We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Onion

Red Onion
486 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 145 Restaurants in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 811 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Louth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

everything, staff, food, value for money. Once we had to wait to get a seat but not for long. It has to be the best and cheapest Chinese meal I have ever had. Son visited here 2 years previous and had already told me about the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    236
    122
    43
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place never dissappoints, we ate there last year 6 out of the 9 nights we were in Karon, so were keen to go back this year and take our group of 13 newbies with us and it didn't let us down. The chicken satay sticks are our favs but all the mains came out quickly and were quickly polished off by all involved. About $11 per head with entrees, mains and drinks great value

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply great food and dirt cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Been here now 17 days and we have eaten there 4 times, this place is a must to eat lots of choice very cheap we love the food especially the chicken with chilli and basil(I like spicy but be aware it is very hot) the chicken in whiskey sauce is good too ( my wifes fav) but to be honest all the food is good to eat. Just to let you know that you may have to queue up!! That tells you one thing it is popular and cheap

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very popular restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had read about The Red Onion on Trip Advisor prior to travelling to Phuket and thought we'd give it a go. We went there 3 times before we finally scored a table, and that was only because we were willing to sit and wait for a while. It pays to be very early if you intend to dine here. The food was plentiful and delicious and there was a large choice on the menu.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karon, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dirt Cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A typically rustic Thai place in Karon. Decor quite spartan (which is part of its charm). Service good. HAd the red curry prawns which were quite tasty . 2 Heinekens, main and rice for 245 TBH ($7.50 Australian). You really can't complain!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion also viewed

Karon, Phuket Town
 

Been to Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.