We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Phuket Resort

Save Saved
You added Marina Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Phuket Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Check Our Website
Ranked #3 of 69 hotels in Karon
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a review that has been pending for 5 years now! We stayed here during our honeymoon and had the best experience here. We compare all the resorts we stay in to Marina Phuket to this day. The staff is helpful and the property is excellent!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    95
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
82
270
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for our honey in December 2010. We enjoyed it. Great location..close enough to the shops but far away enough from the hustle & bustle. I was very sick on my honeymoon and we were in a garden room right at the back of the resort. One day I couldn't walk all the way there and the staff saw this so they were kind enough to move me to a room closer to reception without even having to ask.Very accomodating and caring. The beach is pristine and lovely. Overall a very pleasent stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The resort is ideally located on Karon Kata beach in a landscaped garden setting overlooking the beach and sea. The staff is very welcoming and the restaurant "on The Rocks" is a beautiful place to start and end the day. The rooms are spacious and well kept .The location is ideal for enjoying all that Karon Beach has to offer. It is close to everything that anyone could need. The location near the beach makes it ideal for snorkelling as well as enjoying all the ammenities of the beautiful beach. One cannot forget about the beautiful pool with the waterfall in an idylic location. We spent 9 wonderful days there and look forward to returning .

Room Tip: We chose a wonderful Garden room that fit the bill for us #115
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Marina has become even better ! This is the fourth visit to this hotel. Especially on New Year holidays.
Great pool with waterfall and Jacuzzi. Massages can be booked there. Sala restaurant re-opened. Breakfasts were more comfortable .. Staff, as always attentive and friendly. Very happy stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an Ocean view room in April for our honeymoon and it was amazing.
We had a great view and an absolutly beautiful room. Breakfast was free daily and it was always very nice. All of the staff were so polite and helpful :) Heaps of great restaurants and a beautiful beach just metres away
We would definitly recommend staying here, the ocean view room was great!

Room Tip: Ocean room, great views and not a far walk from the rest of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands, scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Not 5 Star. The rooms are very good - recommend the Ocean View. They are still re-building in early December. They have enlarged the reception area with no air-conditioned area (ridiculous) - they have got rid of the beautifully air-conditioned and very useful travel hut with its free wi-fi. But the Ocean rooms at least have internet through the TV's. Air-conditioning was noisy. Breakfast is OK but more 3 star than 5 star. Our main problem was at the end of the 8 day stay. My wife and I had the same meals for 24 hours prior to this except for lunch which we took at the Marina - my rice with chicken seemed dry like it had been warmed-up - 12 hours later I was sick as a dog, every hour for 7 hours. Very nasty. I was feeling ill the morning we had to leave but they presented us with a bill which included 4 or 5 Evian waters (at £2 each) - these had been in the mini bar (over the week) - we never touch mini-bars. They provide Marina mineral water bottles free of charge which are free and we only used those. But as ill as I was feeling - they made my wife go with them to the room to discuss this - while I had to sit feeling really ill in that non-air-conditioned Reception area. They finally relented but that was not a good ending. They do provide a good free Airport shuttle; but we had to pay 1,000 Baht to get them to take us to our next stop at Laguna (Dusit Thani - wonderful place). Unfortunately he took us the coast route which is very curvy and sick-inducing! What a mess is Patong, at least Karon and Kata areas are relatively peaceful - I would avoid Patong from what I saw of it. Laguna Resort is like heaven (apart from Best Western Allamanda which is the worst of the hotels there - although cheap).
Anyway, Marina - we went in February, wished we hadn't gone back in November (did get 20% discount as returning guests) (and still very heavy rain at times). Won't go again - it is a self-proclaimed 5 Star but 4 star is pushing it. Lugana next time - truly 5 Star.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms best - if it's your second trip they should give you a 20% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Marina at least 10 times over the last 20yrs and it just keeps getting better!
They have managed to grow and improve the hotel with each new renovation, but still keep that personal touch that makes you feel like you have come home as you walk through there beautiful grounds to your room. The new pool has added lots of extra deck space, and the new pool bar looked so very tempting, although wasn't completed in Nov.
On The Rocks Restaurant was open for breakfast, and was a wonderful place to start the day.
Don't tell just anyone about this Special Resort as it books up early, and you will be hard pressed to find a better Hotel on the Island
Enjoy

Room Tip: The first couple of Ocean View rooms have only a peek-a-boo view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#3 Business Hotel in Karon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#4 Family Hotel in Karon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.