and the TV was old.

The day before we checked out, the reception staff started to ask when we were intending to leave,to this I responded that we would be checking out at 12pm, the night before we were to check out we were asked again before we went for dinner and on our return from dinner, I responded we would leave at check out time 12pm. I then received a wake up call at 6:30am the day of check out (that had not been requested), as we were leaving the room at 12:05pm I again received a call from reception stating that we had to check out as they had someone already there to check in. I found this very annoying, and have not come across this behavioiur anywhere else in the world. It is very unprofessional. I complained to reception about the unrequested wake up call, the reception person was not able to respond as English for some of the staff is very minimal. To be rated higher I would expect that reception staff would be able to cope with issues around customer service.

There are renovations/maintance being conducted although this was only an issue for a few days of the stay and it was in the afternoons for a few hours.

Overall we would not return, next time I would have a hunt round and even pay a little more. We got the hotel on a deal and we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just got home from a wonderful holiday at Karon Sea Sands resort. The staff were welcoming and friendly.we arrived at 1:30 am and the staff showed us to our room which was air conditioned and spacious. The resort was well positioned with easy access to all facilities.just a tuktuk ride to paying and kata

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful resort. Staff were friendly, and got to know us quite well. Breakfast changed daily and staff were very helpful. Pool was nice. Even though our bathroom flooded every time we showered, it didnt bother us. We would deffinatly come back here

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa

Address: 208 / 2, Karon Beach Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Sea Sands Resort And Spa
Karon Sea Sands Hotel Karon
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.