We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and affordable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Phuket

Save Saved
You added The Old Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 73 hotels in Karon
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and affordable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Room was quite spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast good and staff also very friendly. Close to Restaurants and Beach. Not to far from other attractions in Phuket. Easy to book sightseeing trips as the stand is on the ground floor, next to the lift. Stayed for 4 days and will definately stay longer next time. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ground floor could be best, however there is a lift available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    365
    108
    30
    21
See reviews for
156
420
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mölnlycke, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very nice personel at the hotel. Breakfast was very nice. Not to far from the beach.
We really like Phuket and Karon beach. Truly recommend it both for families and people travelling alone. Easy to book islandtours on your own. You don't have to book via your travelling agency.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in the sino wing.
The room was spacious for us (my partner and I). Loved the bed, it was massive. Nice view of the street stalls.
Only thing was the shower, it was mouldy and too low on the wall that u couldn't stand straight under it.
Other then that, pretty good service and an overall lovely place to stay. We would go back :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went to Thailand for 16 days, 9 here and 6 in Bangkok...should have. Stayed the whole time here ! We celebrated our anniversary with two of our. Fa mily but more like best friends
We stayed in a pool access room, was just great,,the staff were so friendly, could not do enough to help you, they were just lovely, going back again without any problems..loved it , thanks

Room Tip: Go for the pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I firstly wish to say the general staff were extremely friendly and efficient...except the night desk staff..whose english when needed to inquire about a Dr was insufficient to make ourselves understood. We stayed in the pool access room in the Serene wing and though modern and sleek was furnished with painted glossy white concrete floors which were EXTREMELY slippery to even dangerous. Took a tumble almost immediately after settling into the room and almost another when there was not even any water involved. I also found the water from the shower in our bathroom very SMELLY... sickly even.. would of smelt cleaner washing in the pool than our shower. It stunk actually and I left my shower sponge and personal washer behind because of their smell. I found the breakfast menu adequate and dining area most lovely, but disliked that there was NO onsite restaurant where I could eat with some feeling of safety. This was not something made aware to us before booking there. This was the second resort we had stayed in during our trip and my first overseas holiday. Would say that though a beautiful aspect and general ease of access to most things I was somewhat dissappointed overall.. Our daughter stayed at a MUCH cheaper facility nearby and they even received free internet which we had to pay on top of our accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent our 1st wedding anniversary at The Old Phuket resort and had the time of our life!

We stayed for 1 week in January 2013 and really enjoyed the hotel, staff and its facilities. Buffet breakfast every morning with a selection of delecious Thai and western foods. Eggs are cooked to your liking at the egg station. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the massage ladies are amazing! Massages are the same price as you would pay outside, but more relaxing as they are done outdoors. Room service was very reliable. Our rooms safe had some electronic issues but staff corrected the problem immedietly after we called them. There are two swimming pools within the hotel grounds and both are very nice.

The hotel is located right across from the beach (just a short stroll) and right next to a large range of restaurants, massage and beauty salons and right near the Karon markets.

We highly recommend this beautiful hotel and we hope to stay here again when we return to Phuket.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband, teenage son and I stayed in the deluxe pool view room in the Serene Wing. Our room and bathroom were spacious modern and clean. The beds were ver firm.
the staff were friendly and attentive. room service was prompt.
Breakfast was good.
Excellent location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Best Value Hotel in Karon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#16 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.