We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley relaxing stay but it's missing a bit of personality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarava Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarava Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mandarava Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovley relaxing stay but it's missing a bit of personality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights all of which were very pleasant! We requested a room near the reception as its on a hill, it was a nice spacious room with a view of one of the smaller pools. & a slight view of the ocean we could watch the sunset every eve which was nice! Staff are friendly & attentive. Breakfast was lovley great eggs, not a huge selection but enough, & they asked you for coffee tea top ups a few times! There are 3 pools 2 small one main! The main pool I felt wasn't equipped with enough sun loungers we had to go to the smaller pools for a bed which is very quiet some people would look at you quare if you made a sound, which is of no fault to the hotel! There is lots of trees plants etc around this hotel so at tunes the pool wouldn't look the cleanest but I'm guessing that would be a full time job scooping leaves from the pool! They play music at the main pool but they should change their playlist it's all chart music with not with the real artist playing one of my pet hates! They have happy hour and A swim up bar which is nice. The lacy ion of this hotel isn't the best it's on a slight hill which I didn't mind it was a bit of exercise but the area down the road from it is dirty & alot of construction going on plus we seen a few rats down the road again which is of no fault to the hotel but thought I should mention this! It was a pleasant stay at this hotel but I just think it was missing something I can't quite put my finger on! But yes overall a lovley experience!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Khun karleigh,
Thank you for spending your spacious time share your positive feed back with us. We are really sorry for an inconvenience points you made here and will look into for solutions and improvment.

We look forward to serve you again when come back to stay in phuket next time.

Wish you and family all the best and a prosperity New year 2014

Warmest regards,
Alex. P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    155
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
64
443
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Mandarava is a really good resort and I will recommend it to everybody. It is one of those hotels that actually look better when you get there than on the pictures. It has beautiful surroundings and it lies in a quiet part of Karon beach. The staff are always there to help you out and they are super friendly. The resort have everything from several swimming pools to training room, pool bar and a big spa. I at least could not want more and since it also is so close to the town and beach it was close to perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms surrounding the mango pool have a great location at the resort. The rooms above 1. floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Khun Halvor F,
Thank you for your really great feed back shared after your holidays. We are delighted you had an enjoyable time and will recommend the hotel to others. Your compliments message will be shared with all team member.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

I wish you and your family all the best and a prosperity new year 2014

Warmest regards,
Alex p.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was the last stop in our soft adventure and relaxation trip along the Andaman coast. We booked the trip with Andaman Adventures and had a ball, best holiday I’ve had for ages. We liked this hotel the best of the 4 we stayed at and would recommend it to other travelers. The best things are the rooms, value for money, location and food, that’s pretty much everything, isn’t it ?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Khun tomren73,
Thank you for spending your spacious time review us after your holidays in Dec 2013. We are happy to learn you had a wonderful time and hotel is met with your holidays expectation as well as will support by recommending to other travellers.

Your great compliments message will be shared with the entire team and we will maintain a level of our service standard.

I take this opportunity to wish you and your family all the best and a prosperity new year 2014 and look forward to serve you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Alex. P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'll be coming back! I loved my stay at the Marandavara - gorgeous hillside setting with large swimming pools among beautiful gardens. Modern, large, spacious and relaxing rooms. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
DearKhun Wilshirk,
Thank you for your great feed back. We are really happy to learn your love your stay at Mandarava resort and will return a visit soon. The entire team will be shared with your great motivation message.

Your word of mouth to share with friends and family members how you thought about our resort will be much more appreciated.

Please feel free to contact us to help you plan your next holidays and we look forward to welcome you back sooner.

I wish you all the best and a prosperity New year 2014.

Warmest regards,
Alex. P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We've spent our great time for a honeymoon trip in this lovely place. It's such a very nice place to get away from a mad crazy city "Bangkok". We're really happy with a friendly service, excellent taste of food, wonderful relaxed atmosphere and especially on those three charming pools which is very fantastic view to see from our villa.

Highly recommended this would be another option for those who seek for a honeymoon destination in Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Khun PalmPalmmy,
Thank you for spending your honeymoon trip with us and with our great pleasure to learn you had a wonderful time. Team will be shared with your compliments message and we will do our best to maintain the standard.

Once again, thank you for your great feed back and we hope to serve you again for coming future.

On behalf of the entire team. I wish you, your family all the best and a prosperity new year 2014

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Mandarava Resort is a beautiful property that struggles to overcome its poor location and indifferent management.

We booked a five-night stay in early January 2013 and had confirmed transportation from the airport by email several days prior to arriving. There was no car to pick us up; we called the hotel and were told there was a miscommunication and we should just take a taxi. This was not hard to do but did take some time. The drive was about 40 minutes. We had reserved two rooms, one of which was ready as predicted at 2PM but the other was still being cleaned at 2:30.

The restaurant and pools are attractive and convenient, and we were lucky to have our rooms on one of the lower floors, so we found the stairs located throughout the resort to not be much of an issue. Overall, the property is well maintained, although the harsh tropical conditions make upkeep a daily necessity and it is beginning to show signs of wear after only a short period of being open.

One problem that the management cannot address is the location of the hotel. It may be true that a straight line from the hotel to the beach would only be about 500 meters long, but it is further than that if you are walking, and in walking to the beach or anywhere else outside of the hotel you pass through an area remarkable for its smells of raw sewage and views of discarded garbage, including, one day, an unattended open fire in a ditch next to the road. Once you make it past this area, you are in the center of Karon beach, which suffers from the commercialization that plagues much of Phuket. In exploring the area, we found Kata beach, just a short drive away, to be a step above the Karon area.

We had trouble with the hotel reception desk on more than one occasion, including their recommendation of an elephant trekking service, which we found to be quite unimpressive compared to others that were marketed. That said, we were very happy with the seats they reserved for us at one of the shows on the island.

The final issue we had was upon our departure, when at our scheduled car again did not show up and another had to be called. The drive back to the airport at 3:30 on a Monday afternoon took 90 minutes, again making us question our choice of destination.

Throughout our stay we found the people working at the resort to be eager to help; however, we saw no signs of the resort management. When we asked to meet the manager, we were told several times that the ‘big boss’ was ‘in a meeting’ and unavailable.

For the room rate we paid, I’m certain there are better choices on Phuket. If you do choose the Mandarava, we recommend asking early to meet with the manager to understand clearly what the resort can and cannot commit to during your stay, to avoid the confusion that disrupted our visit.

Room Tip: Property is on a hill, so expect to either climb stairs a lot or be a golf cart passenger. If on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Khun Yingfan,

Thank you for your great and useful feed back shared with us after your 5 nights holidays. Please accept my sincere heartfelt apology for an inconvenience caused to the stay. May I take this opportunity to address some of your suggestive comments.

-I admitted of still a gap for an improvement in term of communication for your case after study an e-mail once again it look like different time zone is caused to not a good start, however this is not an excuse and we have already find some solutions.

-Hotel location will be too far to what we can do anything the only suggestion to all readers here is to study hotel information carefully before proceed the booking. I remind once again we are about 700 meters away from Karon beach and located up hill. Disable and not fully mobilized customers are not recommended. schueduled hotel shuttle runs every day 5 times out from the hotel, but only limited for the pick up 2 times due to local regulation. Various points i.e. smell, dirty, pack sun lounger on the beach. the local authority is working on it, but as said it will not resolve in a short period of time and especially amid the unstable country political.

-This is should be the first comments after a year signed contract with elephant trek company. I'm eager to learn what is wrong with the service and preparation there and if you don't mind to send it to my mail send to you on the checked out date.

-I'm Thai chinese look like and always walking around up and down in the hotel ground to observe and support my team and our customers. I don't get any report or call you will need to meet me during your stay except on the last day before you rush out to airport, which I do have a meeting.

Once again, thank you for your valued feed back and I do hope if chance allow to welcome you and your family back to stay with us again.

I wish you and your family all the best and a prosperity new year 2014.

Warmest regards,
Alex. P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We loved our 11 day stay at the Mandarava. The room was simple but elegant and the layout of the resort means you'll feel like you are staying in a small, boutique resort. Having 3 pools at the resort meant we could always find a day bed, and it's great being able to experience a variety of different pool locations. The thai food was very good and quite reasonable at the restaurant. Although we did not find that the restaurant had any atmosphere at all, so tended to use it for quick meals. I think they could really use just one person at the resort who had more than a basic understanding of English - even the concierge only spoke about 10 words of English. We would have liked to ask a few questions to help us make decisions about where to go, but this wasnt possible, so we made a few mistakes like deciding to go for dinner at Surin Beach... and then spending 1.5 hours in a taxi to get there (the traffic was terrible)!

The reason I would rate the resort a 4 out of 5 is the location. It really is a case of the 'nicest house on the worst street'. Karon Town is absolutely awful (smelly, polluted, run down, and lacking any charm at all) and we avoided it after giving it one try. We got taxis to nicer restaurants in Kata, but the taxis are quite expensive for the distance travelled. Karon Beach is crowded and completely covered with sun beds and there was polluted smelly water with lots of rubbish flowing from the man made lagoon into the sea water. There is one nice and quiet section of Karon Beach - right up the far end of the beach out the front of the Centara 5 star resort (when facing the beach, walk to the right). This was about a 10-15 minute walk from the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Khun PooleyMac,
Thank you for sharing your great reflection feed back with us after 11 days holidays. I fully admitted and will seriously look into the area where we will need an urgent improvement especially communication (language). Parts which will need an involvement of the local authority i.e. pack of the sun lounger on the beach, rubbish, smell from the garbage area, all these are big challenges and time consumption, however we do hope they will rush out as Phuket is one of main tourist destination.

Once again, thank you for your feed back and We do hope if chance allow to serve you again at Mandarava resort & spa.

Wish you and your family all the best and a prosperity new year 2014.

Warmest regards,
Alex. P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarava Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarava Resort and Spa

Address: 14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Karon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#1 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandarava Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandarava Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarava Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarava Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.