We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Onion

Red Onion
486 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 158 Restaurants in Karon
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was recommended this place, but we left underwhelmed,, busy, average food, much better choices just a couple of doors down....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    266
    145
    53
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was tasteless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had heard so much about the red onion but was very disappointed in the food. It was bland and tasteless, kids meals were rubbery not a pleasant experience

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsley, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food CHEAP prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you like your food with a little spice then the Red Onion is the one you need. I couldn't fault any of the Thai dishes that I had; one of the best Panang curries I have had. My main dislike is that sometimes you have to wait a while for a table, then again you are on Thai time; so does it really matter. Place also doesn't come over as being the cleanest, but I have never had any belly issues after dining here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great food the phad thai and panang are particularly good, as well as being reasonably cheap. Service is very good as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great Thai local restaurant. It speaks for itself when you have a queue waiting to get in there! We found the food to be great and a menu was large and price was very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion also viewed

Karon, Phuket Town
Karon, Phuket Town
 

Been to Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.