We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Marina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Marina Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Marina Phuket Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$125 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Moscow
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Updated Marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Marina has become even better ! This is the fourth visit to this hotel. Especially on New Year holidays.
Great pool with waterfall and Jacuzzi. Massages can be booked there. Sala restaurant re-opened. Breakfasts were more comfortable .. Staff, as always attentive and friendly. Very happy stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    100
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
88
283
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an Ocean view room in April for our honeymoon and it was amazing.
We had a great view and an absolutly beautiful room. Breakfast was free daily and it was always very nice. All of the staff were so polite and helpful :) Heaps of great restaurants and a beautiful beach just metres away
We would definitly recommend staying here, the ocean view room was great!

Room Tip: Ocean room, great views and not a far walk from the rest of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands, scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Not 5 Star. The rooms are very good - recommend the Ocean View. They are still re-building in early December. They have enlarged the reception area with no air-conditioned area (ridiculous) - they have got rid of the beautifully air-conditioned and very useful travel hut with its free wi-fi. But the Ocean rooms at least have internet through the TV's. Air-conditioning was noisy. Breakfast is OK but more 3 star than 5 star. Our main problem was at the end of the 8 day stay. My wife and I had the same meals for 24 hours prior to this except for lunch which we took at the Marina - my rice with chicken seemed dry like it had been warmed-up - 12 hours later I was sick as a dog, every hour for 7 hours. Very nasty. I was feeling ill the morning we had to leave but they presented us with a bill which included 4 or 5 Evian waters (at £2 each) - these had been in the mini bar (over the week) - we never touch mini-bars. They provide Marina mineral water bottles free of charge which are free and we only used those. But as ill as I was feeling - they made my wife go with them to the room to discuss this - while I had to sit feeling really ill in that non-air-conditioned Reception area. They finally relented but that was not a good ending. They do provide a good free Airport shuttle; but we had to pay 1,000 Baht to get them to take us to our next stop at Laguna (Dusit Thani - wonderful place). Unfortunately he took us the coast route which is very curvy and sick-inducing! What a mess is Patong, at least Karon and Kata areas are relatively peaceful - I would avoid Patong from what I saw of it. Laguna Resort is like heaven (apart from Best Western Allamanda which is the worst of the hotels there - although cheap).
Anyway, Marina - we went in February, wished we hadn't gone back in November (did get 20% discount as returning guests) (and still very heavy rain at times). Won't go again - it is a self-proclaimed 5 Star but 4 star is pushing it. Lugana next time - truly 5 Star.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms best - if it's your second trip they should give you a 20% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Marina at least 10 times over the last 20yrs and it just keeps getting better!
They have managed to grow and improve the hotel with each new renovation, but still keep that personal touch that makes you feel like you have come home as you walk through there beautiful grounds to your room. The new pool has added lots of extra deck space, and the new pool bar looked so very tempting, although wasn't completed in Nov.
On The Rocks Restaurant was open for breakfast, and was a wonderful place to start the day.
Don't tell just anyone about this Special Resort as it books up early, and you will be hard pressed to find a better Hotel on the Island
Enjoy

Room Tip: The first couple of Ocean View rooms have only a peek-a-boo view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Overall hotel was good. I got jungle room and it really felt like living in jungles with monkeys knocking your window in the morning. Might be scary for solo travelers.
Good:
Room was clean and spacious with a big window;
View is incredible;
Staff was nice and willing to help;
Breakfast was good although not a 5 star one.
Bad:
I had mosquito attacks and couldn't sleep at night. Door and window chinks were big enough. Mosquito repellent didn't work. (this was true only for jungle view room, my friend with an ocean view didn't suffer that much);
Air conditioning worked only when you are in the room. I am usually fine with it, the problem was enormous amount of mosquitoes and lizards and other bugs appearing when your room gets outside temperature;
Hotel doesn't own the beach, it was dirty

I personally would try another hotel next time. But this was a good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is just between the beaches of Kata and Karon, and is like a small jungle in the middle of the city. The gardens are so well maintained, it is just beautiful. There is a direct access to Karon beach, but there are no chairs or umbrella available from the hotel. You can rent some for a small amount of money. The pool area is very small and not really nice.
We arrived around 7pm and the hotel was overbooked, so the reception upgraded us to the Villa suite against a small extra amount per night. The Villa was just amazingly beautiful, pure luxury. It was directly on the sea, with approx 100sqm size. it included a beautiful spa. Every detail was thought of, from the stunning flowers arrangement, to the L'occitane toilettries, fresh fruits, internet connection, etc...
The restaurant The Rock was nice, although the variety of the breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days in May in an ocean view room. The room was beautiful and we had a nice view of the beach and sea. Loved that we could surf the net on the tv screen in the room and the free wifi. Breakfast at the rocks restaurant was great too! Food was of good quality.
Proximity to Karon beach was a real plus.

Nadia the baby elephant who visits thr hotel in the mornings was so adorable (if you can look beyond the exploitative bit).

Some negatIves, however. Nothing
Much nearby to see or do if you aren't a beach lounger. Luckily for us we rented a car and drove around the island. Didn't manage to discover any good spas in the vicinity of the hotel either. Also, on the last day, the recep girl was a little curt when we were settling the bill. Nothing's perfect I guess.

Overall it's a great place to stay and I would love to come back again! Was told they were renovating the hotel. Can't wait to see the hotel again post-renovation!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Family Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.