We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Phuket to your Saves list
The Old Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 984 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The old phuket is such a well kept resort, located across the road from Karon Beach within walking distance to everything it was a lovely place to stay. We were only there for one night but it was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the security were even nicer (and a little cheeky). If you're looking for somewhere out of the hustle & bustle of Patong then Karon Beach is your place! Nice big rooms, clean and comfortable. Lash out & spend the little more for the jacuzzi. yes it did take almost an hour to fill up & the hot water wasn't very hot at all (we had no cold water in the jacuzzi at all) but it was lovely.
They also have a rooftop pool as well, but we didn't get a chance to use it unfortunately. It was a great hotel for the cost and location i would definitely stay here again. The only down side is we did order a pick up to take us to the airport in the morning and i confirmed this with them the night before when we arrived, but in the morning they seemed to have forgotten or something? It was almost like they just got a staff member to take us in there personal car because we waited for 20 minutes before anyone even arrived/took us. But apart from that it was a lovely hotel & i would recommend it if you were wanting to stay out of the hustle & bustle of Patong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    410
    119
    34
    26
See reviews for
176
482
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a fantastic place to visit Old Phuket Hotel Karon Beach!!!!!!

When booking a holiday online your always a little worried about, is it as beautiful as the pics, is it really going to be as nice as what is looks over the net.
Well I can say Old Phuket is beautiful, it looks exactly as it does over the net, the location is perfect right inbetween Patong ( Party town) and Kata (a mix between karon and Patong).
Karon is more family orientated with beautiful beaches and wonderful restaurants

When my Fiance and i arrived we where upgraded from a deluxe room to a family room which was beautiful but to be honest a little to big for just the 2 of us, we spoke to the front desk and they made a plan right away to show us the other rooms at the hotel that might suit us a little better, great service friendly staff.

There are several tours and trips you can choose from at the hotel, the lady that runs the tour info center is incredible, we booked a Kao lak Safari (really not great) tour and Phuket Fantasea show on the same day. The safari was suppose to be back at the hotel at 16h30 and fantasea only left at 18h00 - more then enough time right? but as it goes the Safari only arrived back at the hotel at 18h20 we ran to the tour desk to be met by our miracle lady who informed us that she noticed we had been running late so she cancelled our booking for that night and moved it to the following evening, now if thats not 5 star service I dont know what is.

All in All it was 11 days that we will remember forever

Thank you Old Phuket and all the wonderful staff

Room Tip: Sino wing is much quiter, away from the main pool but has sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The old phuket is such a well kept resort Breakfast is awesome. Big room sizes.free shuttles out from surrounding restaurants and massage facilities are brilliant. Karon beach carries warnings of 'rip tides' and travel advisories sometimes state that this is not a safe swimming beach, but this is utter rot, especially if you are Australian or South African and are used to a few waves. The rip tide is a gentle pull and the waves aren't strong enough to even body board! There are tuk tuks and taxis available at all hours to transport you at minimal cost to other parts of the island, like Phuket town and the Banglar area. Highly recommended hotel. I will use them again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 401 over look the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The old phuket is such a well kept resort across the road from Karon Beach. The food is average but there are plenty of alternatives around. Breakfast is actually pretty awesome. Big room sizes. Go for the deluxe pool access for a little added privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Old Phuket for 8 nights in September 2012. The hotel and the facilities were lovely and it wasn't to far from everything. There are lots of restaurants just outside the hotel which are quite good, although my husband and I both got sick (on seperate days) from the food at 2 of the restaurants. It's hard to predict though as I got sick from a drink that I had had at that restaurant before so maybe I got some bad ice in there the second time or something.

The staff at the hotel are all friendly and polite and the buffett breakfast is lovely. The beds are a little firm though and by the end of the week we were looking forward to a comfortable bed but the bathroom and general living area is well designed, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

What an ideal place from which to explore Phuket. The hotel has been refurbed and modernised without losing character. A short walk to all amenities, the shops, restaurants and the beach and really easy to reach other attractions on the island due to great organization, free shuttles etc. from the hotel itself. Kids can wander around quite safely and the huge pool, grassy play area and close beach make it ideal for all ages.
The only downside in the three storey wing is that the baths are NOT ideal for older people,as you have to be quite gymnastic to get to them, to run them and to get in and out and if your blinds aren't perfectly arranged, you are in full view of the other rooms.
Staff is friendly and efficient, breakfasts are fabulous, surrounding restaurants and massage facilities are brilliant.
Karon beach carries warnings of 'rip tides' and travel advisories sometimes state that this is not a safe swimming beach, but this is utter rot, especially if you are Australian or South African and are used to a few waves. The rip tide is a gentle pull and the waves aren't strong enough to even body board!
There are tuk tuks and taxis available at all hours to transport you at minimal cost to other parts of the island, like Phuket town and the Banglar area.
Highly recommended hotel. I will use them again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms with 'jacuzzis' as advertised are on ground level, right on the pool, so are subject t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the New wing on the 3rd floor. Room was large with a bath and a shower. We had a view of the Pool. Breakfast every morning was lovely and fresh.Eggs were cooked to your liking. Plenty of juice and breads. Hot and cold food. Staff very lovely and helpful. Room service was an issue, as it is not cooked on the premises. Our Pizza was not cooked and it was all cold by the time it arrived to our room. We used the My Time consultant to arrange all our tours, this made everything effortless. Would highly recommend Wicky as she was awesome and gave us great deals. Fantastic Gym and Pool area. Computers available with affordable internet connections. The local bars and restaurants were great and very well priced. The Karon area is less hectic than Patong and easy to get around.

Room Tip: Dont order room service, and if you have a sensitive tummy Dont eat rice with your meals. Do as much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.