We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good compromise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Phuket to your Saves list
The Old Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A good compromise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Old Phuket hotel offers a blend of the old and the new. It has some old world charm as well as all the modern facilities of a five star hotel that you would expect. The hotel is well situated in Karon, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and only a few minutes walk to the beach. If you tire of the sea the huge feature pool in the middle of the main hotel complex is a real drawcard. You can swim right up to your room's back door if you have a poolside suite. The package deals with airport transfer, breakfast and Internet are good value and worth considering. There is not much choice in terms of dining at the hotel but with so many cheap places nearby that is not a problem.

Karon is probably the best base in Phuket for a first time visitor. It is not as big and trashy as Patong but it is more interesting than Phuket Town with great shopping, restaurants and enough night life to give you a bit of a buzz.

Room Tip: The self contained garden suites are beautiful and romantic but if you want to be close by the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    429
    122
    37
    26
See reviews for
191
512
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at The Old Phuket from 5th - 17th November 2012 in the Sino Wing, Deluxe Room. The room we stayed in was nothing flash compared to what else the Old Phuket has to offer, but was neat and clean.

Location is great - right outside the hotel is a variety of massage places, shops restaurants with 99 baht cocktails! Staff were friendly & helpful. Had a few issues with our toilet leaking, but a quick phone call and they were up promptly to fix it.

Good buffet at breakfast time - will definitely miss the omeletes! The only negative I'd have to say is that you have to pay for Wi-fi and connection was very slow and annoying having to log in everytime. Apart from that a really great stay and I'd recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Old Phuket is replete with old charm and boasts superb hospitality. We keep going back. It's close enough to Patong's nightlife by tuktuk, but is also tucked away in tranquility for those who really want to get away from it all. One is able to explore nearby Karon and Kata beaches, at leisure. If you want to feel at home when away from home, look no further than the charming Old Phuket Hotel. Food at the hotel and at its surrounding restaurants has something for everyone and is truly outstanding. The staff both here and at the hotel itself, is competent, warm and friendly, echoing the fact that Thailand really is the land of smiles!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Goid location with heaps of restaurants and massage places around. Close to the beach, tour info and money exchange!
Make sure to go with the Serene wing and Not sino wing!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at The Old Phuket Hotel for 3 nights after reading quite a lot of reviews from Trip Advisor. We booked it through Sawadee.com. From the airport it took almost an hour to reach the hotel. As we were a group of 6 we had booked a commuter for 1200 Baht (from a transport counter at Phuket airport). The moment we reached the hotel we were in love with it. It's a lovely place to stay. We had booked private Jacuzzi rooms @ Sino Wing. The rooms are spacious & clean and the washrooms big with a big bathtub. I didn't like the shower area which is open, lacks privacy and not very clean. The jacuzzi was very relaxing... the only issue was that it is not possible to control the water temperature. However, there are quite a few + points..

1) Service is very good.
2) Breakfast is excellent.
3) Pool is very well maintained
4) Wifi is available (but chargeable)
5) Lots of food stalls & massage parlors outside the hotel (on way to the beach)

The hotel has a travel desk but it charges more for day trips. It is better to book trips from travel agencies outside. We had booked our trips to Phang Nga Bay and Koh Khai islands from a travel agency (owned by a lady) on the way to the beach. She arranged a tour for us at a discounted rate and the tour was truly good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a great hotel. We were fortunate to have won a prize of 6 nights accommodation at The Old Phuket. My wife corresponded with the hotel to confirm dates, and she found reservations to be punctual and friendly with their responses to our queries.

When we arrived, check in was seamless. However, as we arrived early, our room was not ready, but we had expected that. To use up the time waiting for our room, we went to the poolside massage marquee. I had the Thai Massage, and my wife had a foot massage. Both massages were 300 baht each. Very good value for money. After the massages, we decided to eat lunch at the pool bar in the Serene Wing. Lunch was good, and the menu typical and suitable for a poolside environment. After lunch, we collected our key for our room, which was a pool view room in the Serene Wing. This was to be our accommodation for the next 3 nights before we transferred to the a Private Jacuzzi room in the Sino wing.

SERENE WING

The room is bright and modern. The decor is very understated, with dark wood finishings and green trim such as curtains etc, and white walls. This gave the room a very elegant feel. Yes, the floor is polished concrete, but, unlike other reviewers I feel this adds to the simple decor and elegance of this room.

The bathroom is stunning visually, with a great shower. The bathroom is very long and narrow, and as you walk in you face the basin, with toilet to your right and the shower and bath to the left. To get to the shower, you cross a pebble covered area and then you are in the shower. Beyond that is the bathtub, which is very impractical, as you have to climb over the ledge to get to the bath as well as to the blinds to close the view across the courtyard. The impracticality of the bath aside, it is a very attractive bathroom.

The room has a nice big king size bed, and in typical Thai style was a bit on the firm side. I did find the aircon to a be a bit noisy. It is centrally controlled, so you can only switch it on and off. Two bottles of still water were provided daily. A flat screen TV is provided, with several channels provided.

Housekeeping is also very good. They kept the room very clean, and after the first night, ensured we had a enough sachets of coffee and coffee creamer for morning and evening coffee.

SINO WING

What a contrast to the Serene Wing! Decor of the room is more traditional, but again not over the top. The bathroom is a more conventional configuration, and is very spacious. An interesting point is the outdoor shower. They have tried to make it private by putting some sheeting over the shower and some pot plants that hide you from the view of the hotel next door.

The bed is also a king size bed. A similar TV to the Serene wing is provided.

What I did notice is that housekeeping only replaced coffee and coffee creamer used. It almost seemed as if we were in two different hotels!!

The jacuzzi is a little old fashioned, but is great fun to use. Plenty of foam bath and shampoo is provided to ensure one has sufficient bubbles.

Breakfast is great, and staff eager to please. Certain foods are changed every day, so one does not get too bored day after day.

We swam in the pool in the Serene Wing. The water is warm, the pool is very clean, and there are sufficient loungers for guests to use. The pool bar is also right there.

The location of the Old Phuket is great. There are several restaurants just outside the hotel, so one does not have to venture far to have a variety of places to eat your meals. Karon Beach is quiet but it does have everything Patong Beach has. The hotel does provide a shuttle to Patong, and you are dropped off at JungCelylon Mall if you want to experience the hustle and bustle of Patong.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend pool access rooms if they are available.

Room Tip: If you can book one of the pool access rooms, it is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezulwini, Swaziland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been to Thailand before and can honestly say that 'The Old Phuket Hotel' in Karon has been the best experience so far and we will certainly stay there again. The service was excellent and location is absolutely perfect and the staff were Great! The facilites at the Hotel are also excellent. We stayed in the Sino Wing and although had some family staying in the Serene Wing, we preferred the Sino Wing but that would be a matter of personal choice. We just found the Sino Wing more cosy in Decor and we loved the easy access to the pool on the third floor which was in our opinion a lot quieter and more private than the main pool at the Serene Wing, but offered the same services i.e bar & food service as well as massage area. Our stay was for 10 x nights and we can honestly not find any fault with our amazing Honeymoon at 'The Old Phuket Hotel". Karon is an amazing location and is close enough to the hustle & bustle of Phuket or the quiet serene beautiful Kata Beach.

Room Tip: If you want large modern rooms and like busy and lots of people around then book in the Serene Wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.