We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6 Karon Rd | Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 73 hotels in Karon
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my second try to write review. First one was in two languages.
I stayed in this hotel in March, some years ago. It's nice hotel. Rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is good. I don't have any bad word about this hotel, but WOW moment also didnt have.
Hotel location is good, between Karon and Kata beach.
Maybe important what I can say is, that its not good for people who has difficulties with walking. Because some part of hotel is on higher level.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    91
    26
    18
    15
See reviews for
58
81
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuopio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Me and my friend had a lovely two week vacation in Diamond Cottage 21st of November until 6th of December. We had pool view room, cleaning service was perfect and hotel had charm and was tidy. Breakfast was good and what to be expected in 3-4 star hotel - adequate but nothing extraordinary .

Best thing about the hotel was the staff and location. Older gentleman at the main pool bar was lovely, helpful and always smiling and making perfect cocktails and also the older gentleman who was controlling the traffic made us feel safe and looked after and always with a happy smile. Those two people really made us feel special and their service had a personal touch. Location close to Kata and Karon was so good that we didn't really need tuk tuk. I also got a beautiful bithday cake from hotel, very considerate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights (myself, Hubby and 7 year old son) and really loved it. We got upgraded to a delux room which was really nice. Really delicious buffet breakfast at the hotels restaurant, good location with Karon beach just down the road, nice restaurants on the way to the beach. My son loved the slide at the pool (there are 2 different pool areas). You can also used the Spa's jucuzzi for free which was really nice. The only downside was the shower - no shower curtain and the shower door didn't seem to stop the water from going all over the floor.
overall a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamond735, Manager at Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was nice to hear a very good reviews on TripAdvisor, thank you very much for chosen our resort, hope that our resort will have a chance to serve you and party once again on the next holidays.

With best regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surahammar, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I think it's very good!! Good food and very friendly staff. Nice rooms. Good service. Nice when you got free towels to the pool.
There is a pool bar whitchs we like.
So a can not see any problem going back to this place.
Allsow very good taxi service beside the hotell.

Room Tip: if you want to you can upgrade your room too a room to a accec to a room with pool accec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamond735, Manager at Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Honorable Guests,

Thank you very much for your valued reviews on TripAdvisor. Your comments will help us very much to improve our hotel services and standards for our clients.

Once again, thanks for chosen us for your destination holidays.

With best regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have waited all day to do this review... I was originally supposed to stay at the Diamond Cottage Resort for 3 nights, but ended up leaving after 2 because I was so unhappy there. Although I arrived earliesh (11:30am) on my first day, I was told I would have to wait for a room to become available which was understandable. I was told to sit in the lobby which I did, but was not offered a drink or anything which is the first time that has ever happened to me somewhere so touristy such as Phuket or Bali etc. I had booked a pool access room, so theoretically the best type of room at this hotel but the staff attitude was just quite rude and unfriendly. I was offered a free hour of internet, as there were no restaurants at the hotel open and I couldn't obtain food anywhere at the hotel whilst waiting for my room. I ended up waiting for 90 minutes, and in this time got absolutely bitten alive by mosquitos, only when I went to complain at the front desk did a room then become available.
The shower pressure is crap and the water temperature is SOOOOO tepid, it was like bathing in the pool which was quite cold. Bed was hard, didn't bother me too much BUT if you are a bit sensitive with your mattress, then it is like sleeping on concrete! There was a definite mosquito problem in the room, so be prepared to spray yourself with the aerogard!
Had a chocolate bar from the minibar and the chocolate was all melted and speckly, like it was going off, use-by date was coming up pretty quickly so watch that!
Worst of all was the service and attitude at breakfast. The breakfast greeting lady had the most sour expression on her face and just grunted at me (actually on my 2nd morning she wasn't even THERE when I came in, she was sitting up the back near the bar with her friends!), I then waited close to 5 minutes on my first morning for the omelette cook to come over to the egg station, as she was having a chat with the breakfast greeting lady, and they were playing on their mobile phones. She was totally indifferent and didn't care at all that I had been waiting patiently for her to come over. She was also quite rude and unfriendly, and made no eye contact at all. The girl making eggs on the 2nd morning was marginally more friendly but the same breakfast greeting lady was around and was still rude as ever (I passed her a few times throughout the morning and she was always glaring, even if I smiled at her!).
I hated the fact that internet costs 100 baht an hour, I knew it cost but I believed it would be free in the lobby at least but no, it costs no matter where you use it. In this day of age, even the shittest of hostels and guesthouses offers free wifi, think the Diamond is appalling by not offering this, as in most hotels it's considered a basic amenity these days! Internet could also be incredibly slow, which if you're paying so much for it is not cool!!!
Pools are WAY smaller than the photographs depict (they must have had an amazing wide lens from the roof!) but they seemed nice, it was pouring with rain both days I was there so no one was swimming.
Also the leering Tailor was a pain... "Hey honey, where you going" when I'm quite obviously heading up the hill to my hotel room, he was always hanging around and very very annoying, obviously not getting too much work making any clothes (cheaper to find someone on the street)
I really hate writing bad reviews, check my other ones, most of them are very positive but the staff really disappointed me and made me feel so unwelcome, the location is great in the middle of Karon and Kata but I am now happily ensconced in a hotel half the price of the Diamond in Patong, with lovely kind staff, and it's made me realize how unhappy I was at the Diamond!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamond735, General Manager at Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Our valued guest,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us in being able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations. And encourage us to continue to do better and improve our service.
Further to your review, first of all we would like to clarify that when customer make booking, customers will be notified of the check in time and check out time. Customer can check in 2 p.m. and check out time 12.00 noon. Except, if we have room availability we can be flexible for the customer. On the day of your arrival, our rooms are full. And we have not been notified in advance to ask for a double bed. So,we decided to provide the room with twin bed. The circumstances that caused the delay because of double bed not available and the request a change suddenly.
In case of the internet, the condition is always shown obviously before booking the room that internet charges 100 baht per one hour.
However, we would like to thank you again for your comments and suggestion that we are willing to improve more for our service to make guest holiday happier. We trust that you will continue to enjoy our facilities and service upon your next visit to Phuket again.

Wish you all the very best.
The management
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel, with its friendly staff, beautiful pools, swim up bar, and comfy rooms, was simply sublime. I cannot recommend it enough. Our massages were top-notch, and travel arrangements were handled for us whenever we needed them.

Room Tip: Get the room that leads directly to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamond735, Manager at Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

It was very nice to see your reviews on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for chosen our resort to organize wedding ceremony.

Hope that Diamond Cottage Resort and Spa will be the resort to serve you again in the next holidays.

With best regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russian
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hello!My name is Rusakova Tatiana and i with my friends (Dima,Micle,Valyi,Alina and Denis)!We had cool wedding in this hotel.we do nothing and staff do all what need and we only RELAXXXX.Come to this hotel who wants to have wedding, i very-very like it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamond735, Manager at Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

It was very nice to see your reviews on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for chosen our resort to organize wedding ceremony.

Hope that Diamond Cottage Resort and Spa will be the resort to serve you again in the next holidays.

With best regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa

Address: 6 Karon Rd | Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Karon
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#19 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cottage Resort And Spa
Diamond Cottage Hotel Karon
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.