We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely experience :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarava Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarava Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mandarava Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homely experience :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Mandarava is a great resort for a comfortable and relaxing stay in Karon. The staff are polite and helpful, making our stay in the resort a great one. The management is thoughtful and goes the extra mile in providing slippers and a pretty beach bag for the guests. Clean towels are also provided for trips for the beach etc. One little feedback, however, would be for the resort to providebasic necessities such as the toothbrush, disposable shaver and comb as well instead of providing them only upon request. Nevertheless, it is a lovely stay and these are small issues.

Food wise, breakfast at Mandarava is something to look forward to everyday and the dinner we had at the resort was definitely better than most food outside, even though the portions could have been bigger.

Overall, Mandarava has great potential and is a great place to stay in:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Khun Debrachong,
Thank you for spending your spacious time sharing your holidays experience and a constructive feed back with us and others on trip advisor. We shall look into comment matter.

We look forward to be at your service for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    155
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
64
443
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I think that the place is wonderful so it was the swimming pool, the rooms and the cleaness of all the hotel.
The only feedback I have to give ( as teething problems as having openend just last February) are the cocktails that we drank at the swimming pool's bar. The staff was completely unaware of how to do a nice cocktail and as a free snack they brought to us terrible fishing taste chips.
We were speechless ....
A gap to fill in.
Apart from that all fab staff included

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Khun Bianchi L,
Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us on trip advisor. Your comments will be shared with particular concerns team members and find way to improve for coming future.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort sooner.

Warmest regard,
Alex P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If your looking for more relaxation in your holiday rather than hustle bustle, I recommend this resort. If you have no trouble walking a few flights of stairs everyday during your stay then it is okay. Everything looks amazing, the staff are very helpful and attentive. My partner and i stayed from 8 june to 11 june and had booked a Tropicana Room. Our room was facing the Mango Pool which was 1.2m at its deepest and beautiful. There is a bar in the middle of the pool where you are able to order drinks as well. The room was very spacious and large, we were very impressed. Sleep is quiet at night with insect chiming outside but that doesn't bother me as this resort is located in a tropical garden afterall.
We took a 3pm Thai cooking class and it was such a great experience, having eaten Thai food in Australia and not knowing how it was created. We booked tours with the hotel to take us around places and wait for us until we finished, the staff are very friendly and out driver was very good in engaging in conversation and teaching how to speak some things in Thai too.
The only downside about this resort are the mosquitoes, they do pest control every month but in order for them not to end up in your room as much, it would be better if the guest rooms were sprayed every 3 days as well. I found myself bitten a lot in the room and did not get bitten outdoors. Food is ok here, there is buffet breakfast but the rest of the day appears to be a la-cart.

Overall, it is a good hotel being opened for a short time. Staff are helpful and I would stay at this resort again the next time I come to Phuket but will bring more effective insect repellant spray as Aeroguard Tropical Strength did not appear to be effective at all..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Khun Nat W,
Thank you for sharing your constructive feed back on trip advisor and great to hear you had an enjoyable time stay with us apart from the mosquitoes bitten. As a tropical country it's really one of a hard work, however we will consult with a specialist team and seriously handle this matter.

We, once again thank you and look forward to serve you again when you choose to come back for holidays in Phuket.

Warmest regards,
Alex P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved the hotel from the very first moment. Check in was smooth with a smile from the heart including a refreshing drink. Great welcoming in an airy well-designed reception area. Plus: perfumed wet towels and check in whilst sitting on a comfortable sofa. Luggage and we were driven to our beautiful spacious Horizon room located in lush gardens next to the main huge pool. The rooms have clear Scandinavian design mixed with Thai style interior. Great power shower in our bathroom and best comfort bedding. Inspired from the great choice of furniture, we will have our carpenter make some copies. Plus: rocking chairs on the balcony, fruit basket, beach bag, flipflops! Superb breakfast in a lovely open-air restaurant, relaxed atmosphere, lunch/ dinner choice ranges from Thai to Italian. Plus: mosquito spray, great view and attentive staff! Absolutely beautiful place to stay, BEST choice. We will definitely come back as soon as possible! Keep it up, Mandarava Team! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Khun Vewa79,
Thank you for spending your specious time to share your holidays experience with us and others on trip advisor. Your positive comments will be shared and we will make sure to always provide a good service to our customers.

We look forward to welcome you back to our property in a future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Sth Aust
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived at the Mandarava Resort & Spa after 3 nights in Patong. Though our stay in Patong was great, we were blown away by the luxury that awaited us at the Mandarava. Check in could not have been easier, we were then taken by shuttle to our room. WOW, we could not believe how wonderful our room was. Floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides and the most wonderful balcony that went around the 2 sides also. Our room overlooked the sea on one side and the jungle on the other. I just loved it. I know this resort is new but it will be a treasure in years to come also. The staff in the restaurant area and especially at breakfast were fantastic, Arm, Pi, Paw and the staff in the kitchen went out of their way to make sure all our needs were met. The shuttle driver we encountered many times during our stay, I did not get his name but he was so friendly and helpful. He carried our 25kg bag on his shoulders up to our room. He was the most tolerant, smiling young man I have met in Thailand. Mandarava management should be extremely proud of this young man. Initially I was put off by the amount of stairs and the hilly surrounds of the resort but every night when we returned to the resort we were taken to our room by shuttle. The daily shuttle to Karon Beach is also very helpful. Laundry and taxi facilities are also very close by. This resort is not suitable for the elderly and I wished we were a little fitter to be able to utilise the resort a little more than we did. I intend to return to the Mandarava, as this resort has the WHOLE package, luxury, friendly staff, delicious food, extremely good variety for breakfast, you have to try a Mango Lassi - delicious. I was very sad to leave my beautiful room, the friendly staff. I would love to have extended our stay at the Mandarava.

Room Tip: Any room in this resort will exceed your expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Khun Butterfly005,

Thank you for your feed back on trip advisor. We are really happy and delighted to learn you have had an enjoyable and great holidays at our resort. Your fabulous message will be shared with all team members and we will make sure to keep providing, maintain and deliver a professional services to all customers.

Once again, thank you for great comments and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Phuket.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our first impression was wow,this is amazing then we saw all the stairs. As we are regular attendees to fitness classes in Australia we laughed it off but by the end of our week we had gotten use to it although we planned our trips to the shops and beach around not walking up the steps multiple times a day.
This is a very relaxed resort and wouldn't be for groups of couples that want to party all the time. The staff were always willing to help out and plenty around. The gardens were magnificent as was the rooms. On our last day we had massages in the spa which was very professional and topped off our week in Phuket. Thanks for a great holiday Mandarava..

Room Tip: Check with staff about activities like market day in Karon. Nothing seems to be advertised including...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Khun Sue M,
Thank you for review your holidays experience on trip advisor. The message will be shared with all team members and we look forward to welcome you back again in a future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friends and I stayed for 2 nights at Mandarava. We took the hotel transportation from the airport to the hotel so finding the hotel was not a problem for us.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with cool towel and welcome drinks by Pat, who later become our “Phuket host”. Pat was very friendly as well as helpful and we don’t feel bad for constantly bugging him during our entire stay in Phuket. Since we arrived at the hotel around 9 am, the hotel was nice enough to let us checked in early and checked out late as our flight back were at 5 pm without any extra charges. Our room was facing the main pool and close to the spa and main restaurant. The room was spacious with balcony and 2 bathrooms. The room was fully equipped with hair dryer, towel, WIFI etc. There are even flip flop and beach bags for the many trips to the beach. My friends and I enjoyed the spa sessions and honestly it was one of the best massages I’ve ever had! We end up going to the spa 2 out of 3 days we were there.

The resort is a walking distance to the beach. There are also shuttle from the hotel to the beach a few times a day. The hotel is at Karon Beach, which is less busy and quieter than Patong beach. We hired a driver through the hotel to drive us around Phuket. Boy, the hired driver, was very helpful, flexible and punctual. We were lucky that we got him to drive us around most of the time we were in Phuket.

On the downside, breakfast was mediocre and depending on the food that you ordered, lunch is pretty much the same. The seafood salad and the mango with sticky rice were delicious but the pad thai and tom yam were just average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Khun Mahiwah,
Thank you for spent your specious time sharing a constructive feed back of your holidays with us and others. We manage a flexibility of early check in and late check out refer to house situations of each day. the changing facility is always available before leave for next destination. Your message will be carry on to Kitchen team for an improvement.

Once again thank you for choosing your short holidays with us and we look forward to welcome you and friends back to our resort sooner.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarava Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarava Resort and Spa

Address: 14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#1 Family Hotel in Karon
#1 Spa Hotel in Karon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandarava Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandarava Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarava Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarava Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.