We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bestof the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarava Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarava Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mandarava Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off spa 10% off food
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bestof the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a very new resort. I spent 4 nights here with my friend. A great welcome the moment we arrived at the resort, big smile,very good information given. The staff at the lobby are really friendly and impressive. We got the room with the best view, overlooking one of the swimming pool as well as the sea view. We have tried all the 3 pools and really enjoyed the happy hour with great variety of cocktails and drinks. We wish we could stay here longer. People are really nice and quality of service. I have no question why the neighbours of mandarava is empty while mandarava resort is more like a high season. Love and enjoyed every minute here. Thank you to all staff and we will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Khun Lukusss33,
Thank you for reviewing us after your holidays in April. The most delighted and happy to learn you enjoyed services and facilities provided during your holidays.

Your great words of mouth to share with friends and family members on how you thoughts about the Mandarava resort & Spa will be much more appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    194
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
87
540
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We returned to Mandarava again this year after a wonderful stay in May last year. We were delighted to find that all the same helpful and caring staff were still there and that the facilities were nicely maintained and spotlessly clean. This hotel really is an oasis and just tucked away enough from all the hustle and bustle, but still only a short walk to Karon restaurants, market and shops. Thank you Pi, Ben, Eis, Pump, Arm, Judy and all the staff for looking after us so well and making our 9th trip to Phuket very enjoyable. We will return again. Good luck with the baby Judy!

Room Tip: The air conditioning drips but a phone call to reception and a technician is there in a flash to fix...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Khun Rod I,
Thank you for your return visit and shared a really great positive comments with us after your second call. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed services and facilities same as the first time.
The entire team especially one names mentioned here will be shared with your compliments message and this will encourage all of us to do a good, better and the best for all our customers.

We look forward to serve you again at your home away from home Mandarva resort & Spa for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Travelling here for 7 day vacation, first step into the hotel was amazing. We were welcomed with a big smile, cold drink and cold towel from the front desk staff which is really refreshing and impressive. Check-in went very smoothly and within a few minutes we were taken to our room by the hotel buggy. The room we have got is on the ground level, very specious and very private. It is like having a villa to our own. The room has everything you would needed, completed amenities and the important thing is the hi-speed wifi. We have never had a problem accessing the internet from anywhere around the resort. Breakfast was nice with variety of thai, international food as well as bread and pastry. The resort area is quite huge which will take a bit of a walk. There is a lot of slope and hill to walk around but luckily there is a buggy that never hesitates to give you a lift when needed. We also tried the spa, very nice and relaxing indeed. I love the ginger and lemon tea they served at the spa which makes it even more relaxing. Service here is wonderful. Many staff paid attentions to guests with the smile. It makes us wanna come back here again. Thank you Mandarava Resort!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Khun Diana S,
Thank you for sharing your feed back after your stay in Dec 2013. Most delighted to learn you enjoyed services and falicities and will recommend property to others. Your compliments message toward all staffs will be shared with all of them and this will for sure encourage them to do a better jobs for all customers.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future and please feel free to contact us to help you plan your next holidays.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and it makes the trip perfect. The room is clean and cozy. The hotel facilities are awesome, especially the pools. The location is perfectly spotted next to Karon beach. The staffs are freindly and well-trained. Would recommend for anyone who'd like to have good vacation in Phuket.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Khun Worapat,
Thank you for your great feed back shared after your holidays. We are happy to learn you enjoyed hotel services and facilities.

Your support to recommend our hotel to friends and family members will be much more appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here with my friend for a long weekend get away. I love the resort setting among the natural atmosphere. Room I stayed was very nice overlooking one of the swimming pool. Room has plenty of space, comfy bed and well cleaned daily.
Breakfast in the morning has lots of varieties, I and my friend love the fried egg station. Staff at the restaurant are very friendly, they are always willing to get you whatever you asked for. Every morning, when I came out for breakfast, I was greeted nicely by the lady at the restaurant and taken to the same table, my favourite table overlooking the sea. During my stay eventhough there is a little renovation at the restaurant which seem to be the new bar that is being added. I can see that it is going to be very beautiful and definately I will return here to enjoy this new facility. I love my stay at mandarava resort and would highly recommend it to my friends. Thank you very much everyone with the smile and great service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Khun Nt T,
Thank you for spending your specious time review us after your holidays and shared how you thoughts about Mandarava resort & Spa. We are delighted to learn you enjoys facilities as well as the services. Your words to recommend and return are really apprecieated.

We look forward to serve you again sooner and please feel free to contact us for any assistance you will require.

Waremest regards,
Alex P.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Mandarava is set back from Karon, but just a short walk to the Main Street. The rooms are modern and well appointed, sleep quality is good to reasonable, but depends on the room you get. Our air conditioner dripped water during the night which disrupted my sleep and couldn't seem to reduce the temperature cold enough, but it was reasonably quiet.

My wife and I had room 1217 which was great, a good view of the pool and a view of the ocean, but I think the best room is 1201 or 1202 so ask if they available on checking. As the hotel is built on the side of a hill, there are no elevators and getting to your room requires a steep walk which is a downside. There are 3 pools, one large main pool and two smaller pools which are quite good. There is no main bar, so if you want to enjoy a drink, you need to do this at the pool.

The food in the restaurant was ok, but the coffee is horrible, we ordered espresso but there was an extra charge which was disappointing.

We had a late afternoon flight and requested a late checkout (2.00 pm) and were told we would be charged an extra $50, not a good way to attract repeating customers as it's a very competitive market.

Overall I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Khun kram66,
Thank you for your value feed back shared with us. We have taken note of your constructive comments and will for sure come up with the solutions. You may not notice the new sala bar is being built and hopefully we will be open by sometime next month.

We look forward to serve you again when come back to Phuket, Karon beach

Warmest regards,
Alex. P.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Very new property, very clean ,like the contemporary room . they had 3 swimming rooms,unfortunately it only opened from 10 -6pm. Like the fact that they have shuttle services to the beach. Dissapointed with the weak wifi connection .My credit card was charged even before i checked out eventhough the front office says otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Khun citrine_see,

Thank you for your average feed back shared after your holidays. We valued your comments for an improvement, however still a doubtful on a point of your credit card was charged before check out which for us we find very strange and if you will not mind to clarify by contacting me directly at rm@mandaravaresort.com. There is a source of booking which will require a credit card to be charged immediately upon making room reservation and this is clearly stated and should be agreed by the customers card holder before carry on with the next step in order to secure rooms. To charge the card without knowing the total expenses figure before check out is something will need a serious attention. Pools close for water treat as of 7 pm is seem to be a standard practice for most of the hotel in Phuket and we do make a notice in order not to cause any harmful for customers health and swimming at night without any attention can as well cause to a tragedy which none will like it to happen. The bad connection of wifi which we hardly get any comments will be look into by the IT team.

Once again, thank you for your specious time and we hope you will give us a chance when return back to Phuket and Karon beach again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarava Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarava Resort and Spa

Address: 14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#1 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandarava Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarava Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarava Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarava Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.