We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Phuket

Save Saved
You added The Old Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 69 hotels in Karon
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I want to go back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The old phuket is such a well kept resort across the road from Karon Beach. The food is average but there are plenty of alternatives around. Breakfast is actually pretty awesome. Big room sizes. Go for the deluxe pool access for a little added privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    359
    106
    30
    20
See reviews for
155
413
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Old Phuket for 8 nights in September 2012. The hotel and the facilities were lovely and it wasn't to far from everything. There are lots of restaurants just outside the hotel which are quite good, although my husband and I both got sick (on seperate days) from the food at 2 of the restaurants. It's hard to predict though as I got sick from a drink that I had had at that restaurant before so maybe I got some bad ice in there the second time or something.

The staff at the hotel are all friendly and polite and the buffett breakfast is lovely. The beds are a little firm though and by the end of the week we were looking forward to a comfortable bed but the bathroom and general living area is well designed, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

What an ideal place from which to explore Phuket. The hotel has been refurbed and modernised without losing character. A short walk to all amenities, the shops, restaurants and the beach and really easy to reach other attractions on the island due to great organization, free shuttles etc. from the hotel itself. Kids can wander around quite safely and the huge pool, grassy play area and close beach make it ideal for all ages.
The only downside in the three storey wing is that the baths are NOT ideal for older people,as you have to be quite gymnastic to get to them, to run them and to get in and out and if your blinds aren't perfectly arranged, you are in full view of the other rooms.
Staff is friendly and efficient, breakfasts are fabulous, surrounding restaurants and massage facilities are brilliant.
Karon beach carries warnings of 'rip tides' and travel advisories sometimes state that this is not a safe swimming beach, but this is utter rot, especially if you are Australian or South African and are used to a few waves. The rip tide is a gentle pull and the waves aren't strong enough to even body board!
There are tuk tuks and taxis available at all hours to transport you at minimal cost to other parts of the island, like Phuket town and the Banglar area.
Highly recommended hotel. I will use them again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms with 'jacuzzis' as advertised are on ground level, right on the pool, so are subject t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the New wing on the 3rd floor. Room was large with a bath and a shower. We had a view of the Pool. Breakfast every morning was lovely and fresh.Eggs were cooked to your liking. Plenty of juice and breads. Hot and cold food. Staff very lovely and helpful. Room service was an issue, as it is not cooked on the premises. Our Pizza was not cooked and it was all cold by the time it arrived to our room. We used the My Time consultant to arrange all our tours, this made everything effortless. Would highly recommend Wicky as she was awesome and gave us great deals. Fantastic Gym and Pool area. Computers available with affordable internet connections. The local bars and restaurants were great and very well priced. The Karon area is less hectic than Patong and easy to get around.

Room Tip: Dont order room service, and if you have a sensitive tummy Dont eat rice with your meals. Do as much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Before I go any further, I would like everyone to know that I recon "attitude" plays a major role in life. We stayed in a beautifully decorated Sino Wing room. This room met all our expectations, but seeing that we were on a well deserved holiday we were out and about and the only time we were in our room was when we went to bed. The staff was all very friendly and helpfull. We thourougly enjoyed the buffet breakfasts. The gardens are very well kept and the swimming pools were sparkling. The free shullte service to Central Festival Mall as well as to the Weekend Market in Old Phuket Town came in very handy A day before we had to check out, there was a slight sewerage problem and without asking, the hotel mangement moved us to a fantastic Serene wing room with pool access - luxury galore. This hotel is walking distance from the beach and all other amenities. Therefore, if one's attitude is positive, any holiday will be amazing but Old Phuket Hotel will definately see us again !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in a very spacious deluxe room in the Sino wing. It was a wonderful and pleasant experience. The staff was extremly friendly and pleasant. We also experienced problems with the toilet not flushing but was later fixed. I only had one bitter experienced, we arrivedat the hotel about 10:45am and had to wait for more 3hours to check-in. We were told that the check-in time was at 14:00 and the room was not ready. On the whole it was a wonderful experience and highly recommend this hotel.

Kay & Pixie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived at The Old Phuket hotel our expectations were exceeded. We were upgraded to a deluxe room in the Serene wing which was very modern, clean, and spacious. The location of the hotel is very close to Karon beach and all the essential amenities are within short walking distance (restaurants, suit shops, tuk-tuks, massage parlours etc.).

All the hotel staff that we dealt with, right down to the cleaners, were friendly and attentive and generally went out of their way to make our stay stress-free. We received especially good service from Odie at the front desk and Som at the Shark Restaurant.

The included buffet breakfast was very good and it is set in beautiful surroundings. The hotel provides free shuttles to neighbouring Patong and the night market in Phuket Town, which we made good use of but you must book way in advance to avoid disappointment. To our amazement the massages were cheaper at the hotel than in the rest of Karon due to off-season discounts. There is a small gym and entertainment area onsite but they aren't on the same scale as bigger resorts and they don't have a kid's club. This didn't bother us as we don't have kids and went jogging along the beach.

Our only real criticism is that the hotel doesn't provide free wifi (24 hour access cost 200 THB which is pricey for Thailand) but this might actually be an advantage as it forced us to take a proper break from the Internet and spend more time sightseeing.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend The Old Phuket to anybody that appreciates great service and value for money. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the older Sino Wing are more quaint and traditional whereas rooms in the newer Serene Wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.