We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! Will come back again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Marina Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Marina Phuket Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$125 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great stay! Will come back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days in May in an ocean view room. The room was beautiful and we had a nice view of the beach and sea. Loved that we could surf the net on the tv screen in the room and the free wifi. Breakfast at the rocks restaurant was great too! Food was of good quality.
Proximity to Karon beach was a real plus.

Nadia the baby elephant who visits thr hotel in the mornings was so adorable (if you can look beyond the exploitative bit).

Some negatIves, however. Nothing
Much nearby to see or do if you aren't a beach lounger. Luckily for us we rented a car and drove around the island. Didn't manage to discover any good spas in the vicinity of the hotel either. Also, on the last day, the recep girl was a little curt when we were settling the bill. Nothing's perfect I guess.

Overall it's a great place to stay and I would love to come back again! Was told they were renovating the hotel. Can't wait to see the hotel again post-renovation!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    100
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
88
283
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I visited Phuket for his 30th birthday and were were blown away with this place. Absolutely the best service I have ever had, super attentive and very friendly. They call you by name and make you feel right at home. Not to mention the price was great - and the rooms were breathtaking. I would definitely recommend splurging on the ocean view it was well worth the extra money. The on-site restaurant "on the rocks" was delish and could compete with most of the better restaurants in the area. The second restaurant was under renovations when we were there but maybe we will just have to make another trip to try it! Access to the beach was super close, just a short walk down a wooden walkway. Pool was nice too.

Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean view - after traveling from TX all the way to Thailand it was a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

First time in Phuket for my honeymoon vacation and booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and am so glad I did! This isn't your typical modern hotel accommodation in Phuket. Rooms bungalows are stuck deep within a well designed tropical jungle. It felt like we were in the middle of the rainforest even when swimming in the pool. We booked the Jungle room for 50% off during April 2012 since the Ocean View rooms were completely sold out. Absolutely had a great time at the resort although our windows curtains broke (staff said this happened often), hot water ran out for an hour and the air conditioning broke as well, but the hotel staff were quick to fix the issues. You also get your own private balcony behind your bungalow although I didn't really visit that area due to fear of bugs! You can also book a 3 hour enclosed private hotel taxi to various tourist attractions for 450 or 650 baht. When riding tuk tuk, be sure to emphasize that the hotel's located at the END of Karon Beach, which doesn't fall into the Kata Beach area or they will ask for additional money. Also make sure to visit Central Phuket Mall to get some authentic Thai food at the food court for local prices! Bring lots of bug spray and enjoy the daily free breakfast overlooking Karon Beach!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have been to Phuket numerous times but this is our first stay at the Marina Phuket and certainly won't be our last. We were on a 16 night trip around Asia and the Marina Phuket was our absolute favourite. We stayed in an oceanview room (212) and it was wonderful. The room decor is very thai inspired, very clean and spacious. Our room was at the end of a block of rooms and was therefore a little bit of a very pleasant walk along the beautiful jungle paths to get anywhere but also very quiet and private. The view from our balcony was brilliant and we spent many hours sitting out there listening to the waves, enjoying the view and reading our books. Ahhh, how's the serenity!!! :-)

The staff are all very courteous and friendly and always available to help you with anything you require.

The restaurant was wonderful whether you were there for breakfast or dinner. Good quality food and cocktails and spectacular views.

I would HIGHLY reccommend this resort as a wonderful, relaxing place to stay in Karon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

It's located in a moderately active zone of Phuket. We stayed in two adjacent Jungle Suites, a family of four.

The positives :
The rooms are very well appointed, the decor very tasteful and classy, toilets well furnished. The Apple TV in rooms is a nice add-on. Lights are aplenty.

Outdoors are lush green and you really feel the supposedly intended aloofness.

Service is prompt, staff friendly and polite.

Proximity to Karon beach is a huge plus.

The negatives :
Jungle terraces have zero views, in fact one doesn't feel like relaxing there.
The walk to the Jungle suites is unkempt and boring. Perhaps a Patio, relocating the Swimming Pool, a Spa perhaps enroute would have livened it up. It becomes very dull especially in the evenings.
Reception and the entrance : wherever one visits similar scale resorts in the world, the entry is far more inviting, cleaner and beautifully done up. The entry and reception of the hotel don't excite, don't match up with the overall experience.
Restaurant "On the Rocks" : is small, by any standards.
Beach : Some dedicated beach chairs, own or with an arrangement and service would have made the beach experience far more exciting.

A good hotel but disappointing by Phuket standards.

Room Tip: Jungle suites are definitely not worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here in April for 5 nights in a jungle room and we loved it!! This place was amazing, the rooms were beautiful, the walk from our room to the pool and to breakfast was so cool, it was like you were actually walking through a jungle. The complimentary breakfast was really good, and all the staff were so awesome. So friendly and accommodating. The location of the resort is great, right in the town of Karon and so close to everything, but yet when your at the resort it has a very relaxing and secluded feeling. We loved Phuket and everything it has to offer, but we really think our time there wouldnt of been so enjoyable if we hadnt of stayed here. Truely an amazing place, couldnt ask for better!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a jungle room and thought it was defintely worth paying a little extra for this room. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Ct.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Marina Phuket Resort is an excellent choice for a mid-size hotel in Phuket. It is located at the south end of Karon Beach, where the beach joins the rocky peninsular forming the south end of the bay. When our car first pulled into the hotel, I thought there had been some mistake. The reception area was barely off of a busy city street. Once we left the reception area, we realized that the noise and confusion of the city street was left behind, and we were in a quiet garden. Its 100 or so rooms are scattered through acres of beautiful foliage and flowers. Stone and wooden walkways connect the reception area, the pool, the restaurant, and the rooms.

Our garden room, although the smallest of the three styles that they offer, did not lack for space or comfort. It was spotlessly clean and well furnished, with a king size bed, a window seat lounge, HD TV, a long desk, closets, and a safe. It appeared to have been recently renovated. The bath was small but beautifully tiled in unusual earth and aqua tones. The jungle rooms and the sea view rooms are larger, but all offer similar views of foliage and flowerers.

It is one of only a couple of hotels in Karon that is directly on the beach. Although very little of the beach is in front of the hotel, you do have access the entire length of Karon Beach. The area beneath the restaurant can be used for snorkeling, if the tide and surf are right. If you leave the hotel grounds, there are many shops, restaurants, and banks within a couple of blocks. Most of the rest of Karon can be reached by walking on the beach or road or with a short tuk-tuk ride.

The restaurant overlooks the entire length of the beach, the bay, and the hills beyond. The breakfast buffet offers oriental and western dishes including cooked to order eggs. The dinners are excellent, and I have posted a separate review of the restaurant.

Look for the baby elephant that visits mornings around 10 or 11 am. For the price of a few bananas, you can get a picture of him kissing you with his trunk.

Since the rooms and facilities are scattered throughout the gardens, some walking and climbing is required to get from your room to the restaurant, pool, or lobby. If you like a hotel that has all of its facilities in one large building, the Marina Phuket is not for you. If like a constantly changing array flowers, birds, and greenery, this is the place to stay. The hotel also provides free pick up and return to the airport, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi even in the widely scattered rooms, and other amenities bundled into the price.

I have heard that the hotel will be closing for some months this summer to expand the pool and restaurant area and complete other renovations. Check with the management, but It should be reopening in the fall with even nicer facilities.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are an excellent value. The Jungle rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 Family Hotel in Karon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.